We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just the kind of service you'd be looking for when travelling with big kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lantern House Motel Great Barrington

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Great Barrington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Save
You added Lantern House Motel Great Barrington to your Saves list
256 Stockbridge Road, Rt 7, Great Barrington, MA 01230   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
munich
1 review
“just the kind of service you'd be looking for when travelling with big kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

We found great kindness and service: clean rooms, a helpful mind, pointing out the amenities available. We found all the space we needed in a beautiful part of the country. Special thanks to Hasu and his wife. My family found your accomodations to be excellent. Hasu went beyond what most owners would do for you.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    78
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
83
80
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alpena, Michigan, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

Our rustic room, set back from the main street, was clean, spacious, and had a great bed. Given the knotty-pine walls, it was a little dim at night, but brought back memories of so many cottages in my native northern Michigan.

Though you cannot make coffee in your own room, it's available several doors down (at most) in a small commons area.

The light salt-water pool was refreshing, the other guests mostly pleasant, and the chairs outside the room a pleasant place to sit and chat.

The staff was very accommodating, and Hasu seemed genuinely concerned to receive any constructive feedback. All I could offer was wider steps with anti-slip matting coming up out of the pool.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

We were very happy with our stay. The bathroom looked newly updated. There was a refredgerator in our room ( in every room). The matress was very comfortable. If the weather was warmer we would have walked to Railroad Street for dinner, shopping and a movie (probably a 20 minute walk) but only a 3 minute drive.

The Barrington Brewery is right next door (great fresh beer and burgers!)

Lantern House also gives complimentary bagels, cereal and coffee in the morning. The patrons are hospitable and friendly.

From what I've heard, in Great Barrington you pay $150+ for a hotel with a big name, and they aren't very good. Pay less than 1/2 of that for a nice stay with a more comfortable bed, at the Lantern House.

-Dan

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

On a recent trip to Stockbridge I decided to stay in a non-cookie cutter motel, and happened on the Lantern Room. My good luck. The host, Hasu, was very nice and accommodating, giving me several suggestions for dinner, etc. The price was quite reasonable as well.

The room was as I'd hoped - somewhat nostalgic, yet up-o-date. The bed was very comfortable, but the real treat was the shower! I don;t know where Hasu got those shower heads, but it was like a spa treatment - possibly the most refreshing in a decade.

The Lantern Room is close enough to the center of Great Barrington for a casual walk into town, which I did for breakfast the next morning - having had dinner right across the road the previous night.

I had a great stay, and recalling Hasu's polite and pleasant manner is a fond memory.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington VT
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

I stayed here with my partner over the weekend. Our room was very nice with new furniture and a very nice bed. The jacuzzi was awesome. The noise from the road was at usual motel level , but noise from other rooms was minimal, I could mostly hear people talking when in the bathroom. The one issue is that there was an automatic air freshener in the room, but it was really simple to turn off. The free wifi was great. The breakfast was very basic, coffee, donuts, and cereal, but for the price breakfast was a bonus. The motel is across the street from a natural food grocer and within walking distance of a McDonald's and supermarket. There's a fridge and microwave in the room, so it's easy to stock up on food and keep in in the room.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

We stayed one night at the Lantern House. Convenient to local ski areas (Catamount, Butternut) and Great Barrington restaurants. Excellent value for the dollar. Room was clean and roomy, had every amenity--fridge, microwave, TV, free WiFi. Staff was very helpful and accommodating. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

We stayed at the Latern House Motel for 5 nights during President's week and found it to be comfortable and clean. My 11 yr old son was in ski camp at Butternut so we started each morning with cereal from the continental breakfast and then drove 10 minutes to the slopes. I appreciated how quiet the room is for sleep - set off the road, baseboard heat with your own themostat (no loud motel heat unit). Along with the pillowtop bed, flatsceen tv and wifi connection, we had everything that we needed for our stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lantern House Motel Great Barrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern House Motel Great Barrington

Address: 256 Stockbridge Road, Rt 7, Great Barrington, MA 01230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're just minutes away from Tanglewood and summer playhouses. There are historical sites, museums, beautiful scenery, and the Berkshires' own special blend of antiques and country shops. If it's the outdoors you like, there is canoeing, biking or hiking trails. The winter season provides you an abundance of cross-country and downhill skiing nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington Hotel Great Barrington
Lantern Hotel Great Barrington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lantern House Motel Great Barrington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.