We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, great room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor In Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Hotels.com
and 3 more sites!
Anchor In Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 South St, On Hyannis Harbor, Hyannis, MA 02601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 hotels in Hyannis
Fairfield, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful view, great room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We came the week before memorial day weekend and were happily surprised to find we had been upgraded to a really gorgeous room more like a hotel than an inn! Fantastic full view of harbor, we could watch the ferries leaving throughout the day, every room has a balcony, too with chairs and table. We also had a full kitchen, bed was very comfortable, room clean and many small touches i.e. towels folded in decorative shapes each day, lots of extra bath amenities (shaver, toothpaste/toothbrush, mouthwash, etc). Located perfectly for walking to the main street shops/restaurants and the wharf area (about 15 minutes) but the area around is safe and quiet. My one suggestion is don't expect much for breakfast, we stayed 6 days and every single day was the same: muffins, boiled eggs, bread, apples, oranges, bananas, plain yogurt in a communal bowl, strangely packaged slices of sandwich ham, cereal. Fine if you're only there a couple days. Overall I strongly recommend especially for the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    347
    157
    27
    7
    4
See reviews for
136
249
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Siasconset, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The outside of the Anchor Inn Hotel is typical unassuming New England... inside it is beautifully decorated, up to date, and totally charming. We spent a night there on the way to Nantucket, and wished we could stay longer. The room was spacious, clean, and lovely. Breakfast overlooking the Harbor was a wonderful way to start the day. the staff was welcoming and helpful. A great spot if you want to be on the water in Hyannis.

Room Tip: all have a nice view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location on the harbor. The staff is incredibly friendly and go above and beyond. Room was clean, lovely, comfortable. We enjoyed not only our room but also the library, well stocked with books and games - we enjoyed a chilly evening of Scrabble. Would definitely return here and recommend to others!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is very pretty inside the main house and the rooms ate extremely clean as is the rest of the property. 2 blocks from main street which houses restaurants and shops. Hotel is right on Hyannis harbor and every room has a view of the harbor. Just a really great experience. Staff is also extremely helpful and friendly. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We loved our stay here. The location is ideal. Close to the ferry and close to town. We walked everywhere. No need for a car. The staff was wonderful, helpful and knowledgable. We had a harbor view room which had lovely amenities. The only negatives were the lack of a full length mirror and we were not told when we made our reservations that the wing we stayed in did not have an elevator. While the building is only two stories, I could see where this would be an issue for someone who is physically challenged.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here two nights and very much enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean and bright, with a nice view of the harbor. The continental breakfast is awesome and the staff helpful and attentive. The only downside is the walls were thin and we could easily hear our neighbors talking and tv.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on a driving holiday around new England out of season in early April.
This was a superb place with ticks in all the boxes from check in to departure. The staff were exceptionally helpful offering great advice on what to see in the area , places to eat etc. The room was superb with its own deck a views over the harbor. Unfortunately we could not make full use of the deck as the weather was very cold. The room was very large with a great bed and bathroom facilities. It had a fridge and coffee making equipment. The complimentary breakfast was very good with an excellent attendant and complimentary drinks were on offer all day in the vistiors lounge/library. The property is exceptionally well maintained , clean , warm and comfortable. It was a pleasure to get back in the evening after a day's sightseeing. The location of the property is great being close to the harbor and the main street with the various musuems and eateries

Cannot recommend this place highly enough. If you need a great place to say on the Cod with a good price then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anchor In Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor In Hotel

Also Known As:
Anchor In Hyannis
Hotel Anchor In
Anchor In Hotel Hyannis, Cape Cod, MA
Address: 1 South St, On Hyannis Harbor, Hyannis, MA 02601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hyannis
#5 Business Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor In Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Distinctively located in Hyannis, the "Homeport of Cape Cod". Walk to Bayview Beach, ferries to Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard, waterfront restaurants, Harbor cruises to Hyannisport and the Kennedy compound, Main Streets diverse variety of shops, restaurants, gift stores, festivals, Cape Cod Train, and the Kennedy Museum. Within a short drive you will find Whale Watching, golf, historic Rte 6a, summer theatre, bike trails, world-class Cape Cod beaches including the Cape Cod National Seashore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Anchor In Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor In Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Anchor In Hotel to your Saves list