We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“End of the World Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of World's End

World's End
Martins Lane, Hingham, MA 02043
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Attractions in Hingham
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rolling hills and rocky shorelines offer sweeping views of the Boston skyline, while tree-lined carriage paths designed by famed landscape architect Frederick Law Olmsted make delightful walking trails.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“End of the World Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

It's unique location in Hingham offers spectacular views of the surrounding areas. Trails are clearly marked and the attendants are very friendly.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    21
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
boston
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful views just south of Boston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

A beautiful park with miles of hiking trails. Views of Boston Harbor with well maintained paths. Allow at least an hour or two to soak up the scenery .. One of my favorite hiking locations!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“What views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

On a recent visit to the south shore of Boston, I had intended to visit the Wompatuck State Park for a hike, but friends from the area guided me here instead and I'm so glad they did! This area is on the coast and part of the Trustees of Reservations, a Massachusetts organization dedicated to preservation of land areas.

I started out on my walk after being advised on a route and given a map by the attendant on duty. The trails are well maintained and very safe inasmuch there is only one way in or out though the front gate. The views from certain areas give a beautiful skyline of downtown Boston (now I know why so many friends take the commuter boat) and the sailboats all along the shore are so pretty. It's not a terribly long walk if you're used to going over 4-5 miles,but it sure is nice. Not too many hills or difficult terrain, but a nice way to spend a couple of hours!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“little paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

a special promontory with great views of hingham harbor, hull, the boston skyline.
well kept, lovely for dogs

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, MA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“I kept expecting to bump into Jane Austen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

If you're looking for something different to do and want to get out and enjoy the beauty of Autumn this place will make you happy. I promise. Within moments of starting down the main trail you are greeted with beautiful views of ocean, bog and woodland. World's End is a superb spot that offers you any type of vista you could ask for. Meander along carriage paths lined in trees, rest in a meadow that overlooks the ocean and affords a prospect of the distant city or simply sit on a bench and contemplate how a piece of land this beautiful is still able to exist for the public. Next time we're bringing a picnic and spending the afternoon.
Words can't do this justice, check out everyone's photos.
The paths are meticulously maintained and it's an easy walk for even the most casual 'hiker'. Mostly flat or slight inclines. Definitely plan to spend a couple of hours here. You could easily walk the trails in under an hour but you end up stopping so often to 'take it all in' that you find a couple hours have gone by relatively quickly.
I would suggest getting there earlier in the day. By the time we pulled out of the lot at 1:30 there were multiple cars waiting to get in. The price tag of $6 seems more than fair given the beauty of the location and while I've seen some reviews complaining about this, by the time I left I felt like I would have been happy to pay more just to ensure its preservation.
If you have kids (we don't) this is a great spot for families. We saw many families with children of all ages who all seemed to be enjoying their nature walk. If you don't have kids, no worries about being surrounded...while you do see others along your walk, you are often alone as there are several different trails to follow.
Maybe next time...I'll run across Mr. Darcy.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed World's End also viewed

 

Been to World's End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage World's End, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.