We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, Shiny & Homely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HI-Hyannis Hostel

HI-Hyannis Hostel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added HI-Hyannis Hostel to your Saves list
HI-Hyannis Hostel
111 Ocean Street, Hyannis, MA 02610   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“New, Shiny & Homely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

The Hi Hostels in the U.S. are generally old and run down, yet character filled. The Hi hostel in Hyannis is brand new, shiny, and posses a fantastic character all of its own. It is located in a perfect position between the main street and some nearby beaches. It is right next to the ferries that travel to Nantucket & Marthas Vineyard.

The staff I met were helpful, friendly, courtious, and well informed on all aspects of the local area. I feel that this friendly atmosphere went a long way to creating the warm character of this new building. Prop's to Eric (letting us use the kitchen pre check in) Jamie ( checking us in asap) Elliot for coolness and rock stacking, and Niki for interesting morning conversations. I feel some Hi staff U.S. wide I have encountered prior could benefit from a stay at Hi Hyannis.

Only very small negative was that the bunks felt a little unstable as they were subject to a little sway as you climbed in and out.

In short, a great place to base yourself to explore the Cape if your on a budget. Free breakfast and speedy Wi-Fi topped of a good two night stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
2
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

I was traveling on my own and only crashed here for the night. The hostel is located right across from where you pick up the ferry that I took out to Nantucket. This is a very new hostel. It was really nice staying here. It is also located right near the center of town. I slept well. The guests and staff were all super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

I stayed in a private room for one week during a business trip in Hyannis and I was very pleased with the hospitality I received. The room was simple, clean, and bright, with plenty of space for spreading out during my extended stay. The bed was very comfortable, and the fan was more than enough to keep my room cool. It was great to cook in the communal kitchen--plenty of storage space for food and lots of time for making friends and having great conversations. The bathrooms are all spacious and single-person use (although they are shared), and are large and clean. The staff was super friendly and very knowledgeable about the local restaurants and attractions. The hostel offers a great breakfast (including pancakes!) and has a free barbecue every week. There are lots of fun activities to participate in, including yoga on the beach and Cape Cod League baseball games. This hostel was a great value and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants a great place to stay in Hyannis!

Also, this hostel is handicapped accessible, which is a rarity on the Cape!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

First a word of warning: this is a hostel, not a hotel or B&B. Most of the spaces are communal (shared), even the private rooms have shared bathrooms and interacting with other visitors and staff is encouraged.
This is a brand new hostel, for the history of the building and the hostel see their website. When we arrived they had only been open a few days so there were a few things that were still being improved (towel hooks in the bathrooms, trash cans in the rooms, that sort of thing) but the girl in charge (I dont remember her name) was super receptive to all our requests and tips. She was generally a really nice upbeat and well organized manager who motivated her staff and gave helpfull tips about the area.
We really enjoyed this hostel for the following reasons: Nice clean new facilities, very comfortable beds, amazing!!! location, cant beat the price, friendly and knowledgable staff (the manager, not sure about the others), social atmosphere.

Before you book you should be aware that not all of the hostel as airconditioning but they do provide everyone with fans which was sufficient for us.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to HI-Hyannis Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Hyannis Hostel

Address: 111 Ocean Street, Hyannis, MA 02610
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your HI-Hyannis Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HI-Hyannis Hostel Cape Cod, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HI-Hyannis Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.