We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ACCOLADES GO OUT TO A WONDERFUL RESTAURANT IN HAVERHILL!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roma Restaurant

Roma Restaurant
29 Middlesex St, Haverhill, MA 01835-7488
978-374-8001
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 139 Restaurants in Haverhill
Cuisines: American, Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
maine
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“ACCOLADES GO OUT TO A WONDERFUL RESTAURANT IN HAVERHILL!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We had a wonderful dinner at the Roma yesterday. From the crisp fresh salad to the main course it was one of the best meals we have had . A very established restaurant that I frequented with my parents as a a young child 70 years ago. They really know what they are doing ! Try the baked Haddock. Donato

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    6
    7
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Yuck”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011 via mobile

Terrible food, worst than dorm food in college. Not true Italian, but overcooked American Italian food. Wouldn't recommend.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Such a Deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The Roma is a very traditional New England style restaurant trying to survive in a crazy economy. During the summer they offer their entire menu for $9.99 from Monday to Thursday. Two weeks ago our destination was The Roma. Atmosphere is typical New England and with a window view of the river outside. Lovely.
I had their fried clams which were market priced at $27.99 - but only $9.99. They were small an delicious. Did I feel as though I had a luncheon size, yes, but who cares? For $9.99 I had more than I could eat with french fries and a house salad. My friend had the filet mignon - again luncheon size. She was a little disappointed as it was presented as though we were at a big wedding.. sort of blah...
Both of us loved getting out of there for under $20 with drinks.
Definitely will go back to try it again.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“GONE DOWNHILL”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Been to this place once before few months back, and it was soso back then. This time around, my Fiancee & I went there with some friends. Our waitress was Donna. She seemed nice and attentive enough until 2 of us complained about food NOT being cooked enough/served cold. Also, a seafood combo plate, I asked to have the clams subbed with either more haddock or scallops, they ended up putting several ONION RINGS in place of the clams, NOT GOOD! Overall, we were all VERY dissapointed in the service and food, and the bill was still almost $100 after we complained :( Our waitress Donna gave NO apologies for the problems.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food was good, service was deplorable”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

A week ago my youngest son wanted to take his mother out for mother’s day eve supper. We had heard good things about the Roma and had not been there in years. We called ahead for a reservation for 6:30PM. Upon arriving we were met at the counter by an angry older lady. When we told her about the reservation, she walked away she said “like that’s going to happen” under her breath.

Fifty-five minutes later we were seated after eight other walk-ins had been seated in front of us (our party was five people). The wait staff appeared to be over worked and confused. We placed our order for drinks only to be talked down to because of a mix-up between two servers. Our salads arrived (35 minutes later) and could not get the sever to bring the dressing for another 10 minutes. Three of us were done eating before the other two meals arrive. It took us three hours for a meal that should have been an hour and a half tops.

Could not believe what was happening, and when I spoke with a male, who appeared to be a manager, he replied with little to no explanation for the service and had a less then caring attitude about the poor service.

I would not recommend or revisit this restaurant!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roma Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Roma Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roma Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.