We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and Delicious on the cape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pain D'Avignon

Pain D'Avignon
15 Hinckley Road, Unit C, Hyannis, MA 02601-1948
508-778-8588
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 177 Restaurants in Hyannis
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: Bakery, French, Bar, Café, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Modern European style Cafe & Bistro
Braintree
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Elegant and Delicious on the cape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My favorite restaurant to have dinner on the cape. I know that the outside atmosphere leaves something to desire, but the food and service far overcomes that! i have NEVER had a bad meal here. it can get crowded, so be prepared. but it is well worth the wait. In the past they even give you a small loaf of bread to take home. the many different varieties of their bread and pastries are delicious too- they purvey lots of restaurants in Boston. Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    47
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Not just your average slice of bread - just fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

What a great restaurant in a very unlikely location beside an airport! The staff, ambience, atmosphere, service and food were just fantastic.
The restaurant layout is a very clever blend of a shop where you can buy delicious items from the bakery together with lots of other tasty snacks and a great place for an elegant dinner. There's also a bar where you can either sit or eat.
The waitress was utterly charming and very helpful and knew what she was talking about. The wine list was superb with a good choice of prices.
I had a deliciously sharp and refreshing salad to begin with, my husband indulged in very good foie gras. Then it was special of the day (marlin) and he had juicy, succulent scallops. Six of us shared three yummy and decadent puds - excellent.
At the end of the meal the waitress gave us all a loaf of bread to take home - OK it would have been too old to sell the next day but it was a nice touch.
Great place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best almond croissant this side of the Atlantic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

A little bit of Europe hidden in the most unlikely location - in back of the Hyannis airport. Delicious almond croissants, scones, breads... chocolate hazelnut bread is too die for... cranberry walnut bread is so delicious and flavorful. Their lattes are not to my taste - very foamy and a little bitter. Inside is a pleasant sidewalk cafe vibe. Expensive but worth it!

(I always come in the morning, so can't speak to the very different dinnertime transformation)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bon appetit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Hidden gem but worth it! They squeezed us in! Literally, at a tiny table against the bread shelves between two large groups that we had to sidle behind chairs to get there. Tables and chairs are tiny and tight and we're not huge people! Hubby had the free range chicken, um YUMMMM! I had the tagliatelle which was so delish! I would def order the Beef Bourguignon next time when I have more appetite. Portions were perfect for us after duck confit app. Attentive server and staff. Can't say enough about the BREAD!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Better than ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Haven't eaten dinner here since last summer and there have been a number of changes to the menu (as well as the chef). There were six of us and we had a nice mix of things and everyone raved about their choices. The French onion soup, which is always on the menu, is always outstanding. The bibb salad was delicate and deliciously dressed with a light lemon thyme dressing. The flat bread was topped with a light olive tapenade, and the perfect amount of buffalo mozzarella and arugula and was yummy. The most tasty dish was the beef bourguignon. The meat was as tender and flavorful as it could be. It wasn't my dish but that didn't stop me from taking bite after bite. Our server, Eduardo, was delightful and attentive. Can't wait to go back. Nice touch that they send you home with fresh bread at the end of the evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pain D'Avignon also viewed

 

Been to Pain D'Avignon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pain D'Avignon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.