We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roach Motel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   237 Russell Street, Hadley, MA 01035 (Formerly Quality Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Boston, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Roach Motel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2008

Nasty! I called the health department on this disgusting hotel. I discovered vomit, hair, and what I can only describe as "other bodily fliuds" throughout the three rooms that my family stayed in. There was even what appeard to be a possible blood splatter!

Moreover, beer was left in a room where minors were staying, and there was a putrid smoke smell throughout the building. It was so strong that I had to have my clothes drycleaned afte rmy visit. I found it odd that the hotel staff left ash trays and matches in a so-called "non-smoking" hotel.

Run, don't walk, away from this roach motel!

I took pictures of all the dirt, stains and general nastiness, but decided not to upload these disturbing images to my review.

  • Liked — proximity to our destination
  • Disliked — unclean! not accessible for older adults or those using a wheelchair
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    52
    18
    12
    5
See reviews for
45
20
8
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2007

The hotel was nice and clean - looked freshly renovated/painted. The staff at the desk polite and helpful. Continental breakfast good - make your own waffles, yogurt, muffins, bagels, oatmeal.
The indoor pool was well kept - my kids enjoyed it. Close drive to Amherst and Eric Carle Museum (reason for our stay). 15 minute drive to Yankee Candle. There is a nice mall close by with restaurants, rollerskating & lasertag. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2007

Stayed one night in April to look at colleges in Amherst area. Booked the "Internet Rate" which was same as the AAA Rate. (About $62.50 + tax)

Hadley is a small town, convenient to, and barely five minutes from Amherst.

Room was small and simple but adequate, with two double beds although we could have had a queen. I don't think they had Kings. It was on an inside corridor, a plus, with locked outside entry doors.

Room had a small fridge, a microwave, a coffee maker, and a clock radio. Clothing rack but no closet. Free local calls.

Bathroom adequate and all seemed clean.

What distinguished this establishment was its service. My requests for extra pillows, a complimentary toiletry, directions, and restaurant recommendations were all cheerfully accommodated by Brian at the front desk. They had local maps and printed directions to the various colleges in the Amherst/Northampton area.

I noticed a medium sized indoor pool (unusual for a small motel) that appeared clean and in good condition adjoined by a tiny exercise room with three pieces of equipment. Didn't have time to try either.

There was major construction going on as they are expanding. We left too early in the day to be bothered by it. The reservation advised of the construction so there was no surprise.

Complimentary Continental Breakfast was better than expected. Make-your-own waffles are a special bonus along with various breads, sweet danish, muffins, and hard-boiled eggs. Limited choice of dry cereals served out of dispensers, which is always a turn-off to me. Good coffee, though, and some juices. Certainly enough to eat and more than adequate to start the day. The attendant mentioned that they would expand the breakfast offerings when their expansion is completed.

A good value for the area and its category. I'd consider returning here.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — No major complaints
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2005

We booked a room for the busy college Parent's weekend time October 15, 2005 . It was the absolute last room in the area so I had my doubts.

On the way there, I called in advance and they let us check in 2 hours early. I booked a King room and got one with 2 Queens-no big deal. They had a cot ready for me as requested. The Motel is right on busy route 9 but I did not hear the traffic. The good thing about that location is that Whole Foods and many shopping places, (Old Navy, EMS, etc.), as well as collleges are near by. The buildings of the motel were a bit run down and drab-with the occasional blinking hall light-but okay. The room was average size, with table and chairs, standard poly bedspreads, refrigerator and small bathroom, (with continous fan sound), and seperate sink. The beds were ok with low quality linens-but it was the usual. A maid did open the door with her key by mistake, so luckily we were dressed, etc.. Our room looked right out onto the parking lot so the curtains needed to be drawn. The pool was small and cold and worn-the exercise room was a tiny room with outdated step machine, bicycle, and treadmill squeezed into it. There was a wall mounted tv in there.
Breakfast was the usual bagel faire, plus make your own waffles and hard boiled eggs. All in all, aceptable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 237 Russell Street, Hadley, MA 01035 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Hadley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Route 9, the hotel is within minutes of the Five Colleges area, which includes the University of Massachusetts Amherst, Hampshire College, Smith College, Amherst College and Mt. Holyoke College. The hotel offers Comfort Sunshine Breakfast, Heated Indoor Pool and wireless internet access in all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Hadley
Quality Inn Hadley
Comfort Inn Hadley
Hadley Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.