We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“handy and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor In Hotel

Save Saved
You added Anchor In Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anchor In Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 South St, On Hyannis Harbor, Hyannis, MA 02601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 hotels in Hyannis
Skowhegan, Maine
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“handy and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The place has had a makeover the last couple of years which is just spiffy. The place is very near the island connections so it is perfect when one arrives late at night to catch an early boat. The island rate is much appreciated by those who must spend time off isle and need to return often! The breakfast room opens soon enough for a cup of tea and bagel in time for the voyage.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    386
    167
    32
    7
    4
See reviews for
145
281
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Londonderry, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was a wonderful place to spend a weekend on the Cape. The rooms were clean and well tended to. The staff was exceptionally nice and helpful. They made you feel right at home. It is on the water so you can open you patio door and watch the boats and seagulls from your room! Great place to stay. I would recommend it unconditionally!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We need a place to stay to visit our grandmother in assisted living...and it's hard to find a place that is nice AND affordable. This place was SO relaxing! Quiet, great views, wonderful restful library with fireplace to watch the Pats game (with cookies and tea too!) and great breakfast buffet. The pictures are right on...everything was as good or better than the website showed. The sun streaming in over the water onto the porch was a perfect place for breakfast, or the library was a cozy alternative. Staff were VERY accommodating. I only wish the rates weren't so high in summer or we'd make this our year-round choice.
Oh...one thing I would change...they charge an extra "adult" fee for our 13-year old (any child over 10). They made an exception since we reserved online and didn't notice that, but in future they said he would cost additional $10 fee.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are great. The more expensive suites on the ends would be the best, of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Great affordable hotel to stay in Hyannis Harbor! great view of Harbor and blocks from the shops downtown. Beautifully situated, rooms great...you cant go wrong staying here! I would definitely go back to this hotel without a doubt!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lyme, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I opted for the Anchor In in Hyannis for a short New Year break on the Cape and was impressed by the location, accommodation and service offered. The room (a king-size) was clean, comfortable and well-furnished with a small balcony and free internet was an added bonus. The continental breakfast was excellent and included a choice of cereals, fresh fruit, bagels and muffins; tables for two were set overlooking the pool area and offered a lovely view of the harbour. The breakfast room manager was friendly and welcoming and offered advice and tips about where to visit and what to do on the Cape. I've paid much higher rates in New England for inferior accommodation and believe that the Anchor In represents extremely good value - I can wholeheartedly recommend it. On a slightly different note - and this is certainly no fault of the hotel - I was disappointed to find no public New Year's Eve events/fireworks in Hyannis as there are in other towns on the Cape (Chatham and Sandwich); maybe this is something Hyannis could consider in future years.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the harbour - first floor rooms are best for this
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The staff and this hotel couldn't have been better. We stayed from 12/26 through 12/30. The staff was very helpful in suggesting local restaurants as many were closed in the off season. They also helped plan some Winter beach outings. I liked the fact that the Library was open late and coffee and tea were available there. The breakfast was more than adequate. Al in all a great stay. We will definately return here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed in the anchor inn for 3 nights at The West Barnstable room which was just great. It has everything you need and more, very spacious clean and comfortable and with wonderful views.
The breakfast is also more than enough .bagels, muffins. Cheese fruits and more.
There are also 24/7 hot drinks at the lobby that you can drink there or take to your room.
The most wonderful thing in this hotel is the staff. So nice and helpful and always with a smile. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anchor In Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor In Hotel

Address: 1 South St, On Hyannis Harbor, Hyannis, MA 02601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Family Hotel in Hyannis
#3 Business Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor In Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Distinctively located in Hyannis, the "Homeport of Cape Cod". Walk to Bayview Beach, ferries to Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard, waterfront restaurants, Harbor cruises to Hyannisport and the Kennedy compound, Main Streets diverse variety of shops, restaurants, gift stores, festivals, Cape Cod Train, and the Kennedy Museum. Within a short drive you will find Whale Watching, golf, historic Rte 6a, summer theatre, bike trails, world-class Cape Cod beaches including the Cape Cod National Seashore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Anchor In Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor In Hyannis
Hotel Anchor In
Anchor In Hotel Hyannis, Cape Cod, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor In Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.