We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most Idealic Hostels on the Cape Cod Coastline” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HI-Hyannis Hostel

HI-Hyannis Hostel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added HI-Hyannis Hostel to your Saves list
HI-Hyannis Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   111 Ocean Street, Hyannis, MA 02610   |  
Hotel amenities
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“One of the most Idealic Hostels on the Cape Cod Coastline”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

On first glance, this stunning New England Style accommodationnis better than you would expect from hostel compared to typical hostels in North America and Europe. It was clean, homely, comfortable with all up to date applicances and faciliates. Set right right by Hyannis offers easy accesibility to ferry docks to Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket. It is also only a short walk to Hyannis Main Street and Hyannis Transportation Centre.

The staff are very helpfully and socially and give plenty of tips of activities to do in the area.

Overall I would come back here anytime! Absolutely Stunning Place!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a bed by the window in the your room and you will get the most refreshing atlantic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
2
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We spent 3 nights at HI Hyannis and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. Firstly, we were greeted by a friendly staff member who gave us a map and jotted down some key locations for us without even having to ask. We were then given a quick tour of the main hostel building, which holds a kitchen, living and dining area, and computer facilities. Our room, which was in a smaller house beside the main building, was quite small but very clean, and although it did not have any lockers, each building had it's own security entry system (of which the code changed weekly), and so we felt safe leaving our belongings in our rooms. Fresh pancakes were made for guests each morning, and tea and coffee were offered as complimentary at any time. The location of the hostel is fantastic, set right next to the harbour, and a two minute stroll from the main street of Hyannis, with the train and bus station only a five minute walk from there. We enjoyed being able to relax in the main building of the hostel whenever we pleased, and there were really no dissapointing aspects of our stay, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I've been at the HI Hyannis for 2 nights in Sept 2010.
I was travelling alone and the staff at Hyannis was friendly and helpful.
The location is great for outdoor activities, the ferries and the main street.
The place itself is good, clean, spacious rooms.
I highly recommend this hostel more than any hotel in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orenburg
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed in this hostel with my 6 friends just for 1 night, but the place was so nice, that I would like to come again to stay longer. It's a big beautiful cape-cod-style house with clean and spacious rooms. There're plenty showers - at least one on each floor.
The living room is very cozy, you can find a nice nook and have your breakfast there or read a book or talk with other guests.
The atmosphere here was very friendly and so cape-cody :) gentle. Unlike many hostels most visitors were over 30, which makes the place a bit different from usual hostels.
No other place can beat this hostel in terms of its location - it's right in the harbor on Ocean st.
I loved the place and will come again some time!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have stayed at a few hostels and this ranks up there with the best. It is warm and inviting. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. The location was the best part about it, near everything. The rooms are good size and really clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

I stayed here for a couple of nights in a private room with two beds. The hostel is newly renovated, so everything was in great condition. Plenty of bathrooms for everyone and a good kitchen to prepare your own meals if you want to. The staff are friendly and will give you tips on what to do & see, places to eat and drink and so on. A good budget option in a location where that's hard to find. It's also only 5 mins walk from the bus terminal and 2 minutes from the ferries to Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket, so a good base to explore if you want to do day trips.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Decked out like a Laura Ashley showroom, HI Hyannis faces the harbour, and the ferries for Nantucket. It has been completely refurbished both inside and out, has clean and presentable modern bathrooms and showers, a members kitchen with all modern conveniences, free wi-fi, a guitar - for those of you bold enough to play - and is close to some of the best fish and seafood restaurants in the USA. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable. A central location, fresh and new, a delight for any traveller. It is not the first time that a HI Hostel was in need of the cleaning of its windows! That minor detail aside, its an A+ for the visitor experience!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to HI-Hyannis Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Hyannis Hostel

Address: 111 Ocean Street, Hyannis, MA 02610
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — HI-Hyannis Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your HI-Hyannis Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HI-Hyannis Hostel Cape Cod, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HI-Hyannis Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.