We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place, but need to fix a few details” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ember Coal Fired Pizza & Wings

Ember Coal Fired Pizza & Wings
600 Route 28, Harwich Port, Harwich, MA 02646
(508) 430-0407
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 20 Restaurants in Harwich Port
Cuisines: Pizza & Pasta
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun place, but need to fix a few details”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

First thing to know about Ember is it is a coal-fired oven, so your crust will be blackened -- if you don't like that, don't bother. Second, expect to wait -- but if you wait inside you can grab a table near the bar if it opens up. We had house salad & bread sticks as appetizers -- excellent salad & the sauce was tasty. A meatball pizza featured nice, thin slices of meatball that were excellently seasoned & cooked. Two misses though. First, we also tried the goat cheese, blueberry & prosciutto pizza as something different. Could have been good, but the blueberry was all on the outside & the prosciutto all in the center (and laid on too heavily), so only a rare bite had the contrasting sweet & salty/meaty combination that might have made this work. Second, our server, while very friendly, completely forgot our drink refills -- which was really needed with all that salty prosciutto!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    72
    42
    29
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Ember looks great from afar and attracts large group, so I anticipated a long wait, but for just 2 of us, they sat us right away. The service was ok, beer, nachos and pizza were ok, the atmosphere was loud and crowded inside. Nice to try, but I doubt we'll go again.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York, United States
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Rude hostess and burnt pizza”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Hostess is clueless and rude (is a smile out of the question when you are telling someone they are going to be waiting 1:45)? We started talking to another family that came in after us. After about 20 minutes we see the hostess about to see them. The man said they were actually before us. The hostess checked and said Oh they are next (didn't really make any sense considering we were both families of 4). They told us to take the table, 30 minutes and about 3 four person tables being sat they were shown to the table behind us. Obviously this was not a great start and we were hopeful after the garlic buffalo wings came and were pretty good. Unfortunately the pizza was like the hostess, disappointing. A chard crust is one thing burnt is another. Don't waste your money.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great outdoor seating”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

It is really too bad that Embers food is not good. It is a great spot with wonderful outdoor seating and large screen t.v., but please find someone who really knows about making pizza (their biggest seller). Even with sub par food it is usually busy, imagine if the food improved!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Strange Pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We ordered to-go as the Cape Cod crowds at Ember were just too intense and the wait too long. We ordered two kinds of pizza and a lasagna dinner. My teen enjoyed the lasagna, but no one cared for the pizza. The crust was wafer-thin and charred, pizza sauce non-existent, cheese bland and flavorless.

I'd be curious to see if my experience would be any better when the crowds leave Cape Cod.

The service, when I finally got their attention, was fast and got me on my way.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ember Coal Fired Pizza & Wings also viewed

Harwich Port, Harwich
Harwich Port, Harwich
 
Harwich Port, Harwich
Harwich, Cape Cod
 

Been to Ember Coal Fired Pizza & Wings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ember Coal Fired Pizza & Wings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.