We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect (Long) Weekend Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vacation Village in the Berkshires

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Vacation Village in the Berkshires to your Saves list
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   276 Brodie Mountain Rd, Hancock, MA 01237   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hancock
Oakdale, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Perfect (Long) Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Berkshires are beautiful, quaint and historical. There is so much to see and do! It's a perfect place for a relaxing long weekend. We exchanged into this timeshare via RCI. This resort is just enough to be out of the way but close enough for convenience. The rooms are tastefully decorated in a Fall color palette. A little too dark for my taste, but it was fine. It's not like it hurt my eyes, just think more along the lines of Rust, Burnt Orange and Dark Mustard colors. The room details are fantastic! Full blown kitchen with a stove/oven, refrigerator and dishwasher. The living room area was spacious, definitely enough for two and comfortable. The fireplace did not work, but a maintenance call did the trick. They supposedly had a lightening storm a few days earlier and it tripped the electricity to several fireplaces. Speaking of maintenance calls, be aware that the units do not provide cookie sheets, at least ours didn't. But, if you call and request one, they'll bring it to you. The gal that brought it to us was on her way out for her lunch break. I thought that was great customer service, she didn't have to do that! Lots of cookie, er ah, brownie points in my opinion! The room and bathroom were wonderful too. The room was spacious as was the bathroom. The bathroom in itself met our expectations. The large two person Jacuzzi tub was worth its weight and was used daily. Nice to soak in a warm bath after meandering around all day.

Just a few side notes:
1. After you book, call the front desk and request the particular area that you want. We didn't know this until we got there and we still got one of the newer buildings. Our unit was located in building #25 on Birch Terrace. Always ask for an upstairs room unless you enjoying hearing your neighbors run around. While the units are extremely soundproof, I personally wouldn't take the chance. The upstairs units also have great balconies that over look everything. Next time we go, I'll probably ask for a unit in either building #20 or #21. Both were located amidst swaying birch trees. It was just beautiful and serene when the trees swayed. Not sure if these are newer units though, I don't think they are.
2. The pool and clubhouse are right next to each other. There was only one functioning grill when we were there. Didn't bother us much since we weren't grilling, but if we wanted too we would have had to wait our turn. Every time we drove by it seemed like there were 10+ people waiting for the poolside grill. The outdoor pool is cold... 'nuff said! There is an indoor pool but the chlorine was so strong I could never imagine staying in there for any length of time. Spa looked inviting, but we never got a chance to use it... too busy using the Jacuzzi in the room.
3. Even though we were there in the early Summer time, I think this resort is really for those that like to ski. The resort is just down the way from Jiminy Peak if skiing is your thing. We don't ski but I think we'll make it back during the Winter for another experience. Our balcony faced the ski resort, and it would be beautiful looking outside and seeing it during the Winter season. Fall too!

Enjoy the resort, we did!

Room Tip: Call prior to your visit to request a specific area within the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village in the Berkshires, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
We’re thrilled that you enjoyed your accommodations and that you found our staff friendly and helpful. The Berkshires is a great place for a winter getaway but the area has much to offer for our summer travelers too. Whitewater rafting, golf, hiking, fishing, or just enjoying the beautiful countryside will help create wonderful vacation memories. Thanks for taking the time to share and we hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    158
    55
    27
    30
See reviews for
155
144
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stay in this resort about 4 times a year. I like it because every season I find really nice things to do. In the summer, theater and shopping, in the fall seeing the leafs and walking around is great. in the Spring, the weather and walks feel wonderful and in the winters Jiminy Peak is just outside for skiing and snowboarding. The resort offers 1br units and 2 br units, which are two joining 1br units. Each with living room pull outs, kitchen, Jacuzzi in larger uni, each has bathroom and balcony. Ample parking and walks within the property. Very clean units, updated. The main area has an in door pool and outdoor tub, which is wonderful in the winter. No restaurant, I suggest cooking in, as it is actually relaxing when in this area. Restaurants around the area are at least 15mins driving, or a call away. We ordered in a few times. You can see owls and night and hear them. Best thing about these units, they all have fire places for a ice ambiance. And to add to it, for a fee, you can bring your pet, so our cockatoo goes with us all the time. This is one of few places still allowing pets. Best thing to do is enjoy the silent nights and sleep during the day with the fire on and viewing the snowy mountains. There is even laundry in every building...

Room Tip: If you intend on bringing people you need the units with full kitchen, these are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village in the Berkshires, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you for the great review. We are glad to read that you enjoy our hospitality and continually return, as many of our travelers do to savor the region’s incomparable four seasons of natural beauty. We take great pride in the services we offer our guests and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Berkshires soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Monroe, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

As a RCI timeshare owner I have to say I am very disappointed in the accomadations here. Since we pay our mortgage every month and all the other maintenance fees etc. And we bought the gold package, you would think they would have at least put us in one of thier A units..but no they put us in thier least disireable unit. I requested an upstairs unit with a view and when we got here they had us in a downstairs,,they did swith us but there is O view,,the unit is very small, the kitchen amounts to a hot plate and a microwave and fridge. there are no ice machines on the floors you have to get in your car and drive up to the pool to get ice. We own at Palm Beach Shores so maybe I am spoiled but you would expect a "gold crown resort" to be a gold crown resort,,,this one isn't in my opinion. Truthfully it is nothing more than a glorified apartment complex. THey have no weekend activities only Monday- Friday stuff..no restaurant or bar on site...I would not buy here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village in the Berkshires, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience at Vacation Village in the Berkshires Resort. We always appreciate it when owners takes the time to comment about their stay and we’re sorry that your time at the resort is not what you expected. If the larger A Suite had been available when you arrived the front desk would have happily upgraded the B Suite you reserved through RCI. We do try to make all of our guests happy with their vacation choices, and most of the time we are quite successful as you can see here by the many positive TripAdvisor reviews. We appreciate your loyalty as a Vacation Village Resort owner at Palm Beach Shores Resort in Florida and we hope you consider visiting one of our many other resorts on your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Husband and I went as a couple needing relaxation after years of tending to elderly ill parents.
There are some things that made the trip less realxing than desired. Some are not the fault of the complex - just oblivious and inconsiderate other vacationers. We had a top floor unit and people next to us let kids run up and down hall,up and down stairs ,bang the hallway doors and slam unit door. One unit had a what looked like a few days worth of wet pool towels sitting outside unit which had a nasty smell and was an eye sore

Unit was clean and the few minor things we found wrong and reported to front desk we were told to leave a note in unit when we checked out. Shower door didn't close properly and would have been nice to have fixed while using it.
We stayed there last year and upon arrival had pleny of hand soap and shower gel,shampoo and conditioner so did not pack any. Esp after looking at web site and seeing you can order add"l products to be shipped once back home. Figured they must still be there upon arrival. We had only one bar of hand soap in unit and no other bath products. Went to front desk and inquired explainig we didn't pack any due to previous trip experience and was told "It depends on what promtion we are having whether they are in your unit or not" But no offer was made to give us any . We brought all groceries from home so we would not have to shop once there and then had to go out for basic items that could easily had been provided after request.
The pools are very clean BUT something needs to be done about rules being enforced. Every day we had kids running around pool area. Some days playing tag and running in between chairs or running from small kiddie pool to larger pool and back. Some were starting a good distance from pool and holding hands and seeing who could jump in the furthest making it hard to do laps or even enjoy pool.. There were little kids with floating devices and their parents sitting in lounge chairs(not even at pools edge) talking and not watching kids. Not exactly relaxing. And while I know parents need to be responsible,some are just clueless as to proper behavior.
The outdoor pool area has a sign that 18 and under needs to be in area with adult. That was not the case at all.
The hot tub sign states 14 and under must have adult. It would be wonderful if the rule was NO ONE UNDER 18 AT ALL . We would try 4-5 times per day to use hot tub. Kids would be in there alone and some parents would bring children under 10 in and they would be swimming,going under and/or fighting with each other. There was a young girl who was 12 (I asked) she had a 5 and 3 yr old sibling in there. Little ones were sitting on steps and she was on total opposite side of hot tub. That was just an accident waiting to happen. One day there was a mom sitting on steps with a child under 2 on her lap and no diaper. If no 18 or under was enforced the hot tub would be a wonderful place for ADULTS to relax and use it as it is intended.
There is family activities planned and looked like fun and wonderful family vacation memories being made. It would be nice if at least once a week there was an adult volleyball game. We tried playing the scheduled game. There were 20-25 adults that showed up and about 5 kids all under 10 . The adults wanted to have a game and enjoy it. But it wasn't the case. The kids were getting knocked over and bumped into and it turned into a babysitting event.
Coffee in lobby each day is nice as well as free paper to read in lobby area. Computer room was never crowded. Exercise room clean. Outdoor gas grills are placed nicely and while I know everyone is responsible to clean cooking grates after using, the inside of grills could use a good cleaning from grease and food dropping buildup.
There is a nice wooded trail on property that does not get a lot of mention and only has a sign at one end so easily missed. Early morning and pre sundown walks are very peaceful and pretty on paved area around complex.
Downtown Albany is less than 1 hr away and free Museum there is a good rainy day trip.
While our stay was nice it could have been much better with just a few slight changes in pool areas.
One last note. We were there on an RCI exchange and it really annoys me to have a tip envelope in unit. for getting the unit ready. I pay RCI dues, pay maint fees and pay exchange fee. I expect a clean unit .

Room Tip: Any room would be ok if people wouldn't let kids run or slam doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village in the Berkshires, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experiences during your recent stay. Your positive comments were most appreciated. We would like to apologize for the discourteous staff you encountered. We were perplexed by the instructions you were given to leave a note in your room upon checkout. That is definitely not resort policy and we wish you had named the staff member that gave you that ill advice. Your comments were forwarded to the resort’s management and discussed with the employees so that this does not happen again. The resort amenities are available to all our guests and we try to ensure that they are used safely and responsibly. Unfortunately in this industry hoteliers sometime house inconsiderate travelers, but we try to handle those situations as best we can to ensure that everyone has a pleasant vacation. We appreciate you taking the time to post and we hope you’ll choose us again the next time you come to The Berkshires.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillipsburg, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We really liked this place. It had a pretty big outdoor pool, an indoor pool and a hot tub. My son enjoyed all three as well as the gameroom. They had a series of family friendly activities like creating your own tie-dyed shirts (for $5.00), an ice cream social and a family movie night. We were in building 26, which is a newer one.

The accommodations were clean, comfortable and the decor pleasing to the eye. We had an "A" suite = 1 King bedroom, pullout couch in the livingroom, full kitchen and dining area. We had a really nice bathroom. It had a jacuzzi tub as well as a shower. It was huge!! The kitchen had granite countertops, it was well-eqipped (we cooked every night). There was an attractive faux fireplace and 2 very nice flat screen TV's as well as a DVD player. You can borrow DVD's from the front desk at no charge. When you return one, you may borrow another. My only real complaint is the king size bed we had was quite hard, which I find uncomfortable. I got several (4) extra pillows to soften up my sleeping area, that worked pretty well.

Our dining table was relatively small, round , with 4 chairs. I mention this b/c we met another family who lived in an older building (13) and were invited over for dinner. There were some differences between the two "A" suites. In the older building, the bathroom and bedroom are a little smaller, but the dining area is bigger, with a larger rectangular table which seated 6. They also had a longer, larger balcony, twice the size of ours. They had an adjoining "B" suite, where they let their kids sleep. The "B" suite has a greatly reduced dining and livingroom area, a smaller kitchen with no stove, but it did have a rather heavy duty 2 burner hot plate as well as a microwave. The bedroom and bathroom were a decent size, but they, too, were a bit smaller. I was comfortable with 3 people in the "A" suite, but if I were renting the "B", I would've felt cramped. It seems the best use of the B suite is adjoining to the A, the way our friends had done it.

We read reviews that said footsteps above sounded lke thunder if you took a suite on lower floors. Ours was on an upper floor and so we had no problems with noise.

While we were there we saw the Norman Rockwell Museum, the Guthrie Center (the original church from the song "Alice's Restaurant" by Woody Guthrie}, and took our son to Jiminy Peak for the amusement rides. We went to Jiminy Peak in the afternoon when prices are half price. We were told by others that there is an online coupon for Wednesdays, when you can get in for half price all day long.

BTW we stopped at 2 fresh fruit and vegetable stands. "Pease Farm" had the WORST chocolate chip cookies and strawberry pies I have ever tasted. AWFUL!! "The Berry Patch" had FANTASTIC fresh corn, and the BEST Raspberry Squares ever!! There was such a HUGE contrast between the two (and they are almost right across the street from each other, so they are direct competitors), I thought I would mention it. We were sorry we hadn't tried the peach pie at the Berry Patch after tasting how good the raspberry squares were. Stay far, far away from the Pease Farm.

Room Tip: Larger families might need larger table in older
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village in the Berkshires, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
WOW! We cannot thank you enough for your wonderful comments about your stay with us! It is truly a pleasure to hear that you made new friends during your stay and that you enjoyed the activities that our staff planned for you. Your detailed comments will help future guests get the most out of their own vacation and we thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor for others for see. We hope to welcome you back to The Berkshires soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Rooms were very large and clean. Location was beautiful overlooking Jimney Peak. I'm intetersted in going in the winter months for the resort skiing. Just minutes from activities. Close to large lake and plenty of golf around. Enought to keep the whole family busy. Will definately come back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Worldhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village in the Berkshires, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
We’re delighted you chose to stay with us and we thank you for the wonderful review. We know you’ll love the Berkshires in the winter as much as you loved your summer vacation! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

The family directly above us (seemed like 20 persons but probably only a few) started running and jumping at 9:00 p.m.. At 11:15 p.m. I called the front desk to ask for help so I could sleep. They were not at all interested but said they would call upstairs. And no they had no one to send over to my building. Right after that the noise intensified to the point of causing fear. Lights rattled, hangers in the closet swayed, windows shook. The banging was extremely loud and it was throughout the suite. There was no sleep to be had until after 1:00 a.m. when it finally stopped. However, it started again at 7:00 a.m. I could not leave that place fast enough. The staff was no help and I felt threatened due to the inconsiderate people upstairs.

As for the accommodations they looked nice but the furniture was very uncomfortable. If you are taller than 5 feet you will not be comfortable in the living room. Also, you better like washing dishes by hand unless you have a large unit because there is no dishwasher.

Better bring plenty of food and beverages because there is nothing for miles except some overpriced vending machines with stale junk in them.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village in the Berkshires, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
We appreciate your comments but we regret that our resort did not meet your expectations. We work hard in providing an excellent vacation experience for our travelers and most of the time we are successful. We are sorry that fellow resort guests were inconsiderate and made you feel threatened during your stay. This is not the normal hospitality standard of Vacation Village at the Berkshires Resort and we hope you allow us another chance to exceed your expectations and stay with us again the next time you visit the Berkshires.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vacation Village in the Berkshires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacation Village in the Berkshires

Address: 276 Brodie Mountain Rd, Hancock, MA 01237
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Hancock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hancock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vacation Village in the Berkshires 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Vacation Village in the Berkshires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacation Village In The Berkshires Hotel Hancock
Vacation Village Berkshires
Vacation Village At Berkshires
Village Berkshires
Vacation Village In The Berkshires MA - Hancock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vacation Village in the Berkshires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.