We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful and restful vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vacation Village in the Berkshires

Save Saved
You added Vacation Village in the Berkshires to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   276 Brodie Mountain Rd, Hancock, MA 01237   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Hancock
New Britain, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“beautiful and restful vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I love this resort. This is my timeshare resort. I love this resort, because you can do different things in every season. The summer is beautiful, going to the lake, and Mt. Greylock. The fall the colors of the leaves come right out at you! The resort is in the middle of the mountains across from Jimmy Peak. In the winter, it is completely different. Cold crisp air, snow on the mountain at Jimmy Peak. Watching the skiers while swimming in the indoor pool, is so cool. But my favorite thing of all is, that this resort is pet friendly. It has three building just for people who want to spend their vacation with their pets. I love it. I can now take my two dogs with me, and spend quality time with them. They enjoy it as much as I do. It is like a second home to my family. We love it there.

Room Tip: If you want to bring your pet. You must let them know in advance to get one of the pet friendly buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village in the Berkshires, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review! There is no better compliment we can receive than knowing that our guests entrust us with their vacations time after time. Your loyalty to our resort means so much, and we look forward to welcoming you and your “fur-babies” back to The Berkshires!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    134
    45
    25
    30
See reviews for
134
122
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We did a timeshare last minute rental, so we were there for a week and it was a great time. Great unit, nicely furnished, great views, comfortable. Friendly staff, nice lending library of videos, great pools, great fitness room, fast wireless internet connection.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village in the Berkshires, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your experience with Vacation Village in the Berkshires Resort. We’re thrilled that we exceeded your expectations and that you have recommended us to others with your 5-star review. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
539 helpful votes 539 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

this is a cool place,if you like the mountains many people dont know of evrything that you can do here VT is not far up rt 7 if your looking for maple syrup,tanglewood is 20min away and the ski area is just across the street the resort is about 15 yrs old and run by the berkley group. they have lock off units for sleeping of 8 comfortably not flashy but definite rustic feel the indoor pool is great as well as the outdoor pool check it out for yourself

Room Tip: the bldgs on the top of the hill have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village in the Berkshires, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We’re very happy that you enjoyed your accommodations and the amenities provided during your time with us. We agree, the Berkshires have much to offer guests, whether traveling in winter or summertime. Whitewater rafting, golf, hiking, fishing, or just enjoying the beautiful countryside will help create wonderful memories for any vacationer. Thanks for taking the time to share and we hope we can share our hospitality with you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

As timeshares go I have to rate Vacation Village as above average. We are a couple age 32, stayed for a week. The location worked out great for us. Powder Hounds at Jiminy Peak has some really friendly waitresses that helped us with some must see places around the area. The small country store at Jiminy Peak was okay for a couple of necessities. We also were able to find a few necessities at the Store at Five Corners and Cricket Creek Farms. We typically shop local produce at home so it was nice to find places to shop for local dairy and produce so close to the resort. The resort itself worked out rather well for the most part. Being a younger couple relative to the average clientele I believe I slightly threw off the staff upon check-in. I can look young sometimes so there was a little confusion as to whether I was old enough to check-in. But once we got past that the rest of the staff was very friendly and helpful. Not all guests are over 60 so it isnt a retirement village, its just a product of timeshares. The typical person under 40 isnt going to be able to afford the money and time for a timeshare. We got lucky with a voucher from some RCI members. We noticed about 4 or 5 couples that were younger than 40. I believe i may have been in the same building as Emma because we ended up next to a family with a young child that loved to run down the hall, but hey thats a kid and they have energy to burn. The first night they stayed I think they didnt realize how thin the walls were and we awoke at 1:30am to their conversations and jacuzzi tub noise. I think they discovered how thin the walls were by the next day and were respectful the rest of the week. It is unfortunate that you can hear basic volume conversations through the walls though. There isnt a lot that can be done about that by the resort short of adding insulation to every shared wall, and as a guest its not comforting to stay alert to what your saying and doing in your own bedroom so as not to make your neighbor a part of it. Now for the wi-fi. Ive seen the response from Vac. Village that the priority of the guests is not wi-fi in these days of smart phones and unlimited date plans. The problem is that I see a lot of reviews putting bad marks on your wi-fi. I think in these days of E-Readers it is time to bite the bullet and provide wi-fi to your guests. I think i saw out-houses on the side of the road that had free wi-fi. Charging $10 a day is really in the dark ages of providing wi-fi especially if its slow. The Radisson has had free wi-fi since 1995. I think a good start would be to offer free wi-fi for basic internet connection and email but then have a charge for higher bandwidth usage. But the speed will need to be addressed either way. To continue the review. The onsight nature trail was definitely better than I hoped. It had a couple surprises and was easy walking. I tend to take hard trails back home but after being out all day, walking this easy, pretty, forested trail near the room was a nice relaxing end to the afternoon. Then there is the bed. Short of putting in a sleep-by-number bed in every room I dont see how any hotel/resort could ever make everyone happy. It was very soft and i felt like I was being swallowed and suffocated by it but i could see how the right person could feel like they were sleeping on air. At least there is a pull out bed in the couch for a change of sleeping venue if needed. Last, the shower is big enough for two but the water pressure is depressing. A bulk purchase of shower head replacements for the resort would do a lot for the morale of the guests. Nothing like a good shower to make people forget about their troubles.

Room Tip: Suite A - full kitchen. Contrary to their website saying they have VHS players the rooms DO have DV...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village in the Berkshires, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
We appreciate that you have taken the time to provide feedback on our resort and we share your disappointment when we fall short of your expectations. Vacation Village in the Berkshires strives to be frugal with the timeshare owner’s association budget and must charge a fee for wifi access in the private rooms. Like many other businesses, the resort offers complimentary computer service for guests in the Clubhouse located on property. We’re thankful that you recognized the value we offer and we’ll continue to strive to improve our services. We hope that we may have the opportunity to share our hospitality with you again the next time you visit the Berkshires.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed for a week in a B unit seemed nice until we heard the noise of the people/kids running up and down the stairs, loud noises until late at night. The light shone so brightly into our bedroom we had to sleep with air line eye pads.
The bathroom so big, the kitchen small and really think they could have thought the design a little differently. Our fridge kept freezing our stuff, pathetic small fridge!
IF you want to cook pasta, make sure you take your own big pot, as the pots are for small meals/families.
I agree with Deborah about the envelope, but still left a nominal amount as it isn't the cleaning lady's fault. Thought there was free wifi - NOT - you pay, and for VERY slow internet connection :(
Pool area very nice, spent quite a few days there. Staff friendly.

Room Tip: Don't book a room near the steps, probably top floor would be better than middle? We thought all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village in the Berkshires, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
We appreciate your recommendation of Vacation Village in The Berkshires but were disappointed that you found our resort lacking in certain areas. Guest feedback is one of the best ways we can continue to improve our service and provide amazing experiences and we appreciate you taking the time to post. We hope that you consider staying with us again in the future so that we may have another chance to exceed all your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I was disappointed in the amenities attendant with this "resort". We stayed for an entire week with no maid service, no restaurant or bar. At the price we paid, we expected a minimum of a mid-week room refresher, but housekeeping was only available for an additional charge. To add insult to injury, a tip envelope was placed on our nightstand! For what? For giving us a clean setting to check into? That is the minimum I expect from the local basic motel. Mid-vacation the refrigerator failed and maintenance was prompt and efficient. They quickly replaced the unit when it was found to be unrepairable. Rooms were clean, but very noisy...walls were paper thin. I won't use this site again, I like my resorts to have 5-star amenities...it is a vacation, after all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village in the Berkshires, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. Vacation Village in the Berkshires is a timeshare resort and one of the differences between timeshares and hotels is that timeshare properties don’t offer daily housekeeping. This policy is standard in the timeshare industry. However we feel the trade off for this amenity is more than fair since we have spacious suites that feature living and dining room areas, fully appointed kitchens and fireplaces. We provide most of the comforts of home for guests along with daily resort activities and events. We also feature many amenities found at hotels like pools, a fitness center, arcade/game room, and complimentary use of our computer room. Unfortunately on occasion mechanical issues will arise, but we’re thankful that our maintenance staff was able to remedy the faulty refrigerator quickly and efficiently. We regret that you are disappointed in the services we offer and we hope you reconsider and provide us with another opportunity to prove that we are a great vacation value in the Berkshires.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burton on trent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We are currently staying at vacation village and I have to say the front desk staff have been curtious and helpful, they are endlessly patient when we have questions regarding directions, helpful and concerned when my daughter reacted badly to an insect bite, accommodating when we asked to change rooms because we couldn't!t see the mountains on arrival. The maintanance gal was there within minutes when we had problem with closet door. Not 5 star luxury but it is more than adequate , clean and above all a friendly resort where we feel at home. So thank you vacation village.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village in the Berkshires, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We are thrilled to read that you are enjoying your time at Vacation Village in the Berkshires Resort and that our staff has exceeded your expectations. Our employees take great pride in delivering outstanding service to guests, and sharing this type of feedback lets them know that their hard work doesn't go unnoticed. Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and we hope we can welcome you “home” again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vacation Village in the Berkshires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacation Village in the Berkshires

Address: 276 Brodie Mountain Rd, Hancock, MA 01237
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Hancock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Hancock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Vacation Village in the Berkshires 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Vacation Village in the Berkshires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacation Village In The Berkshires Hotel Hancock
Vacation Village Berkshires
Vacation Village At Berkshires
Village Berkshires
Vacation Village In The Berkshires MA - Hancock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vacation Village in the Berkshires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.