We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from Unit 149!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Yachtsman Condominiums Rentals

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hyannis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Yachtsman Condominiums Rentals
Save Saved
You added The Yachtsman Condominiums Rentals to your Saves list
500 Ocean Street # 14, P.O. Box 939, Hyannis, MA 02601   |  
Hotel amenities
Somers, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Stay away from Unit 149!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

All units at the Yatchsman are not equal! This unit looked like it was out of the '50s and is in serious need of a dehumidifier and a renovation! Whatever you do, don't open the basement door - you can't un smell that! Carpets are stained, beds are old, water damage everywhere! We had the added joy of rude neighbors the week we stayed - the BBQ'd right on their patio (supposed to roll it out onto the grass) allowing all of their lighter fluid smoke to come right into our windows - not to mention how loud they were outside of the noise hours (til 1am one night).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    0
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Have used this on multiple occasions, using it as our Cape Cod retreat, usually paired up with a week or so in Boston. The properties are fantastic. Clean, well laid out, large with all the facilities you could ask for and situated right at the beach just a short walk from the harbour.

The properties I've stayed in have always had a Cape Cod/New England theme, but don't assume that will always be the case as the individual owners will have decorated to personal taste.

Always found the people friendly, plenty of places either a walk or a short drive away for great food. Hyannis is a lovely quite town, so wouldn't recommend it for anyone with an expectation of wild night life, but for a chillaxin vacation this is the perfect place.

If your family/work allows, I'd recommend a couple of weeks pre June, or autumn as Brits could holiday here in a 4 bed property for less than a grand a week at current exchange rates. So split that between a couple of families and you have a bargain.

My dream - to own one of these properties myself. Highly recommended for a holiday in beautiful part of the world

Room Tip: Worth the extra cost for a marsh/beach view, rather than a central location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

These are some nice properties but its clear that this is a haven for the aged. The apartments are arguably very nice, especially a four bedroom for $2000 a week. We just had folks give us the stink eye for having kids. It's clear this place caters to picky pensioners and they're worried they'll lose their clientele.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We booked this "blind," having never stayed there before or even knowing anyone who had.

Turned out to be a great choice.

Location - excellent. Walking distance to (Martha's Vineyard & Nantucket) ferries and many good restaurants. Has its own beach (albeit, not among the best on the Cape). Minutes from several good beaches (i.e. Craigsville) and all of the shops and restaurants in Hyannis. And centrally located on the Cape (about same distance east to Falmouth or west to Chatham).

Very nice pool staffed by a lifeguard (great to just send the kids on their own).

Most units have three decks, either overlooking Lewis Bay, or the pool, which are very relaxing.

Very quiet development and (most importantly to us), the walls seem to have been thick enough that nobody complained about my crazy kids yelling all the time (nor did I hear anyone else's crazy kids yelling)!

Garbage pick-up twice a day.

Price (compared to hotels and/or area resorts) was very reasonable, and we had TONS of room for our family of 6 (I'm sure we would have been on top of each other in a hotel).

Would DEFINITELY rent again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

From the minute we walked into the state of the art kitchen, walked through the immaculate living room and bedrooms, and finally sat down on private deck, we were thrilled with our condo. Being able to go out the back door and simply walk onto the beach was wonderful. This location is quiet and so convenient to the main street of the village where the shops and restaurants are. The people in the office are extremely helpful with whatever questions you may have about the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Yachtsman Condominiums Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yachtsman Condominiums Rentals

Address: 500 Ocean Street # 14, P.O. Box 939, Hyannis, MA 02601
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty lodging in Hyannis
Also Known As:
The Yachtsman Condominiums Rentals Hyannis, Cape Cod, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Yachtsman Condominiums Rentals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.