We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RIGHT PLACE, WELL RUN” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Russell Street, Hadley, MA 01035   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“RIGHT PLACE, WELL RUN”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

In this gorgeous area of Western Massachusetts – amid autumn colors, beautiful campuses, and historic towns – it’s sometimes difficult to find lodging that’s not overpriced or undermanaged. In this case – as with most IHG properties that we choose – the price and management were both excellent: large, comfortable rooms (including work space if needed); professional, helpful and eager staff; strong emphasis on cleanliness and upkeep; quiet rooms and hallways; access to local information, large shopping areas, notable eateries, and sightseeing. The only glitch in the entire 4-night stay was the Wi-Fi setup: whether that was due to off-site equipment or on-site difficulties, I don’t know; the staff did seem concerned about the situation, but that matter continued throughout the stay. Beyond that matter, we have strong, positive admiration for a well-run, handsome “home away from home!”

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandrea W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear TexasPadre,

Thank you for staying with us for your recent four night stay. We are so elated to hear that you not only enjoyed the town and area but your enjoyed your stay as well. The staff was so pleased to hear that they were able to assist you with anything you needed. We do apologize about the disruption with the internet during your stay. We did have some technical difficulties and we had our internet provider working on resolving the problem. We are sincerely sorry that it wasn’t able to be resolved before your departure. We do hope to see you for your next visit to the area and thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    63
    26
    6
    6
See reviews for
67
21
9
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I recently stayed here with a large tour group. Many hotels are unprepared to handle close to 50 people arriving at the same time. All the keys were ready and 4 employees helped handle the luggage. In the morning the breakfast was excellent and the staff kept up with the demand. The rooms are beautiful. Overall it was a great stop for us and we will return. Stephanie Chueng stood out as somebody who gets it! Her helpfulness was obvious to the entire group!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandrea W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear John L,

Thank you for choosing us to stay with for your recent trip into Amherst-Hadley. We were so touched by your kind words about our staff and rooms. We are so elated to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Overall i would have given a 4, but there was a lack of supplies in the room - Tissues, toilet paper. Overall the room was spacious, the bed was OK. Internet was good and the Free breakfast was good, exceot they need more seating for busy times.....

Room Tip: The Rooms towards the back of the hotel seem less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandrea W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Tootsy J,

Thank you so much for staying with the us for your recent visit to the area. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the room and breakfast that we offer in the morning complimentary with your stay. I am concerned with the lack of supplies that you were missing in your room. We do appreciate comments made by our guests. It let's us know how we can strive to be better and accommodate our guests during their time away from home. If you would be so kind to contact us directly at holidayinngm@hhgmail.com or by calling me directly at 413-582-0002.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uncasville
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

a horrible loud water drip outside our room made sleep only possible when we masked the noise by leaving the television on . we finally notified the front desk and requested that they come to our room to witness the situation first hand. they chose not to and was told that resolution was not available since a manager was not available on sundays and could not be addressed until Monday or Tuesday. called the service line and was told the same thing by the customer service rep. it was so bad that we departed the hotel prior to taking advantage of the complementary breakfast so we could find someplace to get some sleep. it's absolutely inconceivable to me that a manager could not resolve the situation for either a refund or an alternative room so we could get a couple hours of sleep. I told the person at the desk that I couldn't believe that this problem wasn't reported previously and the response I received was that there had been little rain lately.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandrea W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Timothee2013,

We do sincerely apologize that you did not experience a restful night’s sleep while staying with us. I do know my general manager was on property around 7:30am to resolve technical issues. We apologize that we missed speaking with you before your departure. It is greatly appreciated that you brought this our attention. If you would be so kind to contact us directly at holidayinngm@hhgmail.com or by calling me directly at 413-582-0002 I would love to hear from you to better understand what transpired to further educate our staff and enhance our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I had my wedding at The Lord Jeffery Inn, so I chose the Holiday Inn Express as the hotel for my wedding party and wedding guests since the Inn is pricey. The location is very close to the campus area- less than a 5 minute drive. There is a Target and Walmart near the hotel too so we did not have to travel far for the items we forgot to pack!

The hotel seems to be new and it is very well kept. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms a descent size. The showers are sparkling white and the water pressure is good. It's always nice to have a shower that doesn't look like hundreds of people have used it before you.

The service is amazing. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. My bridesmaids and I were placed in two rooms with an adjoining door so we could easily be in either room.

The breakfast is pretty good for a free one. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the coffee as well. The had bananas and apples for fruit,Yoplait yogurt, eggs, sausage, and bagels, among other food items.

Our stay was very pleasant and I would stay here again if in the area!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandrea W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Pinkblink,

We were so happy that you made the Holiday Inn Express and Suites your choice for your overnight guests who were coming into town for your special day. We are so pleased to hear that the staff could assist you and that you enjoyed your room as well. We greatly appreciate the kind words and do hope to see you again if you are back in the area. Congratulations and best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, MA
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Another road trip, another Holiday Inn Express. We stay at this chain because we rely on it to deliver comfortable, clean rooms, friendly staff, and a good breakfast. This Holiday Inn Express met our (high) expectations and delivered the consistent quality we have come to expect from this chain. The room was very nice, although the air conditioning system was on the noisy side. I managed a good night's sleep anyway, and that's what matters. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast room was spacious, and the selection varied and plentiful. This hotel is closer to downtown Amherst than downtown Hadley, and we drove the short distance into Amherst for dinner which was very convenient.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandrea W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear 65Wagonaire,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express and Suites in the Amherst-Hadley area. The staff was elated to hear that you enjoyed the amenities that the hotel has to offer including our complimentary deluxe breakfast. We were also pleased to hear that you did receive a good night’s sleep and the front desk could help you during your stay. We do hope to see you again if you’re traveling to this area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

If you are scouting Universities for family members, good hotel to stay at. Clean, central to good restaurants and accessible to interstate highways. Good breakfast for these kind of trips for all family members. Rooms are large enough to fit a family of 4 for overnight stays and beds are very comfortable. Summary, good priced, comfortable stay, central to interstate highway and restaurants.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandrea W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear EdgarH47,

We are so pleased you choose to stay with us while scouting out the nearby colleges. Thank you so much for your kind words and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again if your in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley

Address: 400 Russell Street, Hadley, MA 01035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Hadley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amherst/Hadley, is located in the Pioneer Valley, conveniently situated near Amherst, Hampshire, Mount Holyoke, Smith College, and the University of Massachusetts. Our 100 rooms include a business class floor and 22 suites. Enjoy complimentary, deluxe 'Smart Start' breakfast, including hot items; wireless high-speed Internet; and use of our indoor pool and fitness room. Explore all our area has to offer and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley Hotel Hadley
Holiday Inn Express Hadley
Holiday Inn Hadley
Hadley Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.