We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel needs to invest in maintenance!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Resort and Conference Center at Hyannis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Resort and Conference Center at Hyannis to your Saves list
Resort and Conference Center at Hyannis
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   35 Scudder Avenue, Hyannis, MA 02601   |  
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
NR, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Hotel needs to invest in maintenance!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Negatives: Stayed here for 3 nights and our room and the entire hallway outside of the room smelled MUSTY!! (furthest hallway from front desk on first floor) There was a dehumidifier in the room which began beeping in the middle of the night because it had to be emptied out. After our first night there, all five of us woke up feeling horribly and congested due to the conditions. I had to approach the staff at the front desk 3 times in order for our room to be changed. I waited for two phone calls which I never received!!! Very disappointed about that. The woman at the front desk tried to place us in a smaller room which 5 people would not have fit in and not comparable to what we had paid for. It was a good thing that I had asked to see the room first. Finally, the manager was able to discount our bill and add a cot to the room.
Along with the horrible mildew smell in the first room, the paint was chipping off of the bath tub. The second room there still had a slight musty smell but so much better than the first and our telephone did not work.
For all the great amenities they have, they should really consider putting more money into maintaining the hotel.

Positives: The hotel had many amenities... outdoor pool, indoor pool, sauna , golf course, small arcade, restaurant, salon, gym.
It was within walking distance to restaurants on Main St.
A children's park doesn't exist (apparently it broke)

Room Tip: Stay away from the last corridor on the first floor!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingHyannis, Director of Sales at Resort and Conference Center at Hyannis, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We thank you very much for your constructive comments regarding your stay with us recently. We are very sorry your stay did not exceed your expectations and we are also very sorry that your accommodations were not to your satisfaction. As you may have noticed when you checked in, all of our guestrooms have sliding glass doors which open to a full terrace and the open air, whether you are on the 1st or 2nd Floor of the property. Most guests open these doors when they stay with us and with the summer weather being hot and muggy combined with the fact that on the other side of the golf course is the ocean creates the stuffiness in the guestrooms. This is the reason for the dehumidifies in addition to the air conditioners in the guestrooms. As of this week the hotel is installing all new air conditioning units in the ceiling of the guest hallways to eliminate this problem entirely. Regarding maintenance the rooms are closely monitored for all and any type of repair daily by the housekeeping and maintenance staff. Again we are sorry for any inconvenience you have incurred during your stay and wish that if your travels bring you back to Cape Cod you will try the Resort again at another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    50
    79
    37
    27
See reviews for
57
42
5
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Eddington, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We attended an event at the Cape Cod Melody Tent and chose the Resort & Conference Center because of its location being directly across the street and that was the ONLY feature that this place has going for it.

The facility is very outdated, has been neglected for routine maintenance and smells musty. The rooms are cramped with oversized furniture leaving little room to move and the A/C sounded like a distant freight train.
The plumbing did not work and the nice gentleman that came to work on it said that the system was not designed to handle multiple rooms using flushing at the same time...at first I thought he was kidding but nope he was dead serious.
While this is not the worst hotel that we have ever stayed at it is in the bottom 3. Next time we are in the area we will choose one of the national brand hotels as there was no price difference.

Room Tip: Pick another place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingHyannis, Director of Sales at Resort and Conference Center at Hyannis, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We are very sorry to hear that your stay did not exceed your expectations. We do apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered during your stay and thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Hi I recently stayed here with some friends for a "Girls Getaway". This place was awesome! Rooms were large with oversized bathroom, plenty of counter space. Tv, wifi, plenty of closet space. Loved the outdoor pool with bar service and my daughters loved the indoor pool to swim laps! Breakfast was great in the restaurant, loved the fresh fruit....Close to beaches, downtown shopping, ferries. Great time, will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We just spent 3 nights at this hotel and while, overall, it is a nice place (i.e., upscale furnishings, bedding, amenities, etc.), I would strongly suggest you do not stay in a ground level room. We had adjoining ground level rooms facing the courtyard and upon entering the rooms, were assaulted with a very strong musty, moldy odor. We turned on the A/C and purchased some Febreeze, hoping this would solve the problem - thought is was dirty A/C filters. When we returned to the room in the evening, it was no better. We now wish we had complained and had our rooms changed, but we thought it would improve and didn’t know if we would still get adjoining rooms. It actually got worse when on our third day, it rained! The carpeting actually felt damp! If you have mold allergies - you would be absolutely miserable. My other complaint is that when we arrived, we were given our room keys and no mention was made that the rooms were not ready. If they weren’t ready, why would they give us the keys? Well, one room was ready, but the other was still a mess from the previous guests. The cleaning staff was in the hall and made no effort or even comment on when the room might be ready. When I finally approached them, they grudgingly said they would get to it. Lastly, this is a vacation resort as well as a conference center - it would be nice if they would make a better effort to accommodate the vacationers instead of only the conference guests…maybe serving breakfast until 11:00 a.m. (instead of 10:00), keeping the indoor pool and attached game room open a bit later than 9:30 p.m. for the vacationing guest (indoor pool opens at 5:30 a.m. for the conference guests!). I might stay again, but NEVER in a ground level room. Too bad, because it offered a nice outdoor sitting area and putting green right outside the door.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground level are musty, damp, and moldy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingHyannis, Director of Sales at Resort and Conference Center at Hyannis, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your past stay at the Resort and Conference Center at Hyannis. We would like to inform you that the Resort is undergoing a renovation that will include all the floors and carpeting in our overnight guestrooms and certain public spaces. The renovation will be taking place over the next two months. This is being done for the convenience of our guests and to eliminate any moisture and humidity the guestrooms have experienced in the past. The Staff and the management are committed to a positive guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I Recently spend a few days on the Cape with friends and once again stayed at the Hyannis Resort center. Our rooms were clean and the beds were the extremely comfortable. Because we were on the first floor the connecting patios allowed us to gather for our own "cocktail hour". There is both an indoor and outdoor pool which we were able to enjoy during our stay. Breakfast was very good and well price & the bar was a good place to end the day. The staff was very friendly and helpful and you can't beat the location.

Room Tip: If you have more than one room try to get the patio area together, but if you have only one room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Just enjoyed a great stay at this resort. The staff throughout the hotel is friendly, helpful, and accommodating. Restaurant and bar served great food and drinks. We had rooms that were clean, pleasant, and well stocked with all the necessities.
We had great weather, so we enjoyed the pool area every day. Love the location- so close to downtown Hyannis and beautiful Hyannis harbor. Also really close to Craigville Beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Last June our association held it's annual event at the Hyannis Resort. My room was very comfortable, clean and had a great view of the executive golf coarse. The king size bed was so comfortable I didn't want to leave it. Some of our members played the coarse and said that it was in great shape and provided some challenging holes. I, on the other hand, was attending board meetings. At least they were clean with comfortable chairs and plenty of cold soft drinks and danish provided. The staff on hand were always very helpful in providing directions and answering other guestions such as opening and closing times for the hotel venues. The parking lot area in front of the hotel was spacious and large enough to occomodate the buses need to transport members to offsite events scheduled in the area. The pool area in the back of the resort provided a nice setting for our lobster / clam bake dinner and the servers did a great job setting up and monitoring the food distribution. The only draw back was that the lobsters got cold quickly. All in all it made for a succesfull 3 day conference event and would concider revisiting the resort in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a king bed south side on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Resort and Conference Center at Hyannis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort and Conference Center at Hyannis

Address: 35 Scudder Avenue, Hyannis, MA 02601
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Hyannis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Hyannis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Resort and Conference Center at Hyannis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Resort and Conference Center at Hyannis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort And Conference Center At Hyannis Hotel Hyannis
Hotel Hyannis
Resort And Conference Center At Hyannis Cape Cod, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort and Conference Center at Hyannis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.