We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annual pilgrimage” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barrington Brewery & Restaurant

Barrington Brewery & Restaurant
420 Stockbridge Rd, Great Barrington, MA 01230
+1 413-528-8282
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Brew Pub, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Since 1995 the Barrington Brewery has been serving our own Barn Brewed Beer and food made from scratch. We were the first brewery on the east coast to install a solar panel system that supplies solar-heated hot water for brewing and restaurant use.
Pa
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Annual pilgrimage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We vacation near here every year and it has become a tradition to ride our bikes there for a brew and a meal. This time we opted for appetizers and were very pleasantly surprised. We had the Mediterranean platter which was really excellent...best hummus ever. The Sausage platter was very good also. A couple of brave souls tried the Oaxacan wings and were told they were not too hot. The guys who ordered them are veteran spicy wing eaters. Buyer beware. They are really HOT! They just about bested these guys and they can really do spicy. I would not even dare to go near them if these guys could hardly tolerate them.
As typical for here, the service is not stellar but we felt pretty ignored this time around. But the beer is always good so we will return next year.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    110
    47
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NY
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Fun place, reliable menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We've been coming here at least 1-2 times per summer for about five years. The food is consistently good. The beer battered onion rings are definitely the star! I love the vegetarian chili - it's the item I order the most. My family and friends have had many other menu items over the course of time - everyone seems happy. There is something for everyone here. The beers, of course, are great. Try a Shandy Pale (I think that's what it is called...?) It's a mix of ginger ale and one of their home-brewed pale ales. It's amazing!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Average Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had the steak and cheese sandwich which was pretty good and a side of fries that were excellent. I also had a garden salad that I had to pick at and not finish because the lettuce seemed to be old and warm..not very tasty.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not impressed. Way overpriced for the quality of food & service. Very good beer.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Not impressed with anything here except the beer. Food and service are average at best. The outdoor dining area is a nice place to gather with friends for a few great brews. But not a place I would recommend for dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable brew-pub with very good comfort food & decent beers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My Fiance & I stopped in for a late lunch after hiking at the nearby waterfalls. The wait staff on this afternoon was very helpful & friendly. We initially sat at their outside seating area but after 10 minutes we asked to move inside, and the staff cheerfully accommodated this request.

We had the Mixed NY Grill and Brewhouse Beef Philly sandwiches and each were very good. We asked for the beer battered french fries with our sandwiches and they were delicious; we recommend them highly!

As for the beer we opted to choose the Vienna and NE Farmers Ale, both of which were very good. They sell growlers or 22oz bottles of beer that you can purchase to take home. The Vienna was good to the point where we purchased two bottles.

All in all we had a very satisfying & relaxing lunch at the Barrington Brewery and will return again on future trips to the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrington Brewery & Restaurant also viewed

Great Barrington, Berkshires
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 
Great Barrington, Berkshires
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 

Been to Barrington Brewery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barrington Brewery & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.