We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and very clean!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lantern House Motel Great Barrington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lantern House Motel Great Barrington to your Saves list
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   256 Stockbridge Road, Route 7, Great Barrington, MA 01230   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing and very clean!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We really enjoyed this motel when we stayed back in June. The staff or owners are very friendly and accommodating. The grounds are kept well and it's very clean. Our son enjoyed the pool and the location is great. I would recommend and stay again if we went back to the Berkshires!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    83
    9
    5
    6
See reviews for
89
82
29
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stayed here for two nights last weekend and while the room was basic it was also very clean, warm and inviting. The most notable characteristic is the rich knotty pin panelling that cover the room walls and reminded my of my childhood. In fact, with the exception of the phone and television the room could be on the set of AMC's Mad Men. The place is run by a couple from India who clearly take a lot of pride in their motel, cleaning all the rooms themselves. The included breakfast was basic cereal and pre-made half bagels with cream cheese. The coffee should be considered merely a caffeine delivery mechanism, but there are plenty of other options nearby.

Room Tip: As it is a straight line motel it looks like all the rooms are the same or at least look the same. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stopped by on July 18th and found the owner to be very accomodating. The room was clean, the pool was great. Our room had been recently remodeled and it was a great location. I would definately recommend it. Thank you Hasu

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, CT
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

After checking prices at all the motels in the area, we decided on Lantern House as the best value. The buildings are old, which is nice because the windows actually open for cross-ventilation, you are not trapped in air conditioning. The rooms are reasonably clean and the backyard swimming pool is lovely. The continental breakfast is pretty good. Rooms come with mini refrigerator and microwave, but no other frills -- for example, if you want conditioner for your hair and moisture lotion for your body, bring your own. But the soap and shampoo are name brands (Dial and Breck). Hair dryer and iron and ironing board available on request.
Great Barrington is expensive in the summer, which makes sense because of convenient access to so many of the concerts and other cultural events going on. However, if you don't need to be in the "heart" of the Berkshires, you can drive another 1/2 hour north to the Lenox-Pittsfield town line and pay less for a similar motel.

Room Tip: This motel has more rooms with 2 Queen beds than with 1 King. Apparently the "2 Queen" roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yardley, pa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My husband stayed here after I read reviews and the place was described as "recently remodeled and clean". He sent me pictures of a dark, drab room. We stayed at other hotels in the area for the same price ($150) which were modernly decorated with courteous owners. The owner called me to tell me that my husband had not checked out of the room and check out was 10am. He said he already rented that room and needed his things out to clean it. I assured him I would call my husband who was taking my son to mass and that he would be back soon to clean it out. He asked if he wanted to stay another night, and I said "I'm not sure" and I would check with him. When my husband got back to the room around 11:30 the owner followed him to the room and said he had to pay him $50 because he "stayed late". He said he was not staying another night. He told my husband he had to come to the office to pay the extra $50. He refused because the office smelled of incense and would not go to the office, so waited by his car to sign for the bogus overcharge. We have stayed at top hotels all over the world and have NEVER been charged for staying past checkout. Do Not stay at the Lantern, it is not at all as described on tripadvisor.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The Berkshires has many different accommodation options and Motels fill a very important need. For this trip we decided at the last minute to extend our stay by one night and we decided to use this opportunity to spend the day in a different location. We looked for a place which was centrally located, was excellent value for money, and did not require a multi-day commitment. For simple, value accommodation this is an excellent choice

We chose the Lantern House motel based on reviews and we were very satisfied.

I can't vouch for availability at other times, but in late July they had a room or two availability with one days notice.

Even though the motel fronts the highway, the rooms are well set back and we did not hear any traffic noise at all.

What we liked:
- Check in was quick and easy
- Room location was nice. The owner tries to spread guests out.
- Kid and Family friendly. We did not try the pool, but it defiantly is kid friendly with a pool, a play set, and lots of open grass for running around, playing soccer, Frisbee or tag.
- The coffee. If your looking for a good cup of Joe then stay here
- The donut shop next door. Yes, they have all the tasty treats and breakfast sandwiches etc you could crave

What we did not like
- Our room had a "squeeky" floor in one specific location. We simply moved the table to cover it and it stopped bother us as we no longer walked past it.
- The in-room fridge was loud. We simply unplugged it
- The WiFi in our room was spotty (but we were the furthest room from the hotspot.) If connectivity is important, then request a room closer to the router!

Room Tip: This is s single level motel. If connectivity is important let the owner know so you can get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EASTPORT
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We drove up to Great Barrington from Long Island, just to get away for a couple of days. We needed to find a motel room and pulled into the Lantern House Motel because the Vacancy sign was lit, it was centrally located, and very charming looking. Mr. Patel, the owner, personally showed us three different rooms - each slightly different from each other with different configurations of amenities and different prices - and then asked us which room we would prefer. That, in itself, was a unique experience. The room we picked had a comfortable king-size bed and beautiful honey-colored pine tongue and groove paneling. It had kind of a retro feel but everything was newly renovated and sparklingly clean. Mr. Patel is extremely friendly, very kind, and takes such good care of his property and patrons. We were very comfortable at his motel and the price was very reasonable. There is a gourmet market across the street and a handmade chocolate shop within walking distance. Also, there is a wonderful donut shop with delicious breakfast sandwiches and smoothies directly next store - although the motel provides a very nice continental breakfast with the cost of the room. We would absolutely stay at the Lantern House Motel the next time we are in the Great Barrington area and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a clean, comfortable, reasonably priced motel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lantern House Motel Great Barrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern House Motel Great Barrington

Address: 256 Stockbridge Road, Route 7, Great Barrington, MA 01230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Great Barrington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Great Barrington
#4 Business Hotel in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lantern House Motel Great Barrington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're just minutes away from Tanglewood and summer playhouses. There are historical sites, museums, beautiful scenery, and the Berkshires' own special blend of antiques and country shops. If it's the outdoors you like, there is canoeing, biking or hiking trails. The winter season provides you an abundance of cross-country and downhill skiing nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Lantern House Motel Great Barrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington Hotel Great Barrington
Lantern Hotel Great Barrington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lantern House Motel Great Barrington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.