We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little mountain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ski Butternut

Ski Butternut
380 State Rd - Rt 23, Great Barrington, MA 01230
413-528-2000
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Sports
Activities: Skiing
Attraction details
Rocky Point, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great little mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Offer so much for beginners. Inexpensive and always have deals.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    41
    13
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“we had a excellent experience with our kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

after a bad experience at another mountian, we tried Butternut. What a great experience we had. the set up was awesome. there are about 5 different bunny trails for the kids, 4 majic carpet lifts and one regular beginner lift. My 15 year old neice was with us for her firs ski experience and we were 10 minutes early for her group lesson. the instructor that was there (Al) was so nice to her, gave her a quick lesson right there! then my 4 year old took a lesson with Forrest....he did great! very nice family mountain...we will for sure be back again!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful skiing dispite no real snow!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

I visited Butternut from the UK with my son (11) for him to learn to ski and to visit my brother and his family who live nearby.
We were concerned, as very unusually, they hadn't had any where near as much snow as usual and as it was my sons February Half Term we had booked our Christmas "learn to ski" present for that week and had to go!!
We skied for 6 days on wonderfully groomed artificial snow and were most impressed (as well as relieved!!) Our ski teachers each day were excellent and the equipment hired was very good. Each day we had lunch in the cafe and enjoyed all the trails,with great views north from the top. Butternut also benefits from being near Great Barrington with its excellent restaurants, shops,cinema and theatre.
By the end of the week my son was skiing at level 5 and I had regained my confidence!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent family ski area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Our family is made up of skiers and snowboarders of all different abilities, and we were all able to have a terrific time at Ski Butternut. Even though we have had a ridiculously mild winter this year, Ski Butternut was fully open (even the tubing hill!) with man-made snow as good as it gets. One person in our party had to rent a snowboard, and that went very smoothly.
Check out their website for great deals and discounts. If you live in the area, their season rates are very good. If you visit on a weekday, you can't beat their super low lift ticket prices. Even weekend tickets aren't bad, and you can usually find a discount (check your participating area hotel for a voucher that will save you $8 per ticket!).
Having an upper and lower lodge really helps with the lunch time crowds. The food isn't great, but you're not there to eat, you're there to ski! Picnic tables are amply available for those who prefer to bring their own meal.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great for kids to adults”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Things were as expected. Would recommend to friends. Easily accessible from NYC

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ski Butternut also viewed

Great Barrington, Berkshires
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 

Been to Ski Butternut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ski Butternut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.