We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Musty smell in the room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Resort and Conference Center at Hyannis

Save Saved
You added Resort and Conference Center at Hyannis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Resort and Conference Center at Hyannis
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   35 Scudder Avenue, Hyannis, MA 02601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 22 hotels in Hyannis
NRW
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Musty smell in the room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel has very long corridors and it took ages to reach our room with some steps on the way that did not come handy with our luggage. The room itself was nice with a very spacious bathroom. However, the room smelled so musty that I had to buy a room deodorant to be able to stay there. Maybe it would have been better on an upper floor (we were on the ground floor) but that smell is the memory of this hotel that lasts. The location was convenient to Main Street and the ferry.

Room Tip: The upper levels had balconies and might smell less musty (but that is just a guess)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingHyannis, Director of Sales at Resort and Conference Center at Hyannis, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your past stay at the Resort and Conference Center at Hyannis. We would like to inform you that the Resort is undergoing a renovation that will include all the floors and carpeting in our overnight guestrooms and certain public spaces. The renovation will be taking place over the next two months. This is being done for the convenience of our guests and to eliminate any moisture and humidity the guestrooms have experienced in the past. The Staff and the management are committed to a positive guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    49
    74
    34
    23
See reviews for
55
38
5
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Derby, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at the Resort and Conference for one night, I was very skeptical at first reading some of the negative reviews. I found that yes the hallways do smell like mold but that was probably my only complain. The rooms were very nice, spacious and did not smell like mold at all. I was placed in a suite, which I loved and the view of the golf course was very scenic. The bathtub was a bit outdated but the bathroom in itself was very spacious and had marble counters. For a place that is very busy I believe they try their best to keep it as well maintained as possible. I would definitely stay here again, it's affordable and very close to the main street.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite or courtyard view, the golf course is very pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingHyannis, Director of Sales at Resort and Conference Center at Hyannis, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We thank you very much for your review of the Resort and Conference Center at Hyannis. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope if your travels should take you back to Cape Cod that you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our family went for an overnight stay hoping to get some sun and relaxation. The room was pricey and was could sleep five on two double bed and a pull out bed. We had been here many years ago and found that the hotel looked old and bleak. Our room was on the first floor facing the golf course. To reach our room we had to walk through several corridors and go down several sets of stairs, It had a humidifier running try to keep the humidity at bay. We went to the outdoor pool and they had two towels left, one of which was so frayed and thin that you could not dry yourself. We tried the indoor pool and found they also had no towels. We were told they should be getting some shortly, and they did get some small white towels which were a perfect size for a small child. The hotel is located within walking distance to the town and a short ride to beach. Too much money for what you get, disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingHyannis, Director of Sales at Resort and Conference Center at Hyannis, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Resort and Conference Center at Hyannis. I am sorry that your experience wasn't a complete pleasure. Regarding the corridors and stairs we are sorry that you were not directed to use the outside access of the property which would have taken you to a room faster without having to travel the three corridors and two sets of five stairs that each hall contains. The hotel is built on a horizontal floor plan and not vertical such as a city hotel would be built. In addition the property sits on 56 acres including the par 3 executive golf course which leads to the Ocean. I again apologize for the lack of pool towels at both swimming pools with the summer weather and high traffic in both areas they ran out but were in the process of restocking and I am sorry you were inconvenienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendon, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed overnight to attend the Beach Boys at the Cape Cod Melody Tent. Great location across the, as well as walking downtown. Pool nice, rooms very neat and clean, and service very good. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Went to this hotel for a conference and our first room was on the first floor facing the parking lot. The room was very musty and even the carpet felt damp. Another conference attendee said her room had a dehumidifier that had to be emptied at least twice per day. We requested another room on the second floor. It, too, was musty, but better than the first room. The newer registration staff person who handled our request for a change of room was not at all surprised. Her manager, who made the exchange on computer, did not apologize and was rather curt. Overall, some major maintenance is needed to the place. Not at all worth the expensive room rate, even at conference-room rates, despite the Hyannis location.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingHyannis, Director of Sales at Resort and Conference Center at Hyannis, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your past stay at the Resort and Conference Center at Hyannis. We would like to inform you that the Resort is undergoing a renovation that will include all the floors and carpeting in our overnight guestrooms and certain public spaces. The renovation will be taking place over the next two months. This is being done for the convenience of our guests and to eliminate any moisture and humidity the guestrooms have experienced in the past. The Staff and the management are committed to a positive guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This was our 2nd trip to The Resort and Conference Center, and found it perfect for a two night stay before heading to Nantucket for 4 nights. Our guestroom was dry, comfortable, and no issues at all, as we were originally concerned reading a recent review. That was not the case in our room. The outdoor pool was again the highlight for us, large enough to relax, even though it was busy.
breakfast in the dining room was excellent, service good.....the staff we encountered were all happy and smiling, something we appreciate. We will return again next year.....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We actually cut our vacation short because we became ill from the horrible inescapable moldy mildew stench. We complained about the smell and were moved into another smelly room. We all woke very early with terrific headaches, sore throats and congestion. They were actually going to charge us for our second night until I explained that we wouldn't be leaving if it weren't for the smell and poor conditions. Also if that weren't enough, the noisy air conditioner and dehumidifier kept me awake very late. We had to empty the dehumidifier in the middle of the night and it was full of water. Gross. When we got home all our clothes had to be washed because of the smell. My sinuses are still congested and I have a sore throat still, I should send them my medical bill. I will never return to this establishment . They showed very little care that we were upset about our experience! Nothing positive I could say unfortunately. Can't be good for your health.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingHyannis, Director of Sales at Resort and Conference Center at Hyannis, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Resort and Conference Center at Hyannis. I am sorry that your experience wasn't a complete pleasure. Regarding the corridors and stairs we are sorry that you were not directed to use the outside access of the property which would have taken you to a room faster without having to travel the three corridors and two sets of five stairs that each hall contains. The hotel is built on a horizontal floor plan and not vertical such as a city hotel would be built. In addition the property sits on 56 acres including the par 3 executive golf course which leads to the Ocean. Unfortunately, being so close to the Ocean and the high humidity contributed to some of our rooms smelling moldy that is why in addition to an air conditioner we provide the dehumidifier. We are sorry if you felt ill during your stay and assure you that the hotel has taken additional steps to eliminate this problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Resort and Conference Center at Hyannis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort and Conference Center at Hyannis

Address: 35 Scudder Avenue, Hyannis, MA 02601
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 hotels in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Resort and Conference Center at Hyannis 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Resort and Conference Center at Hyannis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort And Conference Center At Hyannis Hotel Hyannis
Hotel Hyannis
Resort And Conference Center At Hyannis Cape Cod, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort and Conference Center at Hyannis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.