We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gibbet Hill Grill

Gibbet Hill Grill
61 Lowell Rd, Groton, MA 01450-1314
978-448-2900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Groton
Price range: $0 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Kennebunkport, Maine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

It was fabulous from the moment we pulled into the driveway. Breathtaking scenery, fabulous. Food, and the service was exemplary.. Attentive without being too fussy. We were given all the time we wanted.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    71
    30
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
basking ridge, nj
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Never disappoints. From the steak to the salmon to the shepherd's pie, always a great meal. Leave room for the homemade cookies (and milk) for dessert.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Perfect 20th anniversary meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

My husband and I decided this was the place to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We had a reservation and were promptly seated to a table with a great view of the meadow. Greeted warmly by our server. Service top notch.. always there for water refills and asking if we needed anything after every course. We had the grilled cheese and tomato soup appetizer (absolutely delicious!) Wedge salad, Clam chowder. I had the haddock and my husband the chicken pot pie. Everything fresh, warm, and just yummy!! Obviously no room for dessert. For a Wednesday night it was really busy so definitely make reservation. Great atmosphere, food, and service. Gibbet Hill is top notch!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Private Dining in Silo for memorable small party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

If you are celebrating a birthday or special event reserving one of the two Silo Rooms is really worthwhile. We wanted to have a special birthday dinner with a mix of adults and young children, without having to shout to be heard (or worry about the children acting up and annoying other patrons). The silo room was great for that and the individualized attention made it that much more special. We had the downstairs silo room, which is actually the lower half of the actual silo extension: a round room with views of fields behind the restaurant.
To book the silo room, there is a deposit required and a contract to sign, with a minimum order size (which varies by day of week - info is on website). It's ideal for a party of 6-8, we had planned on 6 but had only 2 adults and 2 children in the end, so we "had" to order very expensive wine to make sure we met the minimum order (such a hardship:)).
Our kids (4 and 7), who normally are pretty particular, both loved the grilled cheese and tomato sauce appetizer, and my youngest particularly loved dipping his fresh bread in the mussels broth. Also a hit with the kids was the warm cookies and milk dessert. We adults loved the mussels and grilled cheese. The duck was ok, the steak is always good, and I loved the carrot cake.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Special Visits and Family get Togethers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Always consistently good food and service. Even on a busy evening if we call ahead they find room for us and we get seated without too long of a wait. The bread is delicious as is the calm chowder. Meats are always cooked to perfection. Drinks are made well and worth it. Love going anytime and when my family says" Where do you want to eat mom?" I always choose this restaurant!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gibbet Hill Grill also viewed

 

Been to Gibbet Hill Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gibbet Hill Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.