We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smell” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Merrimack Valley

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Merrimack Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Merrimack Valley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Lowell Avenue, Haverhill, MA 01832   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Haverhill
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Smell”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

By reading past reviews, I can only assume that people are reviewing two different places. We stayed at The Best Western Plus Merrimack Valley last month, and as we were travelling with a dog, made advance reservations. Now dogs and their travelling companions seem to be put in the "D" block at the back. The hallway smelled, the pillows smelled, and there was a lot of unattractive activity from what seems to be more or less permanent residents. My husband encountered what he thought was a drug deal in the parking lot when he was giving the dog her good-night walk. The security staff were kept busy cleaning up intentional messes near the back entrance. On the up side, the staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. Maybe there should be a warning that, if you're travelling with a pet, do NOT stay here.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the D block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMV, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Merrimack Valley, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Dear Guest,

We are glad to be one of only pet-friendly hotels in our immediate area. We have certain rooms specifically designated for guests with pets which many travelers find helpful in not having to leave their pets behind. I’m glad you found the staff extremely pleasant and helpful. They are always willing to help you out with anything during your stay. Did you contact them about your concerns? If not, please email me so I can help out with anything unresolved – steve@bwmerrimackvalley.com. We also offer night security watch for our guests’ safety that will respond to any reported disturbance or concern. Please contact them or the front desk with any questions. I can assure you of our constant striving for improvement and offering convenient amenities to our guests at a competitive rate.

Sincerely,
Steve Kerrigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    55
    31
    18
    18
See reviews for
74
32
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

This was the 2nd night to our (my son and I) trip. He is 15 and does not mention the amenities much although when we checked in on Saturday night he was impressed with the room and how clean it was. The hallways were clean and the rooms smelled fresh. The windows open which is nice (room 216). Check out time is at 12, which is nice compared to the 11 at most hotels. I have stayed at several best westerns in the area, and I would stay in here over most even though the drive is longer to the places I need to go. Breakfast is good, the rooms is a little small for the amount of people that were there, but for a free amenity it is nice. I would suggest getting some flavored cream for the coffee most other hotels offer it. We went to the pool at 9:30PM on Saturday night and there were 4 kids in the pool screaming and yelling and jumping in and out of pool and splashing, I got in and quickly got out, decided to go to the hot tub, there was a single girl in there (about 17 maybe) blasting her ipod and talking on phone, I am assuming she was the supervision for the kids! (NOT) There was a employee in the pool area doing the water test although he seemed to be oblivious to everything going on around him. My son and I stayed 10 minutes and went back to our room. We stayed at another Best Western in the area and from 9-10 (or 11) it was adults only in the pool area this is a wonderful idea.

Hanna has been there all 3 times I have stayed and is a wonderful and kind associate. About 1 hour after we checked in she called to see if everything was ok and if we needed anything, although we were not there she did leave a message which was a nice touch. We had a great night staying here and my son has informed me when we come to the area again this is where we should stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMV, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Merrimack Valley, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Dear wuggie774,

I greatly appreciate your feedback on your recent stay with us. I’m glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay and that your family wants to return! You have a couple of valuable suggestions for our hotel and I appreciate this. We are always striving to give our guests the best experience possible. Thanks again for staying with us and for letting us know about it here. We hope we have the pleasure of hosting you and your family again soon.

Take care,

Steve Kerrigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is list as a Best Western Plus hotel, I have no idea why it is. The hotel's condition is average.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penfield, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

our single room had all the things we needed and more. It was very clean, smelled good, pretty, and great bed. second floor w/o elevator. But stairs easy to climb. ANd GREAT rate.
Typical breakfast served in a large rrom set apart for this not squashed in some where. Opened at 6 AM.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMV, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Merrimack Valley, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Dear Michaelfox1964,

So glad to hear you felt our hotel was the best place you stayed during your vacation! Your feedback means a lot and we are very happy to hear your stay was so enjoyable. We appreciate you telling us about it here and hope you will share this experience with your friends as well. Thanks again and we hope you will be able to stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,
Steve Kerrigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loveslakes
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Room was two queens with fridge/microwave and adequate for our needs. we were on ground floor front (interior access) and could hear the people walking around upstairs and kids playing on back lawn which was large. Breakfast was adequate but with such a large hotel it was very crowded and ran out of things or had back-ups at the toaster and wafflemaker. Seating was virtually all round tables of two some of which were in the hall. Someone brought their dog to breakfast but at least stayed in the hall. Nothing memorable but adequate. Hallways are dark and un-airconditioned, although carpeting and treatments look fairly new, hotel styling is dated.

Room Tip: Rear facing rooms may be quieter front faces parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMV, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Merrimack Valley, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Dear PembrokeMaine,

I greatly appreciate your feedback here on our TripAdvisor page. We are glad to be a large enough hotel to host so many great guests at once in our town. Since our breakfast is free, it certainly is a popular amenity for our hotel. We hope you will stay with us again and we will try and put you on a higher floor, or in a different section of the hotel. If you would like to discuss any further feedback, feel free to email me at steve@bwmerrimackvalley.com. Thanks again for giving us feedback and hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
Steve Kerrigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitman, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

While travelling in New England visting relatives, my sister and I needed a nice, but reasonably priced, hotel in the northern suburbs of Boston for a one-night stay. I didn't spend much time searching online, just needed something on short notice. I booked a double queen room, including breakfast, for $119. The room was clean, roomy and nicely decorated and the bathroom was updated. The beds were comfortable, with good quality linens and decent pillows. Also, despite the fact that the hotel seemed to be pretty full and there were a lot of families with children, the room was very quiet, apparently well sound-proofed. The complimentary breakfast was typical of chain hotels - bagels, muffins, toast, waffles (waffle machine), cereal, fruit. Not great, but enough to get you going for the day. When going through the same area on our way home a few days later, we decided to stay here again rather than take a chance on a different hotel. They didn't have any rooms with two beds available, so we took a king room, but it was actually even nicer that that the double queen room. We didn't have time to check out the pool or hot tub. I would stay here again and recommend it to others as a good choice for a stopover.

Room Tip: There was construction going on across the road from the hotel. Sections B abnd D are toward the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMV, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Merrimack Valley, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Dear pinetree817,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at out hotel and that you had such a great experience. Receiving feedback from our guests is always welcome and we’re very glad to receive a review like yours. We are happy that you have stayed with us multiple times and look forward to seeing you again soon! We hope on your next stay you will stay for a couple nights so you can experience the pool and other amenities we offer. Have a great summer!

Sincerely,

Steve Kerrigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Nice, very clean hotel located near shopping and dining and only about a 5-10 minute drive to downtown Haverhill. The room was adequate and contained a window that could be opened which was nice. It appeared that some rooms had balconies. Another nice feature was the free in room internet. The breakfast was so-so. The fresh fruit looked like it came from a can and there was only kid’s style yogurt available. The majority of the breakfast spread focused largely on starchy foods. I didn't have the opportunity to try the workout room or pool; however they both looked clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMV, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Merrimack Valley, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Dear Guest,
We are very grateful for your review and glad you had such an enjoyable stay at our property. Our location makes us a great hotel for your business trips. We look forward to having you again and greatly appreciate your feedback.

Sincerely,

Steve Kerrigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Merrimack Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Merrimack Valley

Address: 401 Lowell Avenue, Haverhill, MA 01832
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Haverhill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Haverhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Merrimack Valley 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Haverhill, MA has recently been awarded the Best Western Worldwide Chairman's Award in November 2012 for its outstanding achievements in customer satisfaction and quality assurance. We offer a full hot complimentary breakfast, wireless internet throughout the building, as well as ample parking. We are situated right off of Interstate 495 Exit 49 which is very convenient for traveling throughout New England. We love having you stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Merrimack Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Merrimack Valley Hotel Haverhill
Best Western Hotel Haverhill
Best Western Haverhill
Haverhill Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Merrimack Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.