We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peel Pizza Company

Peel Pizza Company
73 South Street, Hingham, MA 02043
+1 781-740-2775
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 65 Restaurants in Hingham
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
Description: Gourmet pizzeria serving rustic, neapolitan pizzas, calzones, fresh salads, homemade lasagnas and skillet baked chicken wings. Also seving a wide selection of craft beer and wines.
Restaurant details
Description: Gourmet pizzeria serving rustic, neapolitan pizzas, calzones, fresh salads, homemade lasagnas and skillet baked chicken wings. Also seving a wide selection of craft beer and wines.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

Great slices! Wide variety of different kinds of pizza. Always friendly when I come in. Ceasar Chicken salad is fantastic too! Always pleasure to give them my business!

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Little Spot of Goodness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

Daughter lives two towns away and wanted to treat her visiting parents to pizza--and had just the spot in mind--Peel Pizza Company.

It's been located for nearly two years in a nifty and restored building that houses the offices of The Hingham Journal above a former pizza shop. From what I could gather, things are going well here, with nearly 40 signature pizzas. Daughter requested chorizo and basil--a four-alarm fire treat, for sure. Whew!

By the way, Peel derives its name from a paddle-like tool used for centuries in the culinary world.

If I can make one small suggestion, it would be this: place napkin holders at each of the tables. I kept jumping up from our table to get more.

  • Visited January 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Stumbled upon this place before heading to the movies. I have to say the staff was just the nicest! We just had pizza and beer - slices were huge and the special ( blue cheese, carmelized onion, red pepper) was amazing. Very limited menu - pizza, calzone, lasagna - oh and beer- that's it. But it def does the trick if that's what you want.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Higher end pizza option for the South Shore.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Tried it on a couple of occasions and was very good both times. A little pricier than the usual mom-and-pop places or your chains but still relatively inexpensive family meal. Thin crust, good quality ingredients and sauce, and the don't overdo the cheese, which we always appreciate.

Have only tried the pizza and can't speak to any other options on the menu.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“NOT GONE...and awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Not sure why Peter said this was gone. Found this place on July 18th and it was very open...and producing very good pizza. I had a white pizza with prosciutto, caramelized onions, and basil. Fantastic! Originally from NY, I have a pretty high bar for pizza - I think this was one of the best I had! (that actually covers several trips to Italy as well). The five stars is for the quality of the pizza...do not confuse it with my low expectations of a sit-down five star restaurant (been to those too).

It is a pizza joint - dont expect lavish accommodations, but don't hesitate to check them out. My large pie was $22 - I did not think it was that outrageous. Others who felt it is way too expensive should just stick to pizza hut and dominoes....this is not for you.

I tripped across this place as I drove from Boston to Cape Cod and asked navigation to find me a pizza place...no regrets and will make this a more regular stop!

Well done gentlemen!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peel Pizza Company also viewed

 

Been to Peel Pizza Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peel Pizza Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.