We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wong Dynasty Chinese Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Wong Dynasty Chinese Restaurant
176 Reservoir St, Holden, MA 01520
(508) 829-2188
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 25 Restaurants in Holden
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Rutland, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great local place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great sushi and excellent Mai Tai's. Chinese menu is extensive. It's our go-to family place. The larger dining room can seem a bit "cold" prefer sitting in the bar area or the front of the house.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    10
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

I go here often!! Friendly staff and awesome Chinese food. Bartenders are cool and make great drinks! Friday nights always karaoke. Saturday nights always a band or comedian. Always a good time at the Wong! Function room too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, MA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Renovated, food consistently good. I have not tried the sushi so I can't evaluate that. Service friendly and attentive.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden Center, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“favorite take out place in Holden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Wong is back after a long hiatus and better than ever. Their teriyaki beef is tender and delicious. Our daughter loves their sushi and I like mermaid shrimp. Takeout orders processed quickly and quality is consistent. Live entertainment on weekends.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“poor quality food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Seven of us ate at the Wong Dynasty; we ordered three different main dishes (2 chicken, 1 shrimp). All three came with the same gloppy sweet sauce, the same decorative broccoli, etc. One of the chicken dishes had some hot pepper flakes added for variety. The worst part of this meal was something at least three of us experienced later that night/early morning: intense and painful allergic reaction to what must have been loads of MSG used. None of us ate very much in terms of portions, so it wasn't that we'd overindulged. I have not had a headache like that for decades. It was distressing. I may drink at their bar, but I will not eat at the Wong again. Ever. I will not recommend this restaurant to friends/family, either.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wong Dynasty Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Wong Dynasty Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wong Dynasty Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.