We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel, great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HI-Hyannis Hostel

HI-Hyannis Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added HI-Hyannis Hostel to your Saves list
HI-Hyannis Hostel
111 Ocean Street, Hyannis, MA 02610   |  
Hotel amenities
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Hostel, great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I've been at the HI Hyannis for 2 nights in Sept 2010.
I was travelling alone and the staff at Hyannis was friendly and helpful.
The location is great for outdoor activities, the ferries and the main street.
The place itself is good, clean, spacious rooms.
I highly recommend this hostel more than any hotel in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
2
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orenburg
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed in this hostel with my 6 friends just for 1 night, but the place was so nice, that I would like to come again to stay longer. It's a big beautiful cape-cod-style house with clean and spacious rooms. There're plenty showers - at least one on each floor.
The living room is very cozy, you can find a nice nook and have your breakfast there or read a book or talk with other guests.
The atmosphere here was very friendly and so cape-cody :) gentle. Unlike many hostels most visitors were over 30, which makes the place a bit different from usual hostels.
No other place can beat this hostel in terms of its location - it's right in the harbor on Ocean st.
I loved the place and will come again some time!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have stayed at a few hostels and this ranks up there with the best. It is warm and inviting. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. The location was the best part about it, near everything. The rooms are good size and really clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

I stayed here for a couple of nights in a private room with two beds. The hostel is newly renovated, so everything was in great condition. Plenty of bathrooms for everyone and a good kitchen to prepare your own meals if you want to. The staff are friendly and will give you tips on what to do & see, places to eat and drink and so on. A good budget option in a location where that's hard to find. It's also only 5 mins walk from the bus terminal and 2 minutes from the ferries to Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket, so a good base to explore if you want to do day trips.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Decked out like a Laura Ashley showroom, HI Hyannis faces the harbour, and the ferries for Nantucket. It has been completely refurbished both inside and out, has clean and presentable modern bathrooms and showers, a members kitchen with all modern conveniences, free wi-fi, a guitar - for those of you bold enough to play - and is close to some of the best fish and seafood restaurants in the USA. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable. A central location, fresh and new, a delight for any traveller. It is not the first time that a HI Hostel was in need of the cleaning of its windows! That minor detail aside, its an A+ for the visitor experience!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We caught some warm weather so the unairconditioned room was a tad warm for sleeping. The building is history is interesting and in a great location. It was nice to have coffee & tea available all day. It is not within easy walking distance of a grocery so it would be nice if the hostel had some eggs or fruit available for sale at breakfast.


Veteran's Beach was nice, smallish, and uncrowded. It is about 1 mile walk from the hostel. There are no waves but it is scenic and has a roped off area for swimming. We lived Veteran's much better than the large & overcrowded Craigsville Beach that the hostel recommended. The JFK Memorial is adjacent to Veteran's Beach and the JFK Museum is a short walk to downtown Main St.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

I stayed at the Hyannis Hostel in August 2011. I stayed in one of the private rooms and found the room to be clean (nothing extravagant). The common areas (Kitchen, bathroom, grounds) were well above average compared to other Hostels I stayed at. The Hostel's location was amazing as it was right by many fantastic restaurants, beaches, cape code baseball, and ferry. I would stay here again if my travels bring me to cape cod.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HI-Hyannis Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Hyannis Hostel

Address: 111 Ocean Street, Hyannis, MA 02610
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your HI-Hyannis Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HI-Hyannis Hostel Cape Cod, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HI-Hyannis Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.