We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gibbet Hill Grill

Gibbet Hill Grill
61 Lowell Rd, Groton, MA 01450-1314
978-448-2900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Groton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Boston
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Location & Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I had dinner here just before Christmas. I definitely have to go back during the day - it's a beautiful spot.
We had drinks at the bar - which was very crowded - and dinner in the restaurant area. Service was great in both places. Food was delicious. I had the shepherds pie, my friend had a steak.
They are owned by the group that owns the Scarlet Oak Tavern in Hingham - with almost identical menus - but the Gibbet Hill Grill is more casual.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    79
    32
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westford, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Always GREAT at Gibbet Hill Grill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

If ever you are looking to bring guests from outside of the Westford/Groton area I would suggest you take them to Gibbet Hill. The wait staff is amazing along with the atmosphere and menu choices. We took some friends who live in the Worcester area last weekend and they can't wait to go back. I highly recommend a reservation especially on a Saturday night but as luck would have it, we did not have a reservation last Saturday night and we were seated in a very reasonable time, but weather could have been a factor because we got dealt a decent snow storm Saturday night, so there were likely less walk-ins during the evening we were there.
It is always a sure bet any time of the year.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Gibbett Hill Restaurant, Groton, Mass.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The Gibbet Hill is located in a beautiful country setting. The restaurant is very nicely decorated and the service is quite good. The food is good, but not outstanding, and, in my opinion, overpriced for the quality.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Been Going for Years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I spend a great deal of time in Groton, MA and always find an excuse to go to Gibbet Hill. I've hosted a number of business events there as well. The food is always outstanding. It's not cheap, but you get a wonderful meal and a nice wine list. I've made an entire dinner out of their famous maple glazed carrots! The atmosphere is romantic and cozy. Great place for events as well as a couples get away. I love this gem in this small NE town.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford,ma
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food. Wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Gibbet Hill Grill is a wonderful restaurant to have a hearty meal. I have been their six times and loved the meal every time. In addition, my son had his wedding rehearsal dinner there (up-stairs) and was delighted. The coordinator could not have been nicer, the accommodations roomy, and the food fantastic.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gibbet Hill Grill also viewed

 

Been to Gibbet Hill Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gibbet Hill Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.