We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nantasket Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Nantasket Beach Resort to your Saves list
Nantasket Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Hull Shore Drive, Hull, MA 02045 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Nantasket Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hull
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I booked this hotel because it was a reasonably priced hotel right on the beach with good reviews. I loved my morning coffee and book listening to the ocean and the people at the front desk were nice enough but, the fact is, I don't think I could recommend staying here. For the few nice things it has the one thing it does not offer is a good night's sleep. The walls are paper thin. We were on the second floor and I could hear every word spoken on the street under my window, stamping on the ceiling above me, kids screaming in the halls and, worst of all, every door that slammed shook the wall my headboard was attached to - and the earplugs I pack just in case didn't even help. Between the adults coming in at 2am and the families leaving for the beach at 8am I don't think I got more than a few hours sleep. After the first night I asked the front desk for a change of room as it was Sunday and I was hoping people would be emptying out. I was told they would be happy to do so but I would have to have my stuff packed up and waiting by 11am and they weren't sure when my new room would be ready and it may not make much of a difference because they were expecting a full house that night as well. In the end, my husband and I decided it wasn't worth the trouble. If this wasn't bad enough, housekeeping was lacking as well. In first entering our room, I found food on the floor under the edge of my bed and long black hairs on the toilet and in the shower. The next night, we weren't given any clean glasses, shampoo or conditioner or a baggie for the ice bucket, nor was my coffee pot cleaned out. The maintenance folks decided Sunday morning at checkout would be a good time to try to wash the floors in the lobby and got huffy with people who wanted to get by. I'm not sure what "attractions" there are within walking distance. There are 3 or 4 places to eat and a carousel. No shops that I saw. I try to base my reviews on amenities, comfort and cleanliness with convenience and staff immediately following. There's just not enough good things to say and I feel charitable giving it an average.

Room Tip: This hotel has a side walk and roads right in front and in back of the building. Perhaps rooms on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    204
    88
    31
    13
See reviews for
141
244
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We were looking for a beachfront hotel for a few days in this area to enjoy the ocean and beach with our kids. The pictures offered a different perspective than reality. The neighborhood is what appeared to be an older section of town and I was not entirely comfortable walking back along the beachfront with my family after getting ice cream and riding the carousel. The beach almost disappeared during high tide, so was not as expansive as the pictures depicted - they must have been low tide.

The hotel was very run down and had not made investments in keeping up the rooms and furnishings. The beds were old spring beds and offered bad support. The upholstery on the chairs in the room was threadbare on the arms, but instead of having it recovered, the staff had stapled it down to delay further wear. The curtains had been pulled from the rings by a previous guest and had been hung back up with what appeared to be a paper clip.

I would not stay here if visiting this area again.

Room Tip: We had a balcony beach view, but the room was too run down to get past to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We just returned from a couple night stay at the Nantasket Beach Resort. The room was large, comfortable with a balcony over looking the beach with a fantastic view of the area. The food was excellent and the staff were very courteous and helpful. Had a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We just returned from another stay at the Nantasket Beach Resort. The food is still as good as ever, prices reasonable and the ocean views are unbeatable. All staff are courteous and helpful. The location is within walking distance of many restaurants and attractions and directly accross the street from the ocean and miles and miles of beach. Bring your own beach chairs tho, rentals and local purchase prices are high. Still, the perfect place for complete relaxation.

Room Tip: Main buiilding has best access to dining, game room and parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the resort to celebrate my 50th birthday....terrific staff took care of all of our requests promptly and with a smile. Front desk staff stood out. Room nice, large, small kitchenette, reasonable, close to ferry to Boston, Logan int'l and other harbour front locations.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My wife and I spent one night here last week, we were very surprised how nice and upscale it was.The staff are all well trained and helpful it is fairly priced and most rooms have a view of the beach.There is a small balcony on each room.
You can walk across the street to the beach,walk to restaurants,ice cream stands,etc.
It was a surprise since we live 10 miles away and were not aware of it.
We will be back soon

Room Tip: ask for at least partial ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I had a wedding this past weekend and the staff, the food, and service were all amazing we are very satisfied , the function hall was perfect! Highly recommend the nantasket beach resort to all the management was even better they were very polite and on top of everything that we needed thank you nantasket beach resort for a great experience

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nantasket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nantasket Beach Resort

Address: 45 Hull Shore Drive, Hull, MA 02045 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Nantasket Beach)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nantasket Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nantasket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nantasket Beach Hotel Hull
Clarion Nantasket Beach
Clarion Hull
Clarion Hotel Hull Ma
Hull Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nantasket Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.