We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mooncussers Tavern

Mooncussers Tavern
86 Sisson Road, Harwich Port, Harwich, MA 02664
508-430-1230
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mooncussers Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Harwich Port
Cuisines: American, Tapas, Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Another great visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We've eaten here the past 3 years during our annual vacation. As usual, we were not disappointed. We sat at the bar and Matt the bartender was excellent. He mixes great martinis, offered tastes of wine to help us make selections. They have a very nice selection of wines by the glass. He was very knowledgeable about the menu and ingredients. Owner was very present, working in the dining area and greeting and talking to customers. We ate a tuna special, seared and served with a citrus/ginger salad, excellent. My husband went with the shrimp which has an excellent dipping sauce. I had the pasta with shellfish and ended up taking abit home, good size portion including scallops, very large shrimp, clams and fresh veggies. Husband had salmon which was served over a crab risotto, excellent as well. Sitting at the bar gives you a chance to chat with the bartender as well as the very friendly customers - everyone kind of stares at each others orders and wishes they had gotten that as well! Tapas are not traditional Spanish but a very nice way to get a taste of the menu and be very satisfied. You can certainly do a traditional dinner but the tapas option is a nice change of pace. This will remain one of our go to restaurants for next years trip. Wish I lived closer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    34
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Garden City NY
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Nothing to swear at here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stopped at Mooncussers for a quick dinner at the bar, when we arrived without a reservation in peak season. We liked the sliders and the shrimp in garlic sauce. The cheese plate was very good, with several Chatham cheeses. You have your choice of tapas, or entrees. Good local beer. A solid choice. The bar tender has good advice if asked, as to the size of the portions..

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Terrific eclectic food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Three of us went to Mooncussers Tavern this week and each had a good experience. We shared the pizza appetizer and the mushroom appetizer. Both were delicious. Then we all had the duck infused burger, which was a real treat! They have good beer on tap, like Cisco and Tuckerman's. The band that played was good, but if you want to have a conversation (and still hear the band), sit in the diningroom on the other end of the tavern. We will definitely be heading back to Mooncussers as it is open year round.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Place, we'll be going back.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We first tried Mooncussers a few times right after it opened and while the food was good we didn't care for the tapas menu. We recently tried it again and found an expanded menu with many good entree selections. We chose to eat in the tavern rather than the dinning room. The food was excellently prepared, the service was very good and the atmosphere was relaxed and comfortable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Oh, AMEN.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

A place that truly brings something different and special to this area! While there are only a few "traditional" tapas on the menu, it is inspired with small plates, which is the route we took, rather than entrees. Overall - the food was faaaabulous. I think I could eat the pork belly for breakfast, lunch, or dinner once a day for a week straight!

We had our kids with us (9 and 5) and they could not have been more welcoming to them. Our kids are relatively good eaters for their ages - but it would have been no matter, even without a printed kids menu.

Patrick, the host, and Bridget, our server, were positively lovely. Great wine list...really just a super find. Go!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mooncussers Tavern also viewed

Harwich, Cape Cod
Harwich Port, Harwich
 

Been to Mooncussers Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mooncussers Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.