We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bonatt's Bakery & Restaurant

Bonatt's Bakery & Restaurant
537 Route 28, Harwich Port, Harwich, MA 02646-1894
508-432-7199
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 20 Restaurants in Harwich Port
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Derry, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

bright and cheery waitress and large choice of food items for breakfast and don't forget to visit the bakery on your way out for some good ies to go

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    39
    27
    14
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Melt-aways for breakfast....yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We tried Bonatt's a few years ago at the urging of a friend. She was right about the delicious food and excellent service. They are famous for a confection called the "melt-away" because these danish are frosted while warm and the icing melts away right into the pastry. They are good, and so are all of the other breakfast choices. Knowing I would order a melt-away, I went with a healthy breakfast of poached eggs on whole grain toast with a fruit cup. The fruit was nice and fresh and the bread was delicious.

The original Bonatt family recently re-purchased this restaurant, so I think we can expect even more good meals!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ship Channel Key-Bahamas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Bonatt's is a good take”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Very good food, whether you are there for breakfast or lunch. Be patient. It is usually busy, which is a good sign.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, New Hampshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family Tradition that Does Not Disappoint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

A few trips to Bonatts each summer has been on my family's to do list forever. It all started with a pastry called a "melt a way". As a teenager I would stand in line outside their little bakery near the Melrose Inn. They expanded and started serving breakfast. When friends and family visit my Mom would take everyone to Bonatts for breakfast. The place has changed hands with the original owner selling several years ago. The new owners fancied up the melt-a-away which was a huge disappointment. The original family has bought the place back and the orginial melt-a-away has returned.
Breakfast here is very good, menu is not as inventive as in year's past, but the quality of the food is super. Kid friendly. Wait staff are pleasant and welcoming, something that is getting rarer and rarer on the Cape. If you go you will not be disappointed, great place to start or continue family traditions.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Annual visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We eat at bonatt's every year on the day we arrive! Excellent food especially the Eggs Benedict! I would eat there more often but I like to try other local fare

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonatt's Bakery & Restaurant also viewed

Harwich Port, Harwich
Harwich Port, Harwich
 

Been to Bonatt's Bakery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonatt's Bakery & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.