We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Motel

Mountain View Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mountain View Motel to your Saves list
Mountain View Motel
304 State Road - Route 23 East, Great Barrington, MA 01230   |  
Hotel amenities
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Overall, I was very pleased with my stay at the Mountain View Motel. The owner was very kind and hospitable. Everything was very clean and the room smelled good. I stayed in the room with the King size bed and sofa, and I was pleased with how big the room was. It was also in a great location, as it was very close to the main part of Great Barrington.

The biggest disappointment was the soap and shampoo given- they were SO small! They were barely enough for one person. I WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND BRINGING YOUR OWN SOAP/SHAMPOO if you stay there.

Everything in the room seemed a bit on the older side, but the room was clean, which is what's most important.

Also- there is no continental breakfast, although it advertises one on the sign.

In my opinion it was not worth the money ($190 for one night), but that was the cheapest around for a hotel in the Berkshires on a weekend during the summer. Considering that it was cheaper than all of its competitors, it was a nice place to stay for one night. I would recommend it to others and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    35
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
28
44
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed one night in the least expensive room. Booking was last minute and few choices were available in GB. The room was clean and the king bed extremely comfortable. The room, however, was very small and the bathroom tiny. No hairdryer. If we stayed again, I would get a more expensive room wiith two queens or two doubles. I was shown those rooms and they were much nicer--much larger with much nicer bathrooms. The motel seems family owned and the family members are all helpful and friendly. This is a simple motel but it served its purpose for a reasonably priced stay given peak summer rates in GB (I.e., if this wasn't a tourist town during peak season I would say overpriced, but it is a tourist town and it was August on the weekend of the Monument Mtn Crafts Fair....).

Room Tip: Get one of the renovated rooms with two queens or at least one with two doubles. Worth the extra mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed @ Mountain View with a group - reserved approx. 10 rooms. When we compared room charges, it was pretty obvious they used a gouge pricing strategy - no rationale as to why one room was more expensive than another. So, right there, feels like a rip off.
Our room had bare, live electric wires just taped off - no marr connectors or other safety precaution. The jets in the jacuzzi tub were covered with a brown film, no indication when they were properly cleaned.
Room had a chemical air freshener smell and the supplied towels and face clothes were thread bare.
Bed was comfortable and the sheets were ok.

Room Tip: Lower or have no expectations and this is the place for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton and Wellfleet, MA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I expected much more after reading the Trip Adviser reviews of this place. Yes, the owner is a nice guy, and yes, the beds are decent, but the rooms smell strongly like some sort of air freshener and it is VERY overpriced for a very bare-bones motel. If the price had been half of what we paid, it would have been bearable, but for almost $200 per night, we expected much more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Looked for a reasonably priced accommodation in the high season at Tanglewood Music Fest. This was it. Basics. Very Friendly owner. Small room but we only slept in it. Bath & shower small but clean & new. 1/2 price from any other property in the area. Would return next summer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Very clean, well equipped, handy to Berkshire attractions, including a lovely back roads drive to Tanglewood; exceptionally friendly staff

Room Tip: All rooms appear fine - ours had good A/C and good bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

From the minute we found the website of Mountain View Motel - to our arrival and departure, it was easy going. Website is so simple to navigate, check it out! It includes where to eat and what's in the neighborhood among other helpful information. When deciding to book, I spoke on the phone directly with the owner Jignesh who was extremely obliging and explained the different rooms offered which are easy to view on the website. I then booked directly online using their website – no 3rd party involved, simple and quick, received a confirmation phone call and email. On arriving we were warmly greeted by the owner and my husband made a bee line for the Keurig coffee machine in the check-in area, that was enough right there! The owner’s wife was also very helpful. Our room was CLEAN, COMFORTABLE and oh so QUIET, just what we needed. Also you can choose to have room windows open or use heater or air conditioner. And to boot, great TV channel selections to view if you choose to stay in. Don’t hesitate to give them a call. We hope to be back! Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Motel

Address: 304 State Road - Route 23 East, Great Barrington, MA 01230
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mountain View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Hotel Great Barrington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.