We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wequassett Resort and Golf Club

Save Saved
You added Wequassett Resort and Golf Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   2173 Rte 28, Harwich, MA 02633   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Harwich
Cohasset, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fall Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had a great retreat over the weekend at the Wequassett. The rooms and service was outstanding. I was lucky enough to get down early and play 18 holes at Cape Cod National Golf Course (another treat!). Everyone we worked with before and during our stay was very helpful. We had a a couple great meals on property while there and everything met expectations. Looking forward to a return visit!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Round Cove Suite, excellent location and a great room if you need extra space. Many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosetteWillis, Manager at Wequassett Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent retreat. I was delighted to hear that it was a success and that you enjoyed your room, meals and service. I was also pleased that you had the opportunity to experience Cape Cod National, as it is a very special course one of the finest the Cape has to offer.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at 508-430-3024 if I may be of any assistance during a future visit. We look forward to welcoming you and your colleagues back to the resort for another event.

Sincerely,

Josette C. Willis
Director of Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    58
    30
    15
    12
See reviews for
118
139
2
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Wequassett Resort is a great place to hold a meeting. From start to finish, it was an excellent experience. The guest rooms are beautiful and the meeting space is very functional. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the chef catered to the many dietary restrictions the group had. Looking forward to returning again next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosetteWillis, Manager at Wequassett Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for sharing your meeting experience. I was delighted to hear that it was an excellent experience overall and that we were able to accommodate the specific needs of your guests.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at 508-430-3024 if I may be of any assistance for a future stay. We look forward to welcoming you and your colleagues back to the resort again next year.

Sincerely,

Josette C. Willis
Director of Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Hotel Commonwealth's manager in Boston recommended this place to us and we are glad he did. Our accommodations were lovely. After a busy day exploring the cape we looked forward to returning to the resort. The staff couldn't have been nicer, the grounds were stunning and the amenities were above average. Thanks to all for making a memorable vacation. Definitely a 5 star destination!

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosetteWillis, Manager at Wequassett Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Sally,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent visit. We are delighted to hear we provided you with such a memorable stay and that we offered you a five-star experience.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at 508-430-3024 if I may be of any assistance during a future visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort very soon.

Sincerely,

Josette C. Willis
Director of Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Wonderful resort with great restaurants and pool area. Nicest in the area. Great location. Rooms need to be updated for the cost of the room. Service was outstanding and friendly. Front desk is very helpful. Very well laid out resort with lots of character. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosetteWillis, Manager at Wequassett Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Barb,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit to the resort.

We are delighted you enjoyed our restaurants, pool area and location. In addition, we were pleased to hear that our team provided you with the outstanding service the resort is known for and I have specifically thanked the front desk team for their efforts.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at 508-430-3024 if I may assist you in planning a future visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort very soon.

Sincerely,

Josette C. Willis
Director of Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Having frequented Wequassett many times over the past years, it was an easy decision when chosing our wedding location. From the very beginning we were paired with the most experienced, accommodating, and friendly staff. We were able to speak and/or meet with our wedding planner at any time and they even rearranged their personal schedules to meet ours. All the vendor referrals were top notch and experienced with working at the resort.

The entire wedding weekend was picture perfect and not only because of the gorgeous views. Everything from the rehearsal to the ceremony to the reception and even a brunch the next morning went off without a hitch. As a bride the whole weekend can tend to be very overwhelming. At Wequassett I was able to relax with full confidence that everything will be taken care of and it was!

The accommodations are outstanding! The groom had a garden room the night before the wedding and it was spacious and New England chic. For the wedding night we had a bay view suite that was incredible; the definition of luxurious. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer! Opening wedding cards next to the fire pit overlooking the water was the perfect ending to our perfect day.

Finally the food all weekend long was delicious. Everything from the catered breakfast while we got ready in the morning to the raw bar at cocktail hour and the plated entrees at the reception was of highest quality. Everyone was raving about the food.

If you are considering a wedding on Cape Cod Wequassett Resort and Golf Club is a must! The staff will accommodate all your needs and you will not be disappointed. We couldn't have imagined a better day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosetteWillis, Manager at Wequassett Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Michelle,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback regarding your wedding.

We were delighted to hear that we succeeded in offering you a truly memorable weekend and that you were able to relax and enjoy this very special time in your lives.

I have personally thanked your wedding planner and have shared your thoughtful commentary with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort for many years to come.

Best wishes,

Josette C. Willis
Director of Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Rather thanrepeat all accolades, as an experienced New England traveller this IS as good as it gets. The service is warm and impeccable, and the new signature wings are wonderful, really lovely, quintessential Cape Cod. In the Fall, the lap pool and outdoor spas around the grounds are heated, with crackling fire pits, and lights glowing on the beautiful bay. I like this hotel generally far better than the Chatham Bars Inn, both of the same genre.

The caveat here is that all rooms are not created equal! Some are old Cape Cod. As a rule, if you choose a lower cost room, you should not expect it to live up to the newer more luxurious and expensive parts of the hotel. You want a luxury experience? You WILL get it here but if so, you cannot be. A penny counter. The bad reviews were all from people who anticipated luxury for a pittance.

Water view is just that, and pristine and charming it is! Waterside is close, but not quite there. Anything else may vary. No one could possibly say that these grounds are not the pinnacle of a premier New England garden. Even as late as mid Fall.

The hotel brought us a gratis basketnof wonderful goodies on checking in, so very thoughtful.

This is simply the best..dining wise too.

For the crib complainers, I just don't expect that arriving with an infant fits a place of this grace. It just is not for babies. Definitely older kids tho

Nothing to dislike here unless your expectations are off base, it's sublime, as is the cuisine. We absolutely love it!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosetteWillis, Manager at Wequassett Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit to the resort.

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our Signature Collection guest rooms. I have shared your compliments with our chef along with the landscaping team.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally at 508-430-3024 when you would like to plan a future visit. We appreciate your thoughtful commentary and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Josette C. Willis
Director of Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

First off let me say that we had a wonderful time at this resort. It is clearly a cut above the other locations on the cape. With that said, you pay handsomely for the privilege of staying in the best.

A few months back my husband and I chose to spend our anniversary in Boston and Cape Cod. We booked 4 nights in a Premiere Water View room. The room was enchanting. A bottle of red wine along with a cheese and fruit plate were placed in the room with a welcoming card. The room had 2 queen size beds, floor to ceiling, wall to wall sliding glass walkout to a stone patio, equipped with a small table, 2 chairs, 2 plush loungers, an umbrella and the pièce de résistance being our own private gas fireplace. Wall to wall California shutters covered the large windows when we wanted privacy. All this overlooking the serenity of Pleasant Bay. A perfect spot to celebrate a romantic holiday. However there were a few problems. The fireplace didn't work! We called the front desk and they sent a maintenance man over who said it may not be able to be fixed at all, but they wouldn't know till the next day. We were offered to change our room the next day. So I did not unpack and we lived out of our suitcases. As compensation for our inconvenience we were offered dinner at the resort's restaurant Twenty-Eight Atlantic, the only 4 star restaurant on The Cape. The food was superb and the service impeccable. We returned to the room and were ready to relax after a very long day of driving and we were greeted by the couple in the next room having a conversation. We could hear everything they were saying very clearly. At first we laughed, but after a short while it wasn't so funny anymore, especially when they sang a duet of happy birthday at 6:00 a.m. the following morning! The walls are paper thin and we heard everything and I mean EVERYTHING!

The next morning before we headed out to explore the area for the day we stopped at the front desk to inquire about the new room. The lady at the front said it was ready so we went to check it out. It was an inferior room, with the front facing a walkway then the water and the side was on the parking lot. We went back and informed the gentleman at the desk, Kevin, that we would not be accepting that room, that we wanted either a better or equal room to the one we have or to have someone fix the fireplace and we would be happy to stay in the room we were already in. Kevin called us in a couple of hours to inform us that the fireplace was fixed. If only that were true. It was sort of fixed. We had to call maintenance again and although the clogged gas vents were fixed, the pilot light was not, so he lit it manually using a lighter. So we figured we would manage like that as well. So we had to light our own fire every night, sort of like camping for the price of $665 per night (taxes in).

Now for the good stuff. The resort is beautifully maintained. The flowers are exquisite and the grounds luxurious. The staff is very friendly, from Ryan who drove us to our room in the golf cart, to the maintenance fellow, to the wait staff at Twenty-Eight Atlantic, all professional and courteous. The pool is salt water and heated even though we were there in October, the hot tub was great as was the fire pit by the pool. The outdoor bar was open and although I know the resort was busy, I didn't see that many people. There is an automatic 18% gratuity put on everything, so there is no need to tip extra unless of course you choose to.

The "golf" part of the resort is a little deceiving as there is no golf course at this resort, however you are permitted to play at the Cape Cod National Golf Club which is a private club that is open to the guests of Wequassett. Being a guest at the resort does not however allow for any discount for playing there. In October the cost of 18 holes was $170.

All in all, we had a lovely holiday and I would definitely return however now that we know the lay of the land at Wequassett I can honestly say that not all rooms are created equal! I would stay in the same room we had even though it was at the other end of the resort from the restaurants and pool area. It is private and there is no walkway in front. We would definitely return to this paradise on Cape Cod.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosetteWillis, Manager at Wequassett Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you again for your review. I appreciate you taking the time to speak with me to personally discuss your feedback.

I was delighted that you enjoyed the resort and its grounds, service and food, however, it was disappointing to learn of the challenges you experienced with your guest room.

I have taken the opportunity to review your concerns with our team. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 508-430-3024 should you return to the resort for a future visit. We look forward to welcoming you back and to a more memorable guest experience.

Best regards,

Josette C. Willis
Director of Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wequassett Resort and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wequassett Resort and Golf Club

Also Known As:
Wequassett Resort And Golf Club Hotel
Wequassett Resort And Golf Club Hotel Harwich
Wequassett Hotel Chatham
Wequassett Resort All Inclusive
Wequassett
Wequassett Inn
Wequassett Resort And Golf Club Cape Cod, MA - Harwich
Address: 2173 Rte 28, Harwich, MA 02633
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Harwich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Harwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wequassett Resort and Golf Club 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Wequassett Resort and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wequassett Resort and Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.