We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excxellent customer service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Bay Road, Hadley, MA 01035   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Shop til you Drop
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
nyc
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“excxellent customer service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent sleep quality and lovely location. A lot of hotels in the area this is my second stay and not disappointed. Clean environment in and outside of the hotel. It is well maintained.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beriley, General Manager at Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for stopping by and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel. Our staff is very focused on delivering the best guest experience and we are so glad you had a great stay. Thanks for your kind words and praise. Hope to see you on your next trip to the area.

Betsy Riley
General Manager
413-586-4851
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    114
    26
    5
    3
See reviews for
144
58
27
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed at this hotel over graduation weekend 2014 for a family wedding that was taking place in Whately. Despite the wedding guests providing a significant portion of the sold out bookings for that night, the customer service we encountered upon entering the hotel was horrible. The young man behind the counter was extremely rude and offputting, making us all feel as if we were bothering him by checking in despite many of us calling in advance to say we would all be arriving at once and needing to check in quickly for that afternoon's wedding. The younger man who took over the desk later in the evening was much more pleasant and helpful, actually treating us as humans and customers. The first man behind the desk was so rude he honestly should be removed from his position.

The hotel itself is decent, as with most Hampton Inns. The location was convenient for anything in the area of the local colleges - easy access to 91 with ample parking. The rooms were clean and quiet, although not very big. The indoor pool was clean and well kept. The lobby area where breakfast was served was also clean and well kept and the breakfast provided had healthful options and was plentiful and was provided on eco friendly materials. The price over graduation weekend (over $200 a night for a simple room) was highway robbery but the hotel provided all we needed. If this hotel could solve its customer service problems I would recommend it. With the current staffing (and prices!), I cannot.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beriley, General Manager at Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
I would like to take a moment to personally thank you for submitting your experience. Your feedback is truly important to us because it helps us to realize both our strengths and weaknesses from our guests' point of view. I apologize that we did not exceed your expectations on service throughout your stay. We strive to provide the world class experience you expect from our brand and regret this was not your experience. We will keep your concerns in mind as we continually evolve to best meet and exceed our guests' needs and hope you will give us another opportunity to impress should you return to our area in the future.

Thank you
Betsy Riley
General Manager
24 Bay Rd.
Hadley, MA
413-586-4851
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My family stayed at this hotel during the UMass Amherst graduation weekend. The hotel was ideal for the purpose with one complaint. The price during graduation weekend. But the same goes for all hotel in the area. They essentially double the per night rate and require a 2 night stay. Otherwise I would not hesitate to stay here again. Front desk was friendly and efficient. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Nice free breakfast in the morning. Location is just far enough way from the schools where traffic was not a problem. We had previously stayed the Econo Lodge which is closer to Amherst center but preferred the Hampton Inn and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medfield, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We had a lovely graduation stay. Close to Smith College yet not in the craziness of downtown Northampton. Clean rooms. Good breakfast. We got the exact rooms we were promised. Lived up to all expectations. Brought the grandparents and they were very happy with their room - all good!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beriley, General Manager at Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Hello Brandi E

Thank you for your kind words and thoughtful praise. We are very happy that you chose our hotel for your Graduation Celebration. Congratulations to your Graduate!

Betsy Riley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel several times while our daughter was in college and have always been pleased. The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly and the amenities are bountiful.
Nice gym, good pool and ample breakfast. It's nice to have coffee and tea as well as fresh fruit available 24/7. The location is within close proximity to several local colleges.
A great choice for families or visiting college parents like us. Very safe also
We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beriley, General Manager at Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Janis,

Wonderful! I am always glad to hear when you have a great stay. Our staff is very committ to providing top notch service and product. They will be happy to read your review.

Hope to see you on your next trip to the area.

Betsy Riley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglasville, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Very nice place. Very upscale and the staff was very helpful with suggesting places to eat nearby. The location was very convenient and an easy on/off of the highway. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is traveling to the Boston area. It was pleasant, the staff was friendly, the lobby was beautiful, the fact that you can get hot tea at night was convenient.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times since my son is in school in the area. This hotel if fine; the rooms are clean, the staff is helpful and professional, and the location is okay. However, there really is nothing which sets it apart and makes me think I just have to book if for my next stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst

Address: 24 Bay Road, Hadley, MA 01035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Hadley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst Hotel Hadley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.