We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great B&B experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's Quarters Bed and Breakfast Inn

Captain's Quarters Bed and Breakfast Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harwich Port
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Captain's Quarters Bed and Breakfast Inn
Save
You added Captain's Quarters Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
85 Bank St., Harwich Port, Harwich, MA 02646   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Harwich Port B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great B&B experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We visited the cape for Labor Day 2013, for a wedding. We decided to explore beyond the recommended hotel list and we stumbled upon The Captain's Quarters. I did my research and decided that this would be the spot. We couldn't have been more pleased with our decision.

Ed and Susan, the proprietors of the 1850's built home, were amazing. They were personable, helpful, very friendly without being overly controlling and in your hair. Ed and Susan live in the coach house relieving us of the concern of waking them up should we come home late. Ed made great recommendations on where to visit (and where to avoid) on the cape which allowed us to make the most of our time there. One tip - you'll need your own shampoo and conditioner.

Our room was big, had an en suite bath and just the right amenities we needed for a comfortable and relaxing stay (hair dryer, iron, ironing board, wifi, cable). Each suite has it's own key, giving us added security for out belongings. The home has 4 or 5 individual suites, each decorated in quaint and cozy decor. Each morning Ed and Susan prepare a variety of breakfast items and then will make up your room as you are out enjoying the day. The house is situated just blocks from the heart of Harwich Port. Everywhere we wanted to go within Harwich was a short walk away.

By the end of our 4 night stay, we were sad to leave not only the charm of the house but the hospitality of Ed and Susan. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a quiet place to lay their head but also anyone looking to meet some great people who take real pride in running their B&B (ask them about the history of the house...it's pretty cool).

Thanks Ed and Susan for a memorable weekend.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

About 1/2 block from town and 2 from Bank Street beach, we love this place. Big wrap around deck to read on. Rooms vary in size so ask about that. Breakfast is continental and it's pretty to sit on the deck and eat it. Very affordable for a Cape B&B. Only has like 4 rooms so you're never crowded out like some places. It has a time capsule feel and it's just peaceful , classic Cape.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We've come here several years in a row, and have always had a very nice time. The location is fantastic--it's right in Harwich Port so there's plenty to walk to as far as restaurants, stores, and it is very close to the beach. My favorite part of the property is the large wrap around porch which is great for reading, having breakfast on, or a glass of wine at night. The innkeepers are nice and accommodating about arrival and departure times. The breakfast is fairly basic, but good--always pastries/muffins, cereal, fruit, yogurt, plenty of drink options. Most impressive is that the prices are so reasonable for the location particularly considering how expensive the Cape can be for lodging in the summer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston area
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

My adult daughter and I just returned from a stay at the Captain's Quarters. Unfortunately, our stay had to be cut short because of an impending hurricane and my daughter's need to travel home to beat the storm. I cannot say enough about how wonderful and understanding Ed and Susan, the Inn Keepers were. They allowed us a very late check-out and did not penalize us for our departure which was 2 days less than our original reservation with them.

In addition to their kindness, we enjoyed the breakfast which included a variety of fresh fruit, warm muffins and breads, oatmeal, yogurts, juices, assorted teas and fresh coffee--- a good start to the day. The Inn is a very short walk to the beach and the cute downtown which offers varied food options, shops to browse, and places to buy whatever you might need.

Probably the nicest part of the Inn is their wonderful wraparound porch. We enjoyed sitting there in the late afternoon-- relaxing after a busy day at the beach and before heading off to dinner.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Two girl friends stayed at the Captain's Quarters and loved it. I don't understand the other reviewer not liking it, but that review is 6 years old. Communication with the host was great pre-arrival and he was accomodating when we arrived. The inn was spit-spot clean and I loved the breakfast. It was continental, but there were many choices: 2 juices, oatmeal, english muffins next to a toaster, sliced bananas, strawberries, cantaloupe, yogurt, and 2 different cereals. And the newspaper. Our room was spacious, clean, and towels were replaced daily (not necessary!). The common room was large, and there were plenty of books and magazines. Great location near shopping, beaches, and restaurants. You could just walk from the inn, if you wanted. Gorgeous grounds with a crabapple tree in bloom, and in one of he prettiest streets in Harwichport. The wrap-around porch is the prettiest feature! I look forward to returning.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2006

Unfortunately there were no reviews on the Captain's Quarters B&B when I was doing my research. So I've decided to help someone else out!!! The place was a bit of a disappointment. The best feature about this charming home is the front porch. It was wonderful to sit out there in the evening. However the rest of the place leaves alot to be desired. The breakfast was simply Continental and nothing more...which was fine; however it was the same every, single morning. I had asked if there was decaf coffee and was told to use the instant bags near the hot water. I don't think so. A pot of decaf could have been brewed since there was a Bunn Coffee Maker in the kitchen, not lacking in space to brew 2 pots of coffee. The rugs in our room and up the stairs is in desperate need of shampooing and the curtains in the hallway up stairs and in the bedroom were dirty and stained. The furniture was never dusted nor waxed when we arrived and for the entire week it remained very dusty. I had to write on the nite table "Dust Me". As I mentioned before the best feature was the beautiful wrap around porch. People not very friendly. Quite disappointed....would I go back....No Way!!

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain's Quarters Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Quarters Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 85 Bank St., Harwich Port, Harwich, MA 02646
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Harwich > Harwich Port
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Harwich Port
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Captain's Quarters Bed And Breakfast Inn Harwich Port, MA, United States

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's Quarters Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.