We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff was wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Russell Street, Hadley, MA 01035   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Staff was wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Very nice stay for reunion weekend. The staff was organized, friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great and the property was clean and nice. The pullout bed, however, was fine for child, but a bit thin for an adult. Also, there were some noisy folks above us and we heard their every clompy move. So ask for the top floor, if possible.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandrea W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Beachcomber42,

Thank you so much for choosing the Holiday Inn Express for your reunion weekend. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while you were in town. I will be passing along your comments to the staff and I know they will be so pleased to hear that they could assist you while you were staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    63
    26
    6
    6
See reviews for
67
21
9
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We ended up at this hotel by the luck of the draw. So glad. Staff was extremely delightful and helpful as we had screwed up the reservation online. We arrived quite late so we were hoping there were no surprises. Well, there were, but they were all good. The room was large and lovely and VERY bright! Perfect. The only disappointment .... the usual breakfast fare you find in most hotels these days that passes for 'real' food. Good coffee though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandrea W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear TaraVegas4,

Thank you very much for your comments. The staff was thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel upon arrival and they could assist you with your reservations. Thanks again for the wonderful feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for graduation weekend, and of course we had to book last summer, but the booking was easy and clear. We called a couple of time with questions and also to let know we'll arrive late, and the staff was very helpful. The rooms were nice and comfortable, there was plenty of parking (even though the hotel was fully booked), and everything seems to be working well. About the price I can't comment as this weekend was expensive in all hotels in the area. The breakfast room was large enough to seat all the guests, and there was a nice selection of breakfast items. Yet, it was quite mediocre. I think I'd love to see decent coffee, more fresh fruits and nice yogurts and less pastry and eggs (which looked like they were just heated there). Maybe it's this unique location with all the amazing coffee shops (Amherst and Northampton), but I felt I'd rather pay a little place and not have breakfast at this hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandrea W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear HappyCat990,

We would like to thank you for staying with us for graduation weekend at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites. We are so happy that the front desk staff could assit you before coming in for your big weekend. Unfortunately the breakfast menu is chosen by our brand and we are required to follow the brand standards. Although we cannot change the breakfast menu items, we do take the comments and suggestions from our guests and pass them on to the brand. Again, we would like to thank you for staying with us. We look forward to serving your future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were in Amherst for the UMass graduation, a very busy weekend. We had to make reservations last summer. I called to check on early check in as we were arriving before 3pm. I was told to call when we arrived. Minutes later, I received a call from the hotel informing us that we could check in early and that we had been upgraded to a King Suite which was a pleasant surprise. The room was very comfortable as we were travelling with our daughter. The breakfast was good. We received a gift basket with snacks and spring water along with a note from the manager thanking us for choosing them for commencement weekend. A nice touch. Overall, I was quite happy with our stay and will go back again as we have another daughter in college in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandrea W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Thomas N,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express and Suites for your graduation weekend. We are so elated to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel and the front desk was able to get you in for an early arrival. We look forward to seeing you in the future while your in the area visiting your daughter at school.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed there a weekend visiting our son at college. The room we had a lovely view over some woods and was quite comfortable. The free internet worked. They had free breakfast with the room that had some issues (eggs made with some mixture), but overall had a good variety -- and you could have a healthy breakfast. There were a few loud guests that made some noise (maybe some signs in the halls to keep quiet after 10PM would help), but overall, it was a very pleasant place to stay and get a good night's sleep. Wouldn't rate so highly if we paid more, but given the price, it was great.

Room Tip: Request one overlooking the wods in the back if you like such views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandrea W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Robby71,

Thank you for your review on the Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Hadley. We are so happy that you enjoyed the amentities here at the hotel.

We are sorry to hear that there was noise in the halls after 10pm. We do have a guest service agent at the desk 24 hours who can assist you with any noise complaints during your stay if they arise.

We hope to see you again when you come for your next visit to see your son.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

visiting colleges in the area and chose this HI Express. This the second HI Express we've stayed in and been impressed with (other being in Playa Del Carmen Mexico). Husband travels quite frequenlty for business and also agreed, HIE has very state of the art rooms, immaculate, newer bedding, furniture, WiFI, etc.. Tons of different pillows (firm, soft). Matress was extremely uncomfortable but not fault of hotel. Great breakfast area, very quite as its on main road but set way back off the road. Had a queen suite which was huge. Furniture looked brand new and actually quite nice. Would stay again in a heartbeat if we return to area...

Room Tip: Queen Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandrea W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Ercur,

Thank you so much for the kind review. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites. We look forward to seeing you when you return to this area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Patchogue, New York, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Holiday inn isn't our usual hotel chain. We are a family of three visiting extended family, and wanted to stay very close, and not willing to drive 20 or 30 minutes out of town. The second hotel I called had no vacancies, and that clerk suggested this HIE.

The queen size suite is 2 rooms that could accommodate 6 (between the 2 beds and the sofa bed in the separate sitting room). It was roomy. The light bulbs were compact fluorescent and harsh. The bathroom was large and clean. The suite had a separate bar sink, microwave, and small prep area.

I looked at the pool and it seemed clean, but we did not have time to swim. It was due for its periodic cleaning, according to the hotel's website. I saw 2 treadmills in the adjoining fitness room.

We did not stay for the complementary breakfast, though I grabbed some coffee and hot chocolate. It seemed adequate, the usual fare, with disposable plasticware and cups.

We were happy with the accommodations. I was disappointed by the lack of response after accidentally leaving some property behind. A response to my inquiry would have been appropriate.

Room Tip: stayed in a Queens Suite on 3rd (top) floor. Mostly quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandrea W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear ChrisP,

We were pleased to hear that you stayed with us at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites. Our two queen suites are quite roomy for large families traveling together and we were so glad you enjoyed the space.

We are sorry to hear of the inconvenience you had with an item that was left behind. Please contact the hotel directly at your earliest convenience the management team would love to hear more about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley

Address: 400 Russell Street, Hadley, MA 01035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Hadley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amherst/Hadley, is located in the Pioneer Valley, conveniently situated near Amherst, Hampshire, Mount Holyoke, Smith College, and the University of Massachusetts. Our 100 rooms include a business class floor and 22 suites. Enjoy complimentary, deluxe 'Smart Start' breakfast, including hot items; wireless high-speed Internet; and use of our indoor pool and fitness room. Explore all our area has to offer and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley Hotel Hadley
Holiday Inn Express Hadley
Holiday Inn Hadley
Hadley Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.