We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wequassett Resort and Golf Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wequassett Resort and Golf Club to your Saves list
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   2173 Rte 28, Harwich, MA 02633   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Harwich
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“WOW”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Wonderful resort with great restaurants and pool area. Nicest in the area. Great location. Rooms need to be updated for the cost of the room. Service was outstanding and friendly. Front desk is very helpful. Very well laid out resort with lots of character. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosetteWillis, Manager at Wequassett Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Barb,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit to the resort.

We are delighted you enjoyed our restaurants, pool area and location. In addition, we were pleased to hear that our team provided you with the outstanding service the resort is known for and I have specifically thanked the front desk team for their efforts.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at 508-430-3024 if I may assist you in planning a future visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort very soon.

Sincerely,

Josette C. Willis
Director of Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    70
    32
    16
    12
See reviews for
149
165
2
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Having frequented Wequassett many times over the past years, it was an easy decision when chosing our wedding location. From the very beginning we were paired with the most experienced, accommodating, and friendly staff. We were able to speak and/or meet with our wedding planner at any time and they even rearranged their personal schedules to meet ours. All the vendor referrals were top notch and experienced with working at the resort.

The entire wedding weekend was picture perfect and not only because of the gorgeous views. Everything from the rehearsal to the ceremony to the reception and even a brunch the next morning went off without a hitch. As a bride the whole weekend can tend to be very overwhelming. At Wequassett I was able to relax with full confidence that everything will be taken care of and it was!

The accommodations are outstanding! The groom had a garden room the night before the wedding and it was spacious and New England chic. For the wedding night we had a bay view suite that was incredible; the definition of luxurious. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer! Opening wedding cards next to the fire pit overlooking the water was the perfect ending to our perfect day.

Finally the food all weekend long was delicious. Everything from the catered breakfast while we got ready in the morning to the raw bar at cocktail hour and the plated entrees at the reception was of highest quality. Everyone was raving about the food.

If you are considering a wedding on Cape Cod Wequassett Resort and Golf Club is a must! The staff will accommodate all your needs and you will not be disappointed. We couldn't have imagined a better day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosetteWillis, Manager at Wequassett Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Michelle,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback regarding your wedding.

We were delighted to hear that we succeeded in offering you a truly memorable weekend and that you were able to relax and enjoy this very special time in your lives.

I have personally thanked your wedding planner and have shared your thoughtful commentary with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort for many years to come.

Best wishes,

Josette C. Willis
Director of Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Rather thanrepeat all accolades, as an experienced New England traveller this IS as good as it gets. The service is warm and impeccable, and the new signature wings are wonderful, really lovely, quintessential Cape Cod. In the Fall, the lap pool and outdoor spas around the grounds are heated, with crackling fire pits, and lights glowing on the beautiful bay. I like this hotel generally far better than the Chatham Bars Inn, both of the same genre.

The caveat here is that all rooms are not created equal! Some are old Cape Cod. As a rule, if you choose a lower cost room, you should not expect it to live up to the newer more luxurious and expensive parts of the hotel. You want a luxury experience? You WILL get it here but if so, you cannot be. A penny counter. The bad reviews were all from people who anticipated luxury for a pittance.

Water view is just that, and pristine and charming it is! Waterside is close, but not quite there. Anything else may vary. No one could possibly say that these grounds are not the pinnacle of a premier New England garden. Even as late as mid Fall.

The hotel brought us a gratis basketnof wonderful goodies on checking in, so very thoughtful.

This is simply the best..dining wise too.

For the crib complainers, I just don't expect that arriving with an infant fits a place of this grace. It just is not for babies. Definitely older kids tho

Nothing to dislike here unless your expectations are off base, it's sublime, as is the cuisine. We absolutely love it!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosetteWillis, Manager at Wequassett Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit to the resort.

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our Signature Collection guest rooms. I have shared your compliments with our chef along with the landscaping team.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally at 508-430-3024 when you would like to plan a future visit. We appreciate your thoughtful commentary and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Josette C. Willis
Director of Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

First off let me say that we had a wonderful time at this resort. It is clearly a cut above the other locations on the cape. With that said, you pay handsomely for the privilege of staying in the best.

A few months back my husband and I chose to spend our anniversary in Boston and Cape Cod. We booked 4 nights in a Premiere Water View room. The room was enchanting. A bottle of red wine along with a cheese and fruit plate were placed in the room with a welcoming card. The room had 2 queen size beds, floor to ceiling, wall to wall sliding glass walkout to a stone patio, equipped with a small table, 2 chairs, 2 plush loungers, an umbrella and the pièce de résistance being our own private gas fireplace. Wall to wall California shutters covered the large windows when we wanted privacy. All this overlooking the serenity of Pleasant Bay. A perfect spot to celebrate a romantic holiday. However there were a few problems. The fireplace didn't work! We called the front desk and they sent a maintenance man over who said it may not be able to be fixed at all, but they wouldn't know till the next day. We were offered to change our room the next day. So I did not unpack and we lived out of our suitcases. As compensation for our inconvenience we were offered dinner at the resort's restaurant Twenty-Eight Atlantic, the only 4 star restaurant on The Cape. The food was superb and the service impeccable. We returned to the room and were ready to relax after a very long day of driving and we were greeted by the couple in the next room having a conversation. We could hear everything they were saying very clearly. At first we laughed, but after a short while it wasn't so funny anymore, especially when they sang a duet of happy birthday at 6:00 a.m. the following morning! The walls are paper thin and we heard everything and I mean EVERYTHING!

The next morning before we headed out to explore the area for the day we stopped at the front desk to inquire about the new room. The lady at the front said it was ready so we went to check it out. It was an inferior room, with the front facing a walkway then the water and the side was on the parking lot. We went back and informed the gentleman at the desk, Kevin, that we would not be accepting that room, that we wanted either a better or equal room to the one we have or to have someone fix the fireplace and we would be happy to stay in the room we were already in. Kevin called us in a couple of hours to inform us that the fireplace was fixed. If only that were true. It was sort of fixed. We had to call maintenance again and although the clogged gas vents were fixed, the pilot light was not, so he lit it manually using a lighter. So we figured we would manage like that as well. So we had to light our own fire every night, sort of like camping for the price of $665 per night (taxes in).

Now for the good stuff. The resort is beautifully maintained. The flowers are exquisite and the grounds luxurious. The staff is very friendly, from Ryan who drove us to our room in the golf cart, to the maintenance fellow, to the wait staff at Twenty-Eight Atlantic, all professional and courteous. The pool is salt water and heated even though we were there in October, the hot tub was great as was the fire pit by the pool. The outdoor bar was open and although I know the resort was busy, I didn't see that many people. There is an automatic 18% gratuity put on everything, so there is no need to tip extra unless of course you choose to.

The "golf" part of the resort is a little deceiving as there is no golf course at this resort, however you are permitted to play at the Cape Cod National Golf Club which is a private club that is open to the guests of Wequassett. Being a guest at the resort does not however allow for any discount for playing there. In October the cost of 18 holes was $170.

All in all, we had a lovely holiday and I would definitely return however now that we know the lay of the land at Wequassett I can honestly say that not all rooms are created equal! I would stay in the same room we had even though it was at the other end of the resort from the restaurants and pool area. It is private and there is no walkway in front. We would definitely return to this paradise on Cape Cod.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosetteWillis, Manager at Wequassett Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you again for your review. I appreciate you taking the time to speak with me to personally discuss your feedback.

I was delighted that you enjoyed the resort and its grounds, service and food, however, it was disappointing to learn of the challenges you experienced with your guest room.

I have taken the opportunity to review your concerns with our team. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 508-430-3024 should you return to the resort for a future visit. We look forward to welcoming you back and to a more memorable guest experience.

Best regards,

Josette C. Willis
Director of Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We chose this resort because it appeared to be the best in the area. The restaurant and tavern are fantastic - good food and excellent service. the waterside setting of the resort is lovely and nearby Chatham is charming. There's a nice outdoor bar and swimming pool beside the bay, but the sunlounger cushions are left out in all weathers and consequently look grubby and unappealing. The Outer Grill has been closed for a private function for the duration of our stay. The housekeeper has been excellent, although on wiping a spillage from the floor, we became aware that it was filthy!

We're staying in a garden room on the ground floor. Be warned: if that's all that is on offer, do not come here but stay elsewhere. The air conditioning unit is horrendously noisy. In addition, as I write this, we can no longer hear each other's conversation or the tv because someone in the upstairs room is using their bath/shower. When these calamatous noises first occurred, we called for the engineer because we thought there was a plumbing problem and also that the AC unit was on its way out but, from his reaction, we gathered that what we were hearing was the Wequassett norm! We hear every footstep the other occupiers take and, joy of joys, last night we were awoken at 2.30am by someone in the room next door arriving back from a bar, vocalising loudly and then, even louder, vomiting until about 4am. Obviously, guests' behaviour isn't the responsibility of the resort but, because the walls are clearly wafer-thin, it felt like we were in the room with him. We twice requested a room move if it were possible, but nothing happened (which may be due the resort being busy over the holiday weekend). The poor accommodation has completely overshadowed the positives of this resort - it has felt more like an endurance test and has spoilt our first, and probably now only, visit to Cape Cod. I notice that other guests who've made similar complaints have been asked to contact management to discuss what renovations might be done. All the resort staff need to do is stay in their own accommodation - no discussion required!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosetteWillis, Manager at Wequassett Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Lesley;

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the resort. We were disappointed to learn of the challenges you had with your room accommodations and that they had such a negative impact on your stay.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns and will utilize your feedback in our upcoming renovation plans for 2013. Thank you again for your invaluable comments regarding our operation.

Sincerely;

Josette C. Willis
Director of Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamison, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We chose the Wequassett Resort for our wedding on September 22nd, 2012. We spent 18 months working with Kalson Pang on the plans, the menus, the events and the food. He was attentive, professional and supportive. By the time our wedding weekend rolled around, we had events on Friday, Saturday and Sunday for our guests. All of our friends and family commented on the high level of service, the quality and selection of the food, and of course, the views of Pleasant Bay. Our experience with the Wequassett exceeded our expectations in every way. We would highly recommend the Wequassett for a weekend getaway, a romantic night out, or a wedding..the place is amazing!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosetteWillis, Manager at Wequassett Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Mauri,

Thank you for sharing your wedding experience. We were delighted to hear that your wedding weekend was magical and that your guests enjoyed the food, service and beautiful views of Pleasant Bay.

I have shared your thoughtful feedback with Kalson and the entire team. Thank you for choosing Wequassett for this very special event and we look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit.

Best regards,

Josette C. Willis
Director of Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charny
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The food couldn't be better than this! I had the Organic Lavender chicken, and it was to die for! Amazing service and... the view... There is nothing to say about it except that you need to see to understand... What can be better than to eat while overlooking Pleasant Bay! I was there with friends to attend the Jazz festival, we had a drink, we ate, incredible night at an incredible location! I really can't wait to stay overnight, thing that we're planning to do next year. Sure it's pricey but it was well worth it. I paid 78$ with the tip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosetteWillis, Manager at Wequassett Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to the resort for the Cape Cod Jazz Festival. We are delighted that you enjoyed the entertainment, the food, outstanding service and the beautiful views of Pleasant Bay.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at 508-430-3024 if I can be of any assistance with reservation arrangements for a future overnight stay. We look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit.

Sincerely,

Josette C. Willis
Director of Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wequassett Resort and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wequassett Resort and Golf Club

Address: 2173 Rte 28, Harwich, MA 02633
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Harwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Harwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wequassett Resort and Golf Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wequassett Resort and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wequassett Resort And Golf Club Hotel Harwich
Wequassett Hotel Chatham
Wequassett Inn
Wequassett Resort And Golf Club Cape Cod, MA - Harwich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wequassett Resort and Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.