We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 Things I like about Koi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koi Chinese Restaurant

Koi Chinese Restaurant
300 State Rd, Great Barrington, MA 01230
(413) 528-5678
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“10 Things I like about Koi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Ten things I like about Koi
1) Fun bright orange chairs and booths!
2) Tea is complimentary
3) Portions are generous
4) Food is fresh and good
5) You get a bottle of water on your table
6) Cool waterfall in the entrance
7) Very attentive staff
8) Best spring rolls
9) Never a wait for a table
10) Waiving Asian kitty in lobby

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    20
    7
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Barrington Special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Good standard Chinese food both new and old favorites.Kid friendly and after ski destination near Butternut slopes.
Prompt service and moderate prices.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LI
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“A step above your ordinary Chinese restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Koi is located slightly away from most area restaurants, but still is on a main road. It was a pleasant surprise to find this most attractive restaurant in the Berkshires.
The staff is very friendly and welcomes you warmly.
The menu while typical has some excellent additions. The best was the clay pot chicken and the vegetable dumplings.
Portions were smaller than most Chinese restaurants, and they did charge for rice, which was unusual. Also dinners did not come with anything, so soup was al carte.
Surprisingly they never offered a desert menu, so maybe they don't serve desert.(except for Chinese fortune cookies)

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Chinese food as I've come to expect in the Berkshires- basic, tasty.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The food is excellent, although I believe the menu is the same as it was way back when. The last time I was there I came for take-out, so I can't rate the service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Expensive, high-quality food, small portions.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The restaurant atmosphere is lovely. Airy, modern dining room. We waited 43 minutes for our food with not one update. Unacceptable. Food is delicious, but the portions are small and it's expensive for average, run of the mill Chinese food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koi Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Great Barrington, Berkshires
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 

Been to Koi Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koi Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.