We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Candied Bacon Cheeseburger is Off the Charts!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of John Harvard's Restaurant & Brewery

John Harvard's Restaurant & Brewery
37 Corey Road, New England Country Inn at Jiminy Peak, Hancock, MA 01237
413.738.5500 ext. 3780
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
John Harvard's Restaurant & Brewery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Hancock
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Brodie Mountain Rd
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Candied Bacon Cheeseburger is Off the Charts!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We had this amazing burger on a visit here last fall and couldn't stop talking about it. Great quality beef, beer carmelized onions, smoked Gouda cheese and candied maple bacon on a perfect roll. Sound great? It tastes even better. We tried to duplicate it at home in New Jersey but it just didn't work as well. Don't miss this phenomenal treat. Fried calamari with hot peppers was a tasty appetizer. Only the chicken pot pie kept this from a full 5 stars but it's oh so close.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    43
    36
    20
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Living room
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Pricey but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The staff are hard working locals who are under-appreciated. They bust their butts and it shows. I ate the Mac and Cheese and it was so freakin delish! was a little disappointed the beer advertised on line was not available in store but the beer was still good. The prices are a wee but higher because they know they are the only gig in 10 miles

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Adequate Food, Okay Bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed at the Country Inn and ate two dinners at John Harvard's. It was the "only game in town" so to speak, as this is the only restaurant available to guests off season staying at the Inn. The food was adequate, but there was nothing that I would particularly rave about.

The first night I had a steak medallion dish with mashed potatoes, and broccoli. The steak was cooked to order, the broccoli fresh and still a bit crisp, but nothing special with the mashed potatoes. The plate presentation was not very creative and just kind of straight forward...no garnish, no sprinkling of herbs, no creative arrangement, no pizzazz and none of the flavors were really special or remarkable. I had the campfire sundae dessert which sounded great, but it fell a bit short. It was a large ball of vanilla ice cream with a crushed graham cracker coating on top of some chocolate and berry syrup. A wooden skewer of marshmallows was stuck through the ball of ice cream, but sadly, the marshmallows were not really toasted.

The second night I had a garden salad with a maple vinaigrette dressing. It was okay, but the veggies were not very crisp or cold. I ate lemon ginger chicken with linguini as my entree and this was just so-so. Not a lot of flavor in the chicken and just a big portion of pasta which I didn't feel compelled to finish. Again...plate presentation was really lacking in making this dish look appealing to eat...no real color contrast on the plate. I decided to try the apple crisp with vanilla ice cream as a dessert and found it plain-jane, not particularly special and not very warm. I left more than half of it on my plate.

They did have a good selection of beer on tap and a fully stocked bar. There were some great seasonal beer and ale selections...a pumpkin beer served in a glass rimmed with cinnamon and a blueberry ale with a fresh blueberries in the bottom of the glass were creative offerings. I did sit at the bar both nights prior to dinner found the bartender to be friendly and very attentive.

It's an okay place to eat if you are staying at the Inn, but I definitely would not make the drive to eat here if I were not a guest. It's just not special enough.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Good Restaurant, but the only one within five miles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My partner also reviewed this. An upscale pub atmosphere. Food was excellent, beer was good but a little overpriced.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice but slightly overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Overall it was a satisfying experience, after overcoming the first shock to see that a regular hamburger with cheese is $ 13.00. My hamburger was well prepared though and big enough to not to be finished. The french fries that came with it were tasty as well. My husband had the chicken pot pie and that was very delicious with plenty of chicken, fresh veggies and an enormous yummy crust. The beer was good, though all together I would rate the restaurant a little on the pricey side given the pub like ambiance. The service was good and prompt.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Harvard's Restaurant & Brewery also viewed

 

Been to John Harvard's Restaurant & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Harvard's Restaurant & Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.