We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok beach hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nantasket Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Nantasket Beach Resort to your Saves list
Nantasket Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Hull Shore Drive, Hull, MA 02045 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Nantasket Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hull
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Orleans
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just ok beach hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

The hotel has that old beach motel feel. Though the halls appeared clean, there was a constant damp smell. Our room was not a beach view. The balcony door was bolted and the balcony was filthy. The staff were very cordial and the restaraunt was good. No major problems, but certainly not beach luxury. The buildup that this was a 31/2 star hotel was not accurate.

  • Liked — location on beach
  • Disliked — Hotel more a motel
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    204
    88
    31
    13
See reviews for
141
245
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

This is a fantastic hotel. Great location, beautiful furnishings, staff that are friendly and helpful. Everything in my room and on my floor was well taken care of, immaculately clean and well planned.

I got a very reasonable rate on an oceanfront king room with a fireplace (really lovely) and whirlpool bath (also lovely).

The pool is very nice, very clean and wasn't crowded. I rarely go in hotel pools but this one was great.

The restaurant is equally impressive. I called for room service, but I was feeling picky and wanted to combine a few things on the menu. The gentleman I spoke to said to tell him whatever I wanted and they would make it. I gave him my crazy order, and in 20 minutes it was at my door, well prepared, exactly as ordered and hot.

Not surprisingly, the spa is also wonderful. In short, I highly recommend staying here and taking advantage of all this wonderful hotel has to offer.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — I have absolutely no complaints.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2008

I was very pleased with this stay. The room was clean and extremely comfortable; the staff were terrific (the desk clerk happily moved me to a quieter room, away from a large wedding party) and the location is terrific (right on the beach) and an easy 20 minute drive to a local T-station to downtown Boston. My stay was a quick overnight and I really wish I could have stayed loger (and enjoyed the buffet breakfast). My room was on the first floor and overlooked the main street but there was little traffic noise. My only complaint is the lack of hotel parking, which wasn't an issue in April (plenty of spots along the seawall) but is probably a real problem in the busy months.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2008

Very nice location, if you are visiting Boston and need a great deal on a wonderful location this is it, about 15 minutes of the main hwy. Off season rates are under $100, Wow what a deal! Wake up with the sun, walk the beach or sidewalk along the beach.

  • Liked — Location and Value.....very reasonable price.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2008

Being from San Diego I was not sure if the hotel and beach could measure up to my expectations. I was pleasantly surprised to find a beautiful hotel with a friendly and accomodating staff. The concerige was extremely helpful and gave me the inside tips on the best places to visit and dine. The rooms were small but delightful, I had an oceanfront room where the sound of the waves lulled me to sleep at night. I plan on returning this year for a relaxing visit and long walks on the beach.

DW

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2008

I stayed at this hotel as part of a group, with accompanying rate. Compared to the rack rate, we got a good deal - around $72. For that rate, it was a good deal.

I almost missed the hotel driveway coming in, and ended up somewhat blocking the road as I went to check in. Staff at the desk were very friendly, and made sure everything was in order for me. I got my keys and went to move my car to a lot.

Parking is a valuable commodity here. It seems that the hotel's three buildings were built, and then parking laid down upon every bare patch of land. Compact cars were shoved in every which way. My large truck was harder to park, and I ended up in the overflow lot, at the end of the block. This required a long walk around the buildings to get to the elevators, where the navigational trip began.

I quickly dubbed them the "Elevators to Heaven," as by the time you got to your floor (of which there are only four), you were almost there. Also, it was comforting to see the safety certificates expired in August 2007. I then navigated the maze of corridors to my room, an oceanfront king.

The room was nice - not the most fabulous space I ever set my eyes upon, but nice. I did feel space was wasted - the bed, nightstand, desk and TV were crammed near the door, while there was a vast area of floor nearer the sliding door to the balcony. The fireplace was nice, except it also worked as part of the heating system. The regular heater was a pain, so I turned the fireplace on high and opened the sliding door to let the 50-degree January air in. This resulted in me waking a few times to fix the balance of hot and cold. Also, it smelled slightly smoky, though I may have mistakenly forgotten to ask for a nonsmoking room. Bathroom 100% typical.

Bed nothing too exciting. Typical hotel bedspread, okay pillows, okay mattress. Felt blanket. Not the best sleep I've ever had.

WiFi didn't work too great in my room in the south building; not sure if it's my computer or the connection, but I never had this issue to this extent before at a hotel. It caused issues with a communication I needed to make that night.

Raffael's Restaurant was surprisingly good for being attached to a Clarion. I had fish and chips, quite nice. Breakfast was in a part of the restaurant that was cordoned off, and was not quite as good - not really any hot items, and only two kinds of cereal - cheerios and froot loops. I was hoping for a bit more.

All in all, I don't know if I'd choose it for a vacation destination hotel. But as a sort of conference hotel, it was more than adequate, and for the rate, it couldn't be beat.

  • Liked — Fireplaces, restaurant, views
  • Disliked — WiFi, space layout, parking, breakfast
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear Lake
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

Stayed here a couple nights and I wouldn't have minded more. We arrived on a Thurs. and received a very reasonable rate w/ a coupon via the magazines from the rest areas. The front desk was very busy with phone calls and someone wanting to switch their parties rooms all around etc.., so it took awhile to check in, but staff was pleasant and apologetic. We were able to get a room for Thurs. and Fri. directly across from the ocean. We enjoyed our time so much, we would have liked to have spent Sat., but they were booked.

I enjoyed the atmosphere. The balcony and beach across the road were very enjoyable. We took the arm chair out from the room and used it on the balcony.

Even though the hotel was booked and busy, we were never bothered by any noise.

The room was a little on the small side, but clean and comfortable.

I like that we were away from 'the big city', but close to everything. There's a ferry to the wharf at downtown Boston at the end of the peninsula in Hull. We drove a lot of little streets in Hull, 'cause it was such an interesting, 'charming' place. We spent one day driving south to Plymouth.

Parking was a little iffy. We found parking directly across from the hotel a couple times and had to use the overflow once, which was quite a hike to our room. The halls to our room were a little like a maze to get through, but that was ok. (Part of the charm of an older place, I guess). Breakfast was a little on the skimpy side and was in a small area, so crowded that we didn't have seats. The attendant was on top of things.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay and I surely wouldn't mind staying there again...

  • Liked — Location, beach, view, central proximity to sites, accomodating staff.
  • Disliked — Iffy parking and breakfast
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nantasket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nantasket Beach Resort

Address: 45 Hull Shore Drive, Hull, MA 02045 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Nantasket Beach)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nantasket Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Nantasket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nantasket Beach Hotel Hull
Clarion Nantasket Beach
Clarion Hull
Clarion Hotel Hull Ma
Hull Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nantasket Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.