We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Motel on Cape Cod” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor In Hotel

Save Saved
You added Anchor In Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Anchor In Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 South St, On Hyannis Harbor, Hyannis, MA 02601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Torrington, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Motel on Cape Cod”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This motel is gorgeous. The condition of the rooms, including bathrooms, are excellent and the mattresses are not old and creaky. There are no unpleasant odors, such as mustiness. They provide plenty of towels and new soaps every day. The lobby, hallways, breakfast room and library are beautiful and in excellent condition. They keep this place up by changing something having to do with construction every year. There is plenty of parking as there are additional parking spaces as you drive around the side of the motel. A complementary breakfast is included which has an adequate variety of proteins, carbohydrates and beverages. While some rooms exits are outside, if you wish to exit you room into a hallway, make your reservation in the east or west wings. If you do not want someone above you, simply book your room on the second floor. The sliding glass doors are not the original aluminum ones, which are falling apart, like just about every other motel in Cape Cod. They are modern vinyl sliding glass doors and are in excellent condition. Your sliding door actually exits onto something as well, in this case, a nice wood deck which overlooks the bay. Very beautiful. If you do not want to stay in a dumpy motel, please stay here. Every time I've stayed here, it is the same great experience. Trust me, this motel is either the best, or equal to the best motel on Cape Cod.

Room Tip: I've not stayed in a room which exits to the outside, or is partially under ground level. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    175
    35
    7
    4
See reviews for
153
297
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
TOPSFIELD
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

If you're looking for very nice accommodations at an inexpensive price this is the one for you. Right on the bay near where the ferries pull up it offers wonderful water views. Rooms were tastefully decorated with sliders overlooking the bay. Ours had a balcony overlooking the bay and pool. Breakfast is included. Hot cereal and 3 kinds of cold cereal were offered with bananas, almonds, cranberries and raisin toppings if you like. Bagels, fresh large muffins and several kinds of bread for toast were offered. I liked the pistachio muffins. Haven't had them in a long time. Beverages include orange and cranberry juice, coffee, different kinds of tea and hot chocolate or just water if that is your preference. Perfect place for families but no pets. There is a large glassed in sun room outside the breakfast room to enjoy the morning paper as well as a charming, fireplaced, breakfast room they call the library. Main Street is a short walk away. Craigville Beach is nearby.
This place consists of 3 buildings in a u-shape around the pool. Only negative was parking. Don't stay out too late or you will have a hard time finding an empty space. We were there during a blizzard and all was very comfy. Would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: We chose the middle size room which they termed "deluxe". That must have been for the bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viroflay
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Very nice hotel (actually motel): the decoration is really warm and could come right from a "Home Magazine", the rooms are large, beautiful with such a pretty view on the marina. Very good bathrooms with excellent welcome products and so soft towels. The beds are very comfortable and large. Large balcony with seating. Breakfast has a large choice and the room is very nice, you really feel at home. I can imagine how nice it should be in winter with the fireplace and Christmas decoration. Our kids were a little disappointed by the swimming pool: lots of little flies in it at the evening.
Large parking lot. Location is excellent and you can walk to the Hyannis Line departure (traditional and high-speed), about 15/20 minutes.

Room Tip: I would recommend the "Cotuit", corner room with a very large view on the marina. At the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This place is a little unusual. Some of the rooms have doors inside the main building and some have doors which are outside in motel fashion. My friend and I had room with outside doors which, in January, makes for a chilly dash to breakfast.

My room accommodated 2 queen beds but did not feel very spacious. It was clean though and pleasant enough and it came with warm bed-covers available. The bathroom was small but clean and functional. There was a bright light outside which meant that it wasn't that dark for sleeping. The noise from people walking around upstairs was quite bad. Lots of creaking from the building and stomping from them. They seemed to be roaming around at 1am and 3am so I didn't catch up on much sleep.

There is a nice view of the water from the sitting room which guests can use. There is also a roaring fire and a good variety of board games. My friend and I spent some time in this cosy room admiring the view and trying out the games. It's also the room where you eat breakfast. The breakfast did not offer a massive variety of foods, however, what there was was of good quality and tasty.

The lady on reception was friendly and helpful.

I like to go back in the summer some time and try and different room - one with no one upstairs.

Room Tip: Don't be under another room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorInHyannisowner, Owner at Anchor In Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest. Thank you for your review. It is our goal to meet or exceed all your expectations. We make room assignments at the time of every reservation and do our very best to match our wide variety of guest rooms and views with each guests preferrences. We are sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We certainly look forward to your next visit and it would be our pleasure to assist you personally from start to finish.

95% of our guest rooms have a concrete floor between floors, eliminating between floor noise transmission. 95% of our guest rooms have an inside corridor. Many of our guests request the few guest rooms with an outside entrance. Every guest room in addition to shear curtains, has black out curtains which block out 100% of exterior light and ensures your privacy.

We look forward to making your next trip to Cape Cod a most memorable one.

Lisa and Skip Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Caught without electricity during a blizzard for over 85 hours and called several hotels
to get a warm place to stay. Most hotels were full and I found the Anchor Hotel, although
I have lived here for over 40 years. I arrived depressed, a little angry, and dirty but
their kind reception and exceptional staff took care of me which is more than I could
have hoped for. Although the snow was piled high during my stay the view of the harbor
and surroundings was exceptional. I would definitely recommend this fine establishment. It is an exception on Cape Cod to find mannerly owners of establishments welcome you with such enthusiasm.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms face the harbor and pool area. Two floors with easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for my birthday and loved our room with the jacuzzi tub. The room's warm toned colors and tastefully decorated room helped was beautiful and relaxing. the room had a wet bar which was fabulous. Breakfast was delish. Couldn't ask for a nicer getaway. We would come back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stay here once a year when we visit Cape Cod. Great location and staff. You are a block away from the Steamship Authority dock so parking for the ferries to Nantucket is not an issue.
The rooms are super clean and very roomy, we like the ones on the end of the building that face the harbor, the Cotuit and the Centerville. Those have 2 sets of sliding doors one facing the harbor and one on the side. Great for sitting out having morning tea and watching the boat traffic.
Conveniently located in the center of the Cape, lots of great breakfast places in Hyannis a short drive into the center of town, although the continental breakfast there is very good. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchor In Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor In Hotel

Address: 1 South St, On Hyannis Harbor, Hyannis, MA 02601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hyannis
#3 Business Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor In Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Distinctively located in Hyannis, the "Homeport of Cape Cod". Walk to Bayview Beach, ferries to Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard, waterfront restaurants, Harbor cruises to Hyannisport and the Kennedy compound, Main Streets diverse variety of shops, restaurants, gift stores, festivals, Cape Cod Train, and the Kennedy Museum. Within a short drive you will find Whale Watching, golf, historic Rte 6a, summer theatre, bike trails, world-class Cape Cod beaches including the Cape Cod National Seashore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Anchor In Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor In Hyannis
Hotel Anchor In
Anchor In Hotel Hyannis, Cape Cod, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor In Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.