We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly as advertised” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Route 9 Diner

Route 9 Diner
458-11 Russell St, Hadley, MA 01035-9528
(413) 253-0505
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 49 Restaurants in Hadley
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Exactly as advertised”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Comfort food, good service, friendly staff, reasonable prices and a pleasant environment. Seemed to be loved by the locals. We had breakfast there twice & Were not disappointed much better than its outside appearance

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    38
    18
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“We were hungry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

After exploring the hill towns to the west of the Connecticut river in central Massachusetts we wanted a good meal and diner food usually can provide that. I really wanted a steak and I got a good one but for one problem. It was cooked perfect which is often hard to get when eating in a restaurant, it was tender which I appreciated and had good flavor, but I must have thrown a third of it away because of the gristle. The baked potato was over done and the corn was tasteless. I had salad and it was OK, my wife's stir fried chicken and vegetables was so salty that she ate the chicken and left the rest. Her clam chowder was not good.
The desserts looked incredible, but we passed as we did not want another disappointment. The service although a bit slow was good and we tipped the waitress for her attitude and trying.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
1 review
“It is what it sounds like,a Dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Service was good,average food,good breakfast,if your hungry why not!No gourmet treat here.Atmosphere is what you would expect in a faux nineteen fifties dinner,great pastry though,their baked products are worth every penny.Try a slice of cake or pie,.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Patchogue, New York, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“A diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had breakfast - it is a diner, with nostalgic photos, CD jukeboxes, and lots of chrome and neon. Not too greasy, coffee was good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

What a nice experience. Great food great value wonderful staff. The menu is full of selections of all sorts. The food is always fresh and plentiful this place is the real thing we go there atleast once a week

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Route 9 Diner also viewed

Hadley, Hampshire County
Hadley, Hampshire County
 
Hadley, Hampshire County
Hadley, Hampshire County
 

Been to Route 9 Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Route 9 Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.