We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience during Blizzard '13” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor In Hotel

Save Saved
You added Anchor In Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Anchor In Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 South St, On Hyannis Harbor, Hyannis, MA 02601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Experience during Blizzard '13”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Caught without electricity during a blizzard for over 85 hours and called several hotels
to get a warm place to stay. Most hotels were full and I found the Anchor Hotel, although
I have lived here for over 40 years. I arrived depressed, a little angry, and dirty but
their kind reception and exceptional staff took care of me which is more than I could
have hoped for. Although the snow was piled high during my stay the view of the harbor
and surroundings was exceptional. I would definitely recommend this fine establishment. It is an exception on Cape Cod to find mannerly owners of establishments welcome you with such enthusiasm.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms face the harbor and pool area. Two floors with easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    175
    35
    7
    4
See reviews for
153
298
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for my birthday and loved our room with the jacuzzi tub. The room's warm toned colors and tastefully decorated room helped was beautiful and relaxing. the room had a wet bar which was fabulous. Breakfast was delish. Couldn't ask for a nicer getaway. We would come back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stay here once a year when we visit Cape Cod. Great location and staff. You are a block away from the Steamship Authority dock so parking for the ferries to Nantucket is not an issue.
The rooms are super clean and very roomy, we like the ones on the end of the building that face the harbor, the Cotuit and the Centerville. Those have 2 sets of sliding doors one facing the harbor and one on the side. Great for sitting out having morning tea and watching the boat traffic.
Conveniently located in the center of the Cape, lots of great breakfast places in Hyannis a short drive into the center of town, although the continental breakfast there is very good. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedminster, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I have stayed at this inn before. This time I was arriving very late in the evening and Francis at the front desk gave me a taxi number to call to get me to the inn, i had to have something faxed from my business and the front desk staff had it waiting in an envelope for me. All seemingly small concessions but they made such a difference to my experience. The beds and pillows are so comfortable and breakfast in the pleasant fireplace dining area such a treat. I will be returning again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skowhegan, Maine
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The place has had a makeover the last couple of years which is just spiffy. The place is very near the island connections so it is perfect when one arrives late at night to catch an early boat. The island rate is much appreciated by those who must spend time off isle and need to return often! The breakfast room opens soon enough for a cup of tea and bagel in time for the voyage.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was a wonderful place to spend a weekend on the Cape. The rooms were clean and well tended to. The staff was exceptionally nice and helpful. They made you feel right at home. It is on the water so you can open you patio door and watch the boats and seagulls from your room! Great place to stay. I would recommend it unconditionally!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We need a place to stay to visit our grandmother in assisted living...and it's hard to find a place that is nice AND affordable. This place was SO relaxing! Quiet, great views, wonderful restful library with fireplace to watch the Pats game (with cookies and tea too!) and great breakfast buffet. The pictures are right on...everything was as good or better than the website showed. The sun streaming in over the water onto the porch was a perfect place for breakfast, or the library was a cozy alternative. Staff were VERY accommodating. I only wish the rates weren't so high in summer or we'd make this our year-round choice.
Oh...one thing I would change...they charge an extra "adult" fee for our 13-year old (any child over 10). They made an exception since we reserved online and didn't notice that, but in future they said he would cost additional $10 fee.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are great. The more expensive suites on the ends would be the best, of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchor In Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor In Hotel

Address: 1 South St, On Hyannis Harbor, Hyannis, MA 02601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hyannis
#3 Business Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor In Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Distinctively located in Hyannis, the "Homeport of Cape Cod". Walk to Bayview Beach, ferries to Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard, waterfront restaurants, Harbor cruises to Hyannisport and the Kennedy compound, Main Streets diverse variety of shops, restaurants, gift stores, festivals, Cape Cod Train, and the Kennedy Museum. Within a short drive you will find Whale Watching, golf, historic Rte 6a, summer theatre, bike trails, world-class Cape Cod beaches including the Cape Cod National Seashore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Anchor In Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor In Hyannis
Hotel Anchor In
Anchor In Hotel Hyannis, Cape Cod, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor In Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.