We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great customer service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor In Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Anchor In Hotel to your Saves list
Anchor In Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 South St, On Hyannis Harbor, Hyannis, MA 02601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great location and great customer service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here because of the convenience to the ferry for Nantucket. It is a cute motel and certainly a place I would stay again. Chris at the front desk was extremely friendly and entertaining. We enjoyed his personality and I think he made us appreciate the property more. The rooms are good enough. The motel is older but very clean. We enjoyed the private patio area and the fire pit. It was so nice to sit by the fire and enjoy the cool evening while gazing out over the marina.
A continental breakfast is included with your stay. It gets the job done but a warm option would be a great addition. I also think it would be nice to offer breakfast until 10 am, especially on the weekends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    198
    37
    8
    4
See reviews for
171
349
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This gem of a property made our trip to Cape Cod so special! The location is beautiful overlooking the harbor! The rooms are charming and so comfortable after a long day being a tourist! We loved every minute that we returned after our visit to Nantucket! Manager Chris is awesome! He makes each guest feel welcome! A delicious breakfast sent us off to enjoy each day, Thank you for helping us create memories!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

It isn't often that holiday accommodation ticks all the boxes, but this one certainly does. The Motel is set looking over a beautiful little harbour, it has a lovely pool with a decking area and loungers for sunbathing. The bedrooms are well appointed and those facing the harbour have balconies to take in the view. The breakfast is advertised as continental, but there is plenty to choose from, including every type of bagel you can name. There are fresh strawberries, as much juice, coffee and tea you can drink. Granola, cheese, meats, yogurt.... absolutely superb. The staff are all helpful and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The Motel is also very well situated, so you can walk to the restaurants in the area. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: choose a room facing the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just returning from my weekend at the Anchor In. I am so happy I picked this hotel and will definitely return again. The landscaping around the hotel is beautiful, kept immaculate. The room was very modern and clean. The bathroom counter area is a little small, but that was such a minor thing. The view of the harbor was beautiful even though it rained the whole time I was there. The morning continental breakfast was more than just coffee and donuts. Again, so clean. And all the staff were very nice. Yes, you could find a cheaper hotel, but you get what you pay for. At least here you do!
Short walk to Main St. Hyannis, which was great fun. Restaurants and shops galore. And if you want to have a little fun, go on the Duck Boat. It was fun!!

Room Tip: Any room facing the harbor is great. I was on the first floor which I liked, but I think there are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This clean, quie, well-run inn is the perfect location for an easy walk to the ferry and downtown. Chris is an amiable host who loves his job and is happy to share Cape info. He gave us a terrific restaurant recommendation, the Naked Oyster. We were glad to turn in our rental car due to the perfect location of the Anchor-in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is not your typical motel: the hosts are extremely helpful and friendly; it gives a personal touch; the location makes it easy to walk or drive to everything in the Hyannis area; the rooms are clean and comfortable; but there is a clear difference depending on where in the motel you get a room, so you need to make sure when you book that you know what you want;

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with extended family over 4th of July. Beautiful harbor view and nice rooms + comfortable beds. Did expect more amenities for the price - they have a public space with coffee and hot chocolate available all day, but nothing cold to drink other than from a vending machine. Internet was free, but spotty reception. Pool is well kept, but we were all but kicked out when relaxing by it outside in order to see the fireworks. They have a fire pit, but it didn't work any of the 3 nights we were there. Also, there was a terrible smell outside the front of the hotel - the caretaker said it was a specific flower. Seemed like an expensive version of a motel. Also, there is not a beach within walkable distance. No fitness center or restaurant. Next time, will look for another option.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorInHyannisowner, Owner at Anchor In Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are so glad to hear that you and your extended family enjoyed your guest rooms, the sleep quality and the beautiful views of the harbor. We are sincerely sorry that you did not find the amenities that you expected and about the concerns you have raised.

For factual clarification; The pool area is not lighted so for the safety of our guests the pool area closes before dark. Just prior to the fireworks starting, rather than ask guests to leave the pool area and view the fireworks from their deck or from the fire pit area, we conducted a safety brief with all the guests in the pool area and assigned a staff member as a safety observer.

Fire Pit; Very unfortunately, we had a mechanical failure in the gas fire pit just prior to the holiday. Despite our best efforts, we were unable to obtain the required replacement part and have it replaced by a licensed technician until after the holiday period.

Botanical Fragrance; We were unable to duplicate the offensive odor you report from the variety of flowers and plantings near the front of the Hotel. We checked them all, Lillys, Snapdragons, Peonies, Roses, Miniature pink climbing roses (commonly found covering Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket cottages), Hydrangeas, ornamental grasses... and the fresh cut flowers in our lobby.

Beach; Lewis Bay Beach is just around the corner from us within easy walking distance. Many of our guests walk there. We have beach chairs for guest to use for the day.

We look forward to making your next visit to Cape Cod a most memorable one..

Sincerely

Lisa and Skip Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Anchor In Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor In Hotel

Address: 1 South St, On Hyannis Harbor, Hyannis, MA 02601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Family Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor In Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Distinctively located in Hyannis, the "Homeport of Cape Cod". Walk to Bayview Beach, ferries to Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard, waterfront restaurants, Harbor cruises to Hyannisport and the Kennedy compound, Main Streets diverse variety of shops, restaurants, gift stores, festivals, Cape Cod Train, and the Kennedy Museum. Within a short drive you will find Whale Watching, golf, historic Rte 6a, summer theatre, bike trails, world-class Cape Cod beaches including the Cape Cod National Seashore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Anchor In Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor In Hyannis
Hotel Anchor In
Anchor In Hotel Hyannis, Cape Cod, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor In Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.