We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised by this hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Lowell Avenue, Haverhill, MA 01832   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Haverhill
GreenLeadersBronze level
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised by this hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Was here for two weeks on business. The room was very spacious and clean. Great hot breakfast in the mornings. Indoor pool and gym. Grocery store across the street and drugstore next door. Only bad thing was we discovered a small amount of money we left out one day was missing when we returned that night. Use the safe or take valuables with you.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear recent Guest,

Thanks for providing your feedback about your stay! My apologies for not responding to you soon as I have recently joined the team at Best Western Merrimack Valley! We are located right off the highway on 495 and an excellent location being close to restaurants, shopping, and a food market. I would like to discuss your findings in your room and please do not hesitate to contact me directly at dana@bwmerrimackvalley.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    72
    39
    24
    22
See reviews for
91
43
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Not really sure where the "plus" part of this hotel came in. For the pros....the room was clean and the staff was polite and courteous. The cons.... the refrigerator made a loud clicking sound the entire time and the room had very limited hot water. Also the breakfast hours end at 9:30 which we found rather inconvenient. In other words there is nothing majorly wrong with this hotel and its perfectly fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Tim,

Thanks for your feedback! We recently became a PLUS within the Best Western Family and are excited with some of the changes which we will be doing over the next months. I am happy to see the overall stay was good and I assure you our staff want to make sure you are happy whenever you visit. I will be looking at our breakfast hours as we have times which vary from weekday to weekend but surely our weekend hours are until 10:30. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly dana@bwmerrimackvalley.com should you have any comments or concerns. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

My family recently stayed here over night for a cheer competition the next day in close proximity. Booked the room through priceline and had no problems at check in. The room was surprisingly larger than expected and very clean. The beds were incredibly comfortable. The complimentary continental breakfast the next morning was great with a large variety from eggs, bacon and waffles to cereal, bagels,muffins fruit, toast and yogurt. Orange juice, apple juice, milk, tea and coffee to drink. The one sore spot was the key card wasn't working at first at the room. I called the desk and was told someone would come down but nobody came. In the mean time I got the card to work. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I booked through Priceline and was treated like a second class citizen. The lady on the front desk was uncaring from the time we arrived until the conclusion of our stay 2 days later. Because my friend and I required 2 beds, there was a $15 upgrade fee charged per night. I might have understood that if it meant the room was cleaned ... but it was not! I could not believe my eyes when we returned to the room that evening - beds not made, . After calling the front desk, we were accused of putting the card on the door (which we did not). The sink in the bathroom did not drain properly. The continental breakfast was ok but that was the only positive I would give this hotel. I'll never pick a 2.5* in this area again, for fear of getting this location.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Haverhill hotels

New York, New York, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Got into this via priceline bidding, was a decent hotel to stay in at a decent price. Rooms were comfy and good, breakfast was ok. Staff was OK too. Close to shopping district like Marshalls, Burlington etc (did not shop though), CVS etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

I had a very good time in this select best western. I have no complaints other than I asked for a roll away bed, instead I ended up sleeping with my friend in the same bed. Right place right price, okay- service.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMV, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit and for providing your feedback. We’re glad that you enjoyed your time with us and for your recommendation. We are sorry that you did not receive the rollaway bed you requested. I have followed up with the staff to ensure that in the future, requests are followed up on so this does not happen again! We hope you will stay with us again the next time you travel through the Haverhill, MA area.

Sincerely,
Steve Kerrigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had stayed at this Best Western a few times before and went back again a week ago. The room and bed was very clean and comfortable, my daughter enjoyed the pool every night and the morning breakfast got our day off to a great start. We come to visit family and find this hotel very convient and the help always friendly and polite. I would go again without hesitation. We spent alot of time traveling to Maine and the Seacoast of NH from there and it was a quick trip only about a half an hour.

Room Tip: We always try to stay near the lobby and the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMV, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks so much for your great recommendation of our hotel! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with our amenities like our pool and breakfast, and experienced friendly service from our staff. That is our highest priority and glad to hear your feedback reflected that. Thanks for being such a loyal guest with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Steve Kerrigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley

Address: 401 Lowell Avenue, Haverhill, MA 01832
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Haverhill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Haverhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Haverhill, MA has recently been awarded the Best Western Worldwide Chairman's Award in November 2012 for its outstanding achievements in customer satisfaction and quality assurance. We offer a full hot complimentary breakfast, wireless internet throughout the building, as well as ample parking. We are situated right off of Interstate 495 Exit 49 which is very convenient for traveling throughout New England. We love having you stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Merrimack Valley Hotel Haverhill
Best Western Hotel Haverhill
Best Western Haverhill
Haverhill Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.