We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so great” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nantasket Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Nantasket Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nantasket Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Hull Shore Drive, Hull, MA 02045 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Nantasket Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Hull
Cat Lady in NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not so great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2007

The picture online was, of course, beautiful. Sadly, it was kind of plain when we arrived. Actually, we drove right past it due to poor lighting.

There is no parking on site, either across the street or around the corner.

The room was ok, very small, but it had a gas fireplace which did heat the room. The wall heater was VERY noisey so we used the fireplace. The pillows where tiny lumpy bumpy, the bed kind of hard, and the decor was sort of drab.

We did ask for and receive an upgrade for an ocean view for $20.00 more, but along with that came all the road noise, as the hotel is directly on the street, no setback.

Yes, they offered a continental breakfast, but we chose to eat later, and for five small danishes that were free an hour ago, we were charged $5.00. We only asked for one, but they brought a dish of them. Thinking how nice they gave us a choice, we were shocked when we were charged &15.00 for a small cup of soup, two coffees and the danish.

When we said something to the front desk, their answer was, that isn't part of the hotel, yet they where located IN the hotel!!

I know we went on off season, but it was REALLY off. Not a thing was open, so off to Boston we went. Getting to and from the hotel was terrible, no signs, hardly any street signs and absolutely no directions to anywhere.

Next time, we will stay IN Boston!!

  • Liked — Fireplace
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    174
    74
    24
    12
See reviews for
117
188
17
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
palm Desert
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2007

We stayed here as a way to see Boston easily and not deal with Boston traffic. It is just a short trip across by ferry into Boston and the ferry dumps right down town. We loved that. Our room was great, except that we asked for a non-smoking room and the room smelled very heavily of cigarette smoke. The staff came and agreed and said that they would treat the room while we were out. When we came back the staff had left our balcony door opened and the treatment did not help. We went to the Yankee candle shop and bought some candles to help the smell and slept with our room door opened to the balcony. Everything else was GREAT. Most establishments that we visited now have a penalty for people who smoke in non-smoking rooms. I think this hotel should have some sort of penalty like this so they can make sure the non-smoking rooms are not ruined by smoke. It was really gross! Everything else was fantastic. The facility was excellent. Staff was great and helpful. Breakfast was okay. We would stay here again. It was just so convenient for our trip to see Boston.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2007

We stayed here for a wedding. The hotel was decent and the rooms were kept up. For the price you may pay, it wasn't all that great. There's not many hotels in the area- this one is worth staying at but you may pay a bit more than you want. The service was ok and you had to pay extra for using the safe which I never ever had to anywhere else. The parking is awful and not convenient and anytime we walked into the lobby area or the conference area, we had to walk through tons of smoke...smoking area is right outside the doors. Also, we had a room that was located on the same floor as one of the wedding/ conference rooms. It was a small area so we could hear all the noise in our room but thankfully that wedding ended before 11p. It's a decent hotel but don't expect too much.

  • Liked — convenience
  • Disliked — Price, parking, service
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft lauderdale
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

We were pleasantly surprised when we checked in that we had been "upgraded" to an oceanview room without even asking. Especially since we had booked the room through hotels.com for a fraction of what the room actually cost! The staff was very friendly and efficient. The room had a window facing the ocean (which is across the street) and also a side window w/balcony allowing us to see all the way up the beach. The room had a fireplace, whirlpool jets in the bathtub, a king bed, desk (internet worked GREAT and was free), a sitting area w/couch and table, a small fridge, and a microwave. There is a restaurant and bar downstairs, a good size gym, a pool, and a spa (which we didn't have a chance to check out). The free continental breakfast was a sugar overload, but they were bringing fresh fruit in as we were heading out. We didn't have a chance to check out the food in the restaurant because we were dining with friends and relatives in neighboring towns, but the last night we went to Jackson's down the street which was excellent!! Main lobster and steamed clams (yum!!!)

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — a/conditioner was a bit noisy at times
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2007

My wife and I went to see a concert at the South Shore Music Circus and I asked some friends what would be a good hotel to stay at that was kinda close to the Music Circus and they recommended the Clarion Hotel Nantasket Beach.

When we finally got to the hotel, it was confusing on where you need to park your car. There is a garage, but that is for the condos that are attached to the hotel. I parked my car at the main entrance and went in to check in with the desk clerk.

The lobby of the hotel is very small, but it is very clean. The front desk was another story. Upon looking at it, there was clutter everywhere behind the desk and not in a good order. I know it would drive me up a wall if I had to get stuff from off the ground. They should invest in some shelves or some filing cabinets. Upon reaching the desk and checking in, halfway through the check in, the entire hotel had a blackout. The lady behind the desk smiled and said "that happens sometimes in the summer"

My wife and I were given a room key for room 226. Upon entering the room, it was very clean and comfy. The room even had a fireplace, which was a real surprise to us. The only thing that it lacked was closet space to put your things away, as in there is NO CLOSET! There was a rack to put your clothes on.
The bed was very soft and the sheets were fresh and clean.

The bathroom was very spacious and was very clean. The only problem I had is you had to hold the handle down when you flushed the toilet.

In the morning they do have a continential breakfast of muffins, pastry, coffee, tea, cereal, and milk. Now remember this is FREE breakfast, if you are expecting something amazing; you are not going to get it here. If you want something else, there is a Dunkin Donuts down the road or try Sam's Restaurant in the Business District. They have really good food and its pretty cheap too.

In short I will definately stay here again. It is clean and well worth the money. I think next time I will spend some extra money and get a room with an ocean view

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2007

We stayed at the Clarion in Hull while visiting family in Cohasset July 8-10. Got a good rate on quickbook.com. Room was fine, with an ocean view we didn't expect. Parking wasn't ideal. Their lot was full, so we had to drop the luggage and park a block away in the overflow lot. But otherwise, good location, can walk everywhere. Beach is across the street. (Beaches in Scituate were MUCH better), but this beach is a HUGE public beach so alot of people come on the weekends. Watch out fo the traffic from boston on a Friday. Overall, a good place to stay for a couple days. Probably the nicest place in Hull.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Spings, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2007

My family and I spent the 4th of July holiday at this beautiful oceanfront resort. The location made our trips into Boston easy, and the hotel is right on the beach, has a great pool and plenty to do in the area.

Perfect spot to spend the 4th of July! Clean rooms, great view, nice staff.

  • Liked — Proximity to Boston
  • Disliked — Hardly any cell phone reception
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nantasket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nantasket Beach Resort

Address: 45 Hull Shore Drive, Hull, MA 02045 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Nantasket Beach)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nantasket Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your Nantasket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nantasket Beach Hotel Hull
Clarion Nantasket Beach
Clarion Hull
Clarion Hotel Hull Ma
Hull Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nantasket Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.