We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing this time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wequassett Resort and Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wequassett Resort and Golf Club to your Saves list
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   2173 Rte 28, Harwich, MA 02633   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Harwich
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Disappointing this time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was our sixth visit here and second time this year. My husband brings a lot of business to this property for conferences. We always get a really nice room. This time we were in an older room with paper thin walls where we could hear every conversation of the people next to us. We had queen beds and not nearly as lovely or large as the rooms we've had on previous stays. The rooms should get better for us, not worse. We had to wade through 3" of water to return to our room after dinner and in the morning had to go through mud to get to our car after a large storm.
Dinner of butter poached lobster was tough and overlooked. Scrambled eggs tasted like they were powdered. Coffee was served without cream and we had to ask twice for it.

Room Tip: Spend a LOT of money and ask for a new room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    67
    32
    15
    12
See reviews for
146
156
2
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Statyed 3 nights in a water view cottage. Nice large room, welcome cheese and fruit plate and water. Good housekeeping and great towels. The king size bed was very high and the sheets were not tucked in because they were too short. Good quality thread count but my side had 3 small holes. Picture fell of the wall and maintenance not only fixed it but brought us chocolates for the inconvenience. Grounds were gorgeous. Breakfast was great, beautifully presented and delicious. (If you have a Platinum AMEX, you can get it included for free) That said the rates, even off season, mid week were expensive. The resort fee (which covers not much) was tacked on. Only for special occasions or at company expense. (There were 2 small conferences there at the same time).

Room Tip: The less expensive rooms have views of parking lot, other cottages or woods. The cheapest room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosetteWillis, Manager at Wequassett Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear newyorker7,

Thank you for sharing your experience, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

We appreciate you bringing your housekeeping concerns to our attention, and rest assured they have been addressed with our team.

Thank you for commenting on TripAdvisor, we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the future.

Best regards,

Josette C. Willis
Director of Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was just a short visit so we didn't use all of the facilities. However, it all was a wow experience - our room was a wow, the grounds were immaculate, wow, and the food was delicious, wow. I would suggest that if you order the grilled octopus you bring your teeth floss.The staff were great and attentive (and friendly - so much so that one may think some were acting). The two pools were heated to 82 degrees so it was a delight for swimming. Would go again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosetteWillis, Manager at Wequassett Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Sparky6843;

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your brief visit and that you had such an extraordinary experience.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a longer stay in the near future.

Best regards,

Josette C. Willis
Director of Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Took my daughter to Thoreau's for her birthday dinner. Our server was Maureen who was very pleasant and the and presentation of food was awesome. My daughter had the center cut which was one of the best she ever had in her. I ordered the haddock and I was a little confused when my fish arrived in a rectangular form. Living on the cape for almost 30 years fish had always been in filet form. But what ever it was it was very good. They gave her pick of dessert for a gift and overall the experience was very good.

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosetteWillis, Manager at Wequassett Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear luv2ski16;

Thank you for selecting the resort to celebrate your daughter’s birthday. We are pleased you enjoyed your dining experience and that Maureen took such great care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards,

Josette C. Willis
Director of Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WORCESTER
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We attended a wedding at Wequasset. The attention to detail was very good for all the daytime activities. The wedding by the water, with flower pedals on the ground, drinks on the patio, amazing food for dinner, etc. We also had a nighttime event on the pool deck, which was a bit windy, but beautiful. Would have liked a bit more light (someone tripped over a flower planter on the ground and you couldn't see people sitting on the chairs), but everything else was amazing.

Room Tip: We did not stay at the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosetteWillis, Manager at Wequassett Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear igot;

Thank you for sharing your experience, we are delighted you enjoyed the wedding! We appreciate you commenting on your stay, and I have shared your feedback along with your suggestions for improvement with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Best Regards,

Josette C. Willis
Director of Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnfield
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Some of my family stayed at the Wequassett and we joined them for Sunday brunch and stayed for the day to enjoy the pool. Brunch was plentiful, the service was excellent, and the food was delighful! The suite they stayed in was beautiful, freshly decorated with beautiful linens and very up-to-date bath areas. Lovely views enhanced the experience of their stay. While we hung around at the pool area we were invited to take a boat ride to view the seals off the coast on a small island area. This was a gift of the hotel. I also attend meetings at this hotel from time to time where luncheon is served. Again, both the food and the service are exemplary.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosetteWillis, Manager at Wequassett Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Gram E,

Thank you for your thoughtful review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your brief visit to the resort.

We appreciate you commenting on your experience, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Josette C. Willis
Director of Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went here for a wedding and a long weekend stay. First, what a grand wedding....facilities were fabulous and the staff were most gracious and attentive. We played some golf as well. The room was perfect with a private balcony and an ocean view. The rooms are new, bathrooms are modern and sparkling.

The restaurants and ocean front bars and grilles were up to the task as well. Superb service with a staff that was extremely attentive. Food was excellent, served perfectly and the views were spectacular!

A great place to go for a relaxing stay with the family or a long weekend with the friends. Plenty of things for the kids to keep busy as well.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosetteWillis, Manager at Wequassett Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear MARVJR;

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the wedding, and that you also had an opportunity to experience the resort and its wonderful amenities.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Josette C. Willis
Director of Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wequassett Resort and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wequassett Resort and Golf Club

Address: 2173 Rte 28, Harwich, MA 02633
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Harwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Harwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wequassett Resort and Golf Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wequassett Resort and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wequassett Resort And Golf Club Hotel Harwich
Wequassett Hotel Chatham
Wequassett Inn
Wequassett Resort And Golf Club Cape Cod, MA - Harwich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wequassett Resort and Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.