We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO Comfy and Clean!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Mill Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Mill Inn to your Saves list
The Old Mill Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   87 School Street, Hatfield, MA 01038   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hatfield B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“SO Comfy and Clean!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

I was only there one short night and in town for work, so I did not get to fully enjoy the exceptionally comfortable or beautiful spot. The bed was so amazing, I did not want to get up. Also, the room had the cleanest bathroom I have ever seen! Seriously, you could do surgery in there. I travel for work a lot and stay in a variety of locations and this was a spot I hope I can return to when not working.

Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Virginia, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

We went for a family reunion so had several members at this hotel. Although in the middle of a suburban residential area, the hotel is suficiently isolated to feel like a bucolic country inn miles from anywhere. The hotel is surprisingly larger than the photos would seem to indicate, with plenty of rooms for us to choose when making reservations; all seemed very attractive in the photos, and that impression was borne out in reality. Our room ovelooked the river just leading to the weir and waterfall, and providing an excellent soothing ambience of flowing water. The room was bright and well appointed, and very comfortable - especially the bed which was superb. The location is ideal for visiting this area. We had an event in the Springfield area, which was a tad far but with such easy access to Rt 91, no problem. But we spent several evenings in the town of Northhampton, apparently the nexus of several colleges in that area, so the very pleasant weekend evenings drew hordes of young people to the restaurants and clubs downtown. However, despite the crowds, it was a very convivial atmosphere, and very family friendly as well. It may have been a Parents' weekend, as we saw lots of kids with parents, and all seemed on best behaviour; moreover, the superb late 19th/early 20th Century architecture and well preserved (and VERY intersesting) buildings made walking around in downtown a special treat. Getting back to the hotel was only a 10 or 15 minute ride, so very convenient, yet far enough away from town to preserve the country feel of the Inn.
The hotel owners could not have been more friendly or helpful. George seemed to know exactly when to be there to help, and when to leave us to our own devices, and allowed us to feel very comfortable staying and talking among ourselves long after everyone else had finished breakfast and left the dining room. No pressure for us to leave, which made it that much nicer. We found breakfasts delicious,and very unique. My only suggestion would be to have individual courses come out a bit faster, and/or let everyone know what the entire breakfast will be: on our first day,they brought out some really delicious scones for each diner towards the end of the breakfast, which was an unexpected pleasure, but I noticed that several fellow guests had already left apparently thinking the breakfast was finished. And when we first asked for milk/cream for our coffee, our pitcher had only very little in it and had to be replenished several times; I understand the desire not to waste any, and they did quickly learn that we take our coffee "au lait" and brought fuller pitchers the next time. I especially liked their little touch of having old (VERY old) Life magazines in each room, and in the lounge area. Very nostalgic, and a kick to see how much magazines (especially ads) have changed over the last 60-75 years! And finally,I very much appreciated George's willingness to help with our Gift Cards - we had not realized the need to inform him of our cards on making reservations, so he had to make some calls to get everything arranged. He pointed out this requirement without ever making us feel we had done anything wrong, or that we were in any way burdensome - just for our future reference.
My only complaint was that the Fall foliage was only in partial bloom even in late September, but that is hardly under the control of the hotel! This is a great place to stay for visiting this area, and if we had kids in any of the local universities, we would make this a recurring stay! It would also be a great place to stop if driving from New York area or DC to Montreal or Quebec - about halfway and a very comfortable way station!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, NJ
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

I'm having a hard time with this review. This is an old mill on the Mill River that has been converted into a charming B&B. The staff are really very friendly and caring and the art and décor are done to make the place unique and inviting. Breakfasts were very good. Location makes this place desirable as a destination for relaxation and proximity to Northampton gives you a lot of variety for restaurants and night life. We stayed in the Newport Room overlooking the waterfall which was recently updated with a king four poster canopy bed and matching night tables. Very nice. And now comes the hard part of this review. During the night, while walking across a dark room, we were very aware that the floor had a noticeable unevenness and next day, we checked out the side of the building and saw a very distinct sag in the building where our room was located which was a bit unnerving. I guess this is okay otherwise I would expect this part of the building would have been determined to be unusable. Breakfast was limited to only one hot item (which was very good) with no alternative choices offered, but when we asked for an order of scrambled eggs for one in our party, George, the owner, was happy to oblige. Variety of other items for breakfast was a bit limited like for instance only two juice choices, no choice of fruit aside from the fruit salad served, no muffins, and decaf coffee by request only. Bathroom in our room was small with no counter space for toothbrushes, etc. No room darkening or privacy curtains on any windows either, including bathroom, and we feel our privacy is important. We've stayed in many, many B&B's, Hotels and Guest Houses over the years of our travels, and know what we like, and so we offer our opinion here, which likely won't matter to anyone else but those like us. I would recommend a stay here if you're in the area or are planning a visit to the area, and do try Northampton for restaurants and night life/bar scene.

Room Tip: Rooms with waterfall view or overlooking the river are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgInnkeeper, Owner at The Old Mill Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you for your review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay! It was certainly a pleasure to hosting you and your family for your get-together, and we enjoyed our pleasant conversations with you at breakfast time. We wish you might have used that opportunity to share any concerns about our building with us while you were here so we could provide additional information that might have assuaged any doubts about the structural integrity of the Mill. This post and beam building was built in 1881, anchored into glacial rock – you cannot find a more stable foundation. Due to the nature of post and beam construction, all such buildings will shift slightly over time. We had a professional inspection before we purchased the mill (2013) by an expert in this type of construction. When we took over the business, our local building inspector performed a thorough review of the entire premises and found it exceptionally sound. In addition to this, we have a yearly plan for maintenance that involves things such inspecting the rock foundation and repointing if necessary, replacing or reinforcing any aging structures, siding and other maintenance. It is all part and parcel of maintaining any historic structure. At this moment we are painstakingly restoring the original cupola, complete with period weathervane. This and all other work is done by a very experienced contractor specializing in post and beam, who has worked on this building in particular since the 1970s and is familiar with it from top to bottom, inside and out. The “sag” you mention is warping in the siding due to moisture from the waterfall, and purely cosmetic. We address siding and painting as we move around the building in an annual maintenance schedule. If this does not provide reassurance, know that we not only own and manage the building, but we live in the bottom floor and certainly would not raise our young children in an unsafe building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014 via mobile

The most comfortable bed, it was like sleeping on a cloud. We had the spectacular Waterfall Room and loved it. The Inn has a picturesque setting in a historic area. Lovely rural roads with farm stands abound. The lack of a 5th star was the breakfast. Disappointing with the exception of the fresh fruit salad. Baked eggs all on its lonesome was a bit sad.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgInnkeeper, Owner at The Old Mill Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you very much for your review! We pride ourselves on our breakfasts, and apologize that the mushroom onion quiche served that morning was not to your liking. We always serve freshly baked scones and fruit salad as part of the breakfast in addition to the selection of cereals, yogurt and juices at our breakfast bar, and hope that everyone can find something they might enjoy. We are happy to accommodate special requests based on dietary requirements and restrictions. If you are ever out this way again, just let us know what we can do to make sure your breakfast experience is just as great as your overnight stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

We stayed one night here last month and was nothing but satisfied. The place was very clean and cozy. The room(Waterfall Room) was perfect. 3 windows provided plenty of light and views of the waterfall. The waterfall may have been a little loud but I found it relaxing. The owner was very friendly and the morning breakfast was intimate and very good. If I were in the area I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you love the sounds of rushing water, the Waterfall room is great. If not, I would choose anothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgInnkeeper, Owner at The Old Mill Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
The Waterfall Room is one of our guests' favorites, and we are so glad to hear it was just what you were looking for! Yes, the room is aptly named, perched just above the river and falls so when it rains and in the spring you can expect to hear the rushing water below. Thanks for leaving the tip for our future guests. The Newport Room is also above the falls at the same end of the building with quite a spectacular view and also lots of water sounds. We very much appreciate your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford City, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Like other reviewers we were MORE than satisified with our stay. The setting is beautifiul and positively placid. Our host was accommodating, pleasant, and available. Our rooms were wonderfully decorated and very comfortable. But, this was all eclipsed by the incredible breakfasts. They blend culinary mastery, creative presentation, and personalized service. I do not think we could have stayed at a better place! We came to Massachusetts for my youngests graduation from college. My wife and I stayed in the Hatfield Suite and my oldest and her husband stayed in the Lily Pond Room. It was romantic for my daughter and her husband. The kitchenette in our room enabled us to entertain family with friends to enjoy an evening of games, food, and laughter. We truly had one of the best family retreats yet. We plan to return.

Room Tip: All rooms are well decorated, provide beautiful views, and are near the dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgInnkeeper, Manager at The Old Mill Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Creating a great breakfast for our guests every morning is one of our favorite things about running an inn! We are very glad you enjoyed the breakfasts as well as everything else during your stay with us; thank you again for choosing the Old Mill Inn for your family retreat. It was a pleasure to host you and your delightful family, and we enjoyed the great conversations at breakfast. We hope to see you when you are in the area again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Wow! This place exceeded our expectations. Peaceful, beautiful, authentic antiques, incredible natural beauty from the water fall just outside our bedroom window, comfortable dreamy bed. All the conveniences we could ask for.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgInnkeeper, Manager at The Old Mill Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Very pleased that you found everything you were looking for during your stay with us. Thank you for your review, and please stop by again if you are ever in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mill Inn

Address: 87 School Street, Hatfield, MA 01038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Hatfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hatfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Mill Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Mill is a historic building located in the town of Hatfield. Originally a grist mill, the Inn underwent an extensive conversion to a very unique B&B in 2006. We are situated on the Mill River, and our most in-demand rooms overlook the river and our own private waterfall. Our nine rooms and one extended-stay apartment are beautifully appointed with vintage art and antiques, comfortable beds with luxury linens, private baths, hardwood floors, HDTV Cable, free WiFi and personal coffee stations.  We also have an elegant 60-seat banquet facility available for conferences, wedding receptions, family get-togethers and other events.  We also have one fully ADA-accessible room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Old Mill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Mill On The Falls Bed And Breakfast
Old Mill On The Falls Hotel Hatfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Mill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.