We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Honeymoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor In Hotel

Save Saved
You added Anchor In Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com
and 3 more sites!
Anchor In Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 South St, On Hyannis Harbor, Hyannis, MA 02601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 hotels in Hyannis
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Perfect location for our first trip to Cape Cod. Only a few minutes walk to Hyannis Main Street, and easy to get around the rest of Cape Cod by car.

We booked this as part of our honeymoon and couldn't have chosen anywhere better. Everyone was so friendly: We, too, were at the Anchor In when 'Sandy' arrived and all the staff were fantastic. I was particularly nervous beforehand, but everyone really made us feel safe. Thank you so much.

The room was very clean and comfortable and the atmosphere at the Anchor In is very relaxed, with help always at hand for advice on places to eat out, visit etc.

Loved Cape Cod & also loved our trip to Marthas Vineyard. Hope to see you all again.

Thanks again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    347
    157
    28
    7
    4
See reviews for
136
249
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a refurbished older hotel owned by the same family for several decades. It is located in a perfect spot for walking distance to restaurants and shops in Hyannis and along the waterfront. If you're taking a ferry to the islands, it is right next door. In the off season it is very quiet. The staff are very helpful and the rooms are sparkling clean. I would avoid the cheapest rooms as they are in a low-ceilinged near basement location, which is fine if no one is staying above you, but if you have folks who seem to need to walk back and forth across the floor about 500 times a night it is quite loud.

Room Tip: Don't select the "partial-view" rooms in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Fl
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I went for a weekend visit "off season" and found this place to be a gem. I picked The Anchor to stay at based on the reviews in Trip Advisor. I was not disapointed! The room was "clean, clean, clean". The staff was helpful with suggestions on places to eat.
I just can't say enough about it. I found the positive reviews to be unusual as most people write to "complain", not very many write in with positive feed back.

We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RUSHVILLE, INDIANA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Anchor In many times, but never during a hurricane. Hurricane Sandy arrived during our stay and the entire staff made us feel safe and secure. From owner Skip Simpson, to Sandy, Janet, Tammy, and the rest of the staff, we say thank you! Thank you fo allowing us to stay extended time, thank you for being so nice to my wife and I, and thank you for being a calming influence on us during this time. The Anchor In is definitely the best accomodations on Cape Cod. We cannot wait until our next visit to visit our friends at the Anchor In.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I have roots on the "Bay" side of the Cape in East Dennis and try to visit as much as we can, mostly off season in Spring + Fall and on our Harley...(Summer down the Cape is spectacular but C-R-A-Z-Y busy especially on the "Sound" side...Dennisport-Yarmouth-Hyannis).

Because of the "calm before the storm" fantastic weather forcast for October 26+27 we decided to take off down the Cape on the Harley before Hurricane Sandy hit and possibly stay over night. We didn't have reservations anywhere which was not a problem as we are only 1-1/2 hr ride from home. The weather forcast was so nice that we did decide to try to find some place to stay over and headed toward Hyannis to try to take in our 2 favorites in downtown....the "British Beer Company" and "The Black Cat".

I was hesitant to stay overnight in downtown Hyannis though (looong story) but my husband had done some research on tripadvisor regarding this "Anchor In". After a few disagreements on where to stay, I said "ok let's just check the place out and look at the rooms".
Well I have to say that I was blown away by this top notch, spit-spot clean, very professionally run hotel....actually more like a B+B than a "hotel". AND the off-season price was the best surprise at $89!!!

I could go on and on....and usually do but I will just say that you NEED to go to the website and read and see for yourself all the amenities this hidden gem has to offer. Everything about his hotel is EXACTLY as stated on it's website....EXACTLY. My husband and I travel ALOT and have stayed in all sorts of hotels, Inns, B+B's of all shapes, sizes and ratings. This is one of the cleanest, well run, comfortable, homey, establishment that we have ever stayed in. We will definetely return!!!

Oh and as far as staying in Hyannis.....not bad, not bad at all...you should try it and see!! :)

Room Tip: We stayed "off-season" in a ground floor room near the road across from the hospital. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Although we only stayed one night it was wonderful. The room was clean and had a great view. The staff was very nice and gave us excellent recommendations for places to eat. Would like to stay again when we have more time. The breakfast was a great way to start our day. Hope everyone was safe with hurricane Sandy which arrived just two days after we left.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Can't fault this establishment as Motel style accomodation goes. The welcome was professional, the room comfortable, the pool clean and the extended continental breakfast superior. You could see Hyannis Harbour from the balcony, which has a table and chairs, over rooftops. Quite large ferries to Martha's Vineyard come and go throughout the day and evening. We paid $200 a day plus tax.

the main downside is Hyannis itself. We wrongly expected a bide a wee village but actually it's the only heavily developed urban centre on Cape Cod, with shopping malls, night clubs, irish pubs, etc. The Anchor In is sandwiched between the General Hospital and the car parks for the ferry port so there is quite a lot of traffic. With hindsight, if we were chosing a base for a quiet break on the Cape again, we would choose one of the much prettier villages such as Chatham, Barnstable , etc

Room Tip: The Hotel is south facing round a pool, so some balconies will get sun in the morning, some in the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorInHyannisowner, Owner at Anchor In Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Anchor In. We are sorry to hear that our village of Hyannis was not as you expected as it is for the many thousands of guests every year. Cape Cod and the Islands is a wonderful place to visit. Each area is unique and offers different experiences to discover and enjoy.

As stated on the front page of our web site> We are Distinctively located in Hyannis, the "Homeport of Cape Cod". Anchor In is situated in the best location Hyannis has to offer. Anchor In holds the title of the town’s only waterfront hotel and is also proudly one of the very few year-round waterfront hotels on Cape Cod. As our guests, you can easily walk to Bayview Beach, ferries to Nantucket and Martha’s Vineyard, waterfront restaurants, Hyannis Harbor cruises to Hyannisport and the Kennedy compound, Main Streets diverse variety of shops, restaurants, gift stores, festivals, the Cape Cod Train, and the John F. Kennedy Hyannis Museum. Within a short drive you will find Cape Cod Whale Watching, Cape Cod golf, historic Rte 6a, Cape Cod summer theatre, Cape Cod bike trails, world-class Cape Cod beaches including the Cape Cod National Seashore.

We hope your next trip to Cape Cod is also a memorable one no matter what village or town you choose as a base to explore from.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anchor In Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor In Hotel

Also Known As:
Anchor In Hyannis
Hotel Anchor In
Anchor In Hotel Hyannis, Cape Cod, MA
Address: 1 South St, On Hyannis Harbor, Hyannis, MA 02601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hyannis
#2 Family Hotel in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor In Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Distinctively located in Hyannis, the "Homeport of Cape Cod". Walk to Bayview Beach, ferries to Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard, waterfront restaurants, Harbor cruises to Hyannisport and the Kennedy compound, Main Streets diverse variety of shops, restaurants, gift stores, festivals, Cape Cod Train, and the Kennedy Museum. Within a short drive you will find Whale Watching, golf, historic Rte 6a, summer theatre, bike trails, world-class Cape Cod beaches including the Cape Cod National Seashore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Anchor In Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor In Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.