We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property but could improve on customer responsiveness.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor In Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Anchor In Hotel to your Saves list
Anchor In Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 South St, On Hyannis Harbor, Hyannis, MA 02601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
ann arbor
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice property but could improve on customer responsiveness.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We booked here based upon Tripadvisor commentaries and ratings. We picked the property because of its excellent location for our 2-day stay with a day trip on the 2nd day up the Cape. The hotel is perfectly nice, but clearly you are paying for the location, and that was fine with us. Rooms are spacious and our first-floor room had some view of the harbor (but less than we would have on the 2nd floor or rooms directly facing the harbor). Breakfast was standard and adequate. I was surprised at our somewhat brusque handling at check-in, but didn't make much of it.Our main issue happened on the first night when what turned out to be a massive family disturbance occurred in the next room. The disturbance itself was in NO way the fault of the hotel, and they later assured us that this was an extremely unusual occurrence. However, we were concerned that after calling the front desk in the middle of the night, we were not clear on what the hotel's response was and the disturbance persisted for 45 minutes longer. It was hard to get back to sleep afterward and our next day was messed up as we were sleep deprived and missed breakfast. The hotel did in the end reduce each day's rate by 25% in response to my concern, which was appropriate. However, we do feel that based on our interactions with staff including check-in and check-out and of course during the disturbance, that responsiveness could be improved.

Room Tip: 2nd floor balcony or on the ends of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eleniAnnArbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorInHyannisowner, Owner at Anchor In Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. Once again, we sincerely apologize for the disturbance during your first night with us. There was an immediate response and the problem was resolved in a matter of minutes. After dealing with the immediate issue and at what we felt was the appropriate time, we explained the situation to you and others effected, after which time we were certain that you were completely satisfied with our response, corrective action and compensation. We also responded with a follow up email to you after your departure.

We look forward to making your next visit to Cape Cod a more pleasantly memorable one for all of your stay. It would be our pleasure to assist you from check in to check out.

Sincerely
Lisa and Skip Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
218 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here because of the convenience to the ferry for Nantucket. It is a cute motel and certainly a place I would stay again. Chris at the front desk was extremely friendly and entertaining. We enjoyed his personality and I think he made us appreciate the property more. The rooms are good enough. The motel is older but very clean. We enjoyed the private patio area and the fire pit. It was so nice to sit by the fire and enjoy the cool evening while gazing out over the marina.
A continental breakfast is included with your stay. It gets the job done but a warm option would be a great addition. I also think it would be nice to offer breakfast until 10 am, especially on the weekends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This gem of a property made our trip to Cape Cod so special! The location is beautiful overlooking the harbor! The rooms are charming and so comfortable after a long day being a tourist! We loved every minute that we returned after our visit to Nantucket! Manager Chris is awesome! He makes each guest feel welcome! A delicious breakfast sent us off to enjoy each day, Thank you for helping us create memories!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

It isn't often that holiday accommodation ticks all the boxes, but this one certainly does. The Motel is set looking over a beautiful little harbour, it has a lovely pool with a decking area and loungers for sunbathing. The bedrooms are well appointed and those facing the harbour have balconies to take in the view. The breakfast is advertised as continental, but there is plenty to choose from, including every type of bagel you can name. There are fresh strawberries, as much juice, coffee and tea you can drink. Granola, cheese, meats, yogurt.... absolutely superb. The staff are all helpful and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The Motel is also very well situated, so you can walk to the restaurants in the area. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: choose a room facing the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieFuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just returning from my weekend at the Anchor In. I am so happy I picked this hotel and will definitely return again. The landscaping around the hotel is beautiful, kept immaculate. The room was very modern and clean. The bathroom counter area is a little small, but that was such a minor thing. The view of the harbor was beautiful even though it rained the whole time I was there. The morning continental breakfast was more than just coffee and donuts. Again, so clean. And all the staff were very nice. Yes, you could find a cheaper hotel, but you get what you pay for. At least here you do!
Short walk to Main St. Hyannis, which was great fun. Restaurants and shops galore. And if you want to have a little fun, go on the Duck Boat. It was fun!!

Room Tip: Any room facing the harbor is great. I was on the first floor which I liked, but I think there are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank queen417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This clean, quie, well-run inn is the perfect location for an easy walk to the ferry and downtown. Chris is an amiable host who loves his job and is happy to share Cape info. He gave us a terrific restaurant recommendation, the Naked Oyster. We were glad to turn in our rental car due to the perfect location of the Anchor-in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andiamo160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is not your typical motel: the hosts are extremely helpful and friendly; it gives a personal touch; the location makes it easy to walk or drive to everything in the Hyannis area; the rooms are clean and comfortable; but there is a clear difference depending on where in the motel you get a room, so you need to make sure when you book that you know what you want;

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyannis
0.3 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
5.0 of 5 stars 1,163 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Cod - Hyannis
1.0 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#3 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hyannis
Holiday Inn Hyannis
#9 of 22 in Hyannis
4.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
16.8 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor In Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor In Hotel

Address: 1 South St, On Hyannis Harbor, Hyannis, MA 02601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Family Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Business Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor In Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Distinctively located in Hyannis, the "Homeport of Cape Cod". Walk to Bayview Beach, ferries to Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard, waterfront restaurants, Harbor cruises to Hyannisport and the Kennedy compound, Main Streets diverse variety of shops, restaurants, gift stores, festivals, Cape Cod Train, and the Kennedy Museum. Within a short drive you will find Whale Watching, golf, historic Rte 6a, summer theatre, bike trails, world-class Cape Cod beaches including the Cape Cod National Seashore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Anchor In Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor In Hyannis
Hotel Anchor In
Anchor In Hotel Hyannis, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing