We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food was nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peddlers Daughter

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Peddlers Daughter
45 Wingate St, Haverhill, MA 01832
(978) 372-9555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 138 Restaurants in Haverhill
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“food was nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The pros: service was friendly with perfect timing for our lunch. No real cons, just wasn't exceptional in any way. I ordered the beef stew and it was okay but nothing special. My co-worker ordered the wedge salad with chicken, which she enjoyed. It was lunch so we didnt' order alcohol (no Guinness for us!) and the place was kind of cold (we needed our jackets).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    16
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Andover
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Serious Guinness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

If you long for the days when Fish & Chips came in newspaper, you will continue to do so, but the fish and chips are good anyway, properly served with malt vinegar, and homemade ketchup for the chips. I don't even like ketchup- this is what happens when ketchup and salsa have a tryst, and nobody gets hurt. Good sausage rolls, soda bread, burgers... Add to it the best pint of Guinness around (sorry Palmer's, but it's true), and the occasional waitress who sounds like a backup singer for the Cranberries, and you will be happy. Get's a little crowded at times, but if you don't like that, there are plenty of other bars within stumbling distance.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed every time we've gone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We've been about 4-5 times over the past 2 years and each time have really enjoyed the atmosphere - it was never super rowdy like some have mentioned in the past but just comfortable and warm. Even on Halloween a few years ago it was like having dinner with friends. I really like it in the fall-winter, on a raw day when the potato-leek soup hits the spot. Looks like they have a patio area which we may have to try for the summer. Everything we've eaten has been really good - hamburgers, corned beef, salads. Also, well-poured Guiness, fun drinks, and the staff have always been nice. We went on a rainy Sunday a week ago and the wait person we had was exceptional. After a bad experience with food, personnel and attitude at another local restaurant, this felt like a treat!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westborough
1 review
“GREAT PLACE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Great place nobody cares about anything else lwqporjijca]kc;aaoscmpopppppspwpxpxp ppp ppaq[o[[p[d[qwk[

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Decent Irish pub food. Awesome ketchup and tartar sauce”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Get the fish and chips, which come wrapped in a big newspaper. The ketchup/relish is incredible as well, and homemade. I would give this 3.5 stars, but since TA forces you to put 3 or 4 I went 4 since it is exactly what it tries to be. Don't go for a nice dinner our, but if you're looking for some down-to-earth grub, it's a decent place.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peddlers Daughter also viewed

 

Been to Peddlers Daughter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peddlers Daughter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.