We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   415 Stockbridge Rd, Great Barrington, MA 01230   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“We will be back.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our family of stayed for 3 nights over Easter. The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly. Frank, the host in the breakfast room, bent over backwards to help our children get settled. The beds were comfortable. Our only disappointment is their $15 charge per night for a rollaway bed.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    55
    21
    7
    9
See reviews for
36
45
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trumbull, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel for 5 days while training for my new job with a co-worker.

The overall experience was overwhelmingly fantastic. The check in experience was painless and quick and the manager we dealt with was an absolute pleasure! The rooms were spacious and included a mini fridge and microwave. And most importantly, the rooms were spotless!

This hotel also offers free breakfast which was delicious. The gentleman who ran the breakfast (I'm not sure if I remember his name - Frank?) was so kind, humble and funny. I looked forward to breakfast each morning just to see him and he was absolutely my favorite person I encountered my whole stay.

This hotel also offers free Wi-Fi, free parking and a pool.

Thank you again to the staff for such a pleasant stay!

Room Tip: Possibly an upstairs room, the rooms downstair face the parking lot and if you forget to close the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for the five-star review of our property! We're glad that we met, and exceeded, your expectations. We always appreciate feedback on how our hotel is doing, and we can see that we've really hit the mark here. I'll pass the message along to our breakfast attendant that you really enjoyed his service, and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First of all, we enjoyed the bed and pillows. What my family and I didn't like at all was the person in charge of the breakfast. He was an old African American guy who according to him is from Brooklyn, NY and is an undertaker. We appreciate that Holiday Inn Express offers complimentary breakfast. For the price we paid for 3 rooms for all 8 of us, it was good to know that we are having the complimentary breakfast. As a matter of fact, the food was good. Except for the fact that the guy in charge who was consistently looking over our shoulders whenever we got some bacon and sausage! He was very protective of the bacon mostly. Mind you, when we came down for breakfast, it was already 9am. There was only 30 mins to go before it closes. The bacon tray was not even full when we came and it was definitely not enough for all 8 of us. He immediately took away the bacon tray even when it wasn't empty. I first thought that he would get more but nothing came. Same thing with the sausages. He never refilled any of the two. But I tell you, once there was this white couple that came down, he immediately brought out the bacon tray. We wanted to get more bacon but he just would make you uneasy and come near you and stare at you while getting. He even immediately brought out the tray of sausages once we stood up to go up our rooms. How racist and rude is this guy! This was the only reason that we all felt that our stay was very disappointing. Why would he save the bacon and sausages when it's almost closing time for breakfast? Was he going to take them home? This totally ruined our stay.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
It is shocking that you had this experience. We do not condone discrimination in any form from any of our staff members. Our breakfast attendant is usually kind and pleasant. We did speak to him and he did say that he never intended to make anyone feel segregated, and that he'd taken the trays back into the kitchen to refill them (it does take time for the meats to cook in our oven as they come semi-cooked). He said that he didn't communicate this as well as he should have.
I will surely have our management team look into this matter further and we will ensure that this does not happen again. We sincerely apologize for the way you felt during your stay, and promise that this matter will be addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 169 cities Reviews in 169 cities
465 helpful votes 465 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

It's your standard Holiday Inn, rooms were fine, though ours lacked a desk (it had a round table pushed awkwardly against the wall). There's an indoor pool, which is a nice-to-have. The fitness room is pretty sad - there was one bike which we could not get to work (but the hotel later got it working), one stepper, and two treadmills, one of which did not work. The treadmills are the most bare bones treadmills you've ever seen - there is not a spot to put water; literally, you have to hold it or set it on the floor. There was a rack of dumbbells, but you either had to use them standing up or lying on the floor - no bench. OK, the fitness room was obviously important to us and didn't come out very well (it was also very hot in there). The breakfast was as expected for a Holiday Inn. Here's the clincher: my stepson left his wallet in his room, and when we called that night, they had it and agreed to send it to us. You have to give some credit for a wallet being turned in.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington, responded to this review, March 13, 2015
Thank you for the four star review, and for the feedback of our property! We do honestly hope that, despite the shortcomings in the fitness area, you did enjoy your stay. We apologize our exercise facility did not meet your expectations. We take all critique of our property very seriously and will address it in our next team meeting to see if anything can be done to improve the quality of our guests stay. Thank you, again, for taking the time to point out areas that need improvement and areas we are excelling in! We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

expensive area- decent price for value- not fancy- basic but clean, pleasant staff- the stairway and walkways a little dirty and not very pretty but for this area it was a very good price. waling distance to town which was nice.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington, responded to this review, February 25, 2015
Thank you for your review! We always take critique of our property seriously and appreciate you pointing out the areas we need to work on. We are also very happy that you enjoyed your time with us and we sincerely hope we'll see you again soon! Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

As a disclaimer, the "5 stars" here doesn't mean this is a 5-star hotel, but this was a very good Holiday Inn Express as far as the location (convenience to Butternut, where we were skiing, and also various stores / groceries nearby), the rooms were more than adequate, quite spacious, and the staff were very helpful. The front desk manager noticed we had 2 different back-to-back reservations, and ensured we would not have to move rooms (and put us into the "better" room of the 2 reservations).

Included breakfast was standard fare, but more than good enough as an included perk.

Would certainly stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington, responded to this review, February 25, 2015
Thank you for your five star review! We know we're not a ''5-star hotel,'' but we can almost make you feel like we are! We will always try to give you a better room if one is available, so never be afraid to ask. We appreciate the time you've put in to let us know where we're excelling, and we'll keep an eye on that breakfast. Thank you so much, again, and we hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harwich
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

I've stayed in a lot of Holiday Inn Expresses, because of the price of this one being double the norm i was hoping it would have a little extra something. Not true, it was basically just due to ski season the room if anything seemed a bit smaller with a smaller desk but lived up to being your basic standard holiday inn express.

Staff was super nice, sauna was very hot. breakfast selections were a little skimpier than normal in terms of their hot food selections (no bacon). Overall though it was clean and fun place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris R, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington, responded to this review, February 25, 2015
Thank you for your review of our property! We're glad to see that you enjoy staying in our Holiday Inn Express brands; we love loyalty and are glad you chose to stay with us. We try to keep our prices competitive for the area, but we take your feedback seriously and will factor it in for next year. We pride ourselves on having a fantastic and responsive staff, and thank you for your compliments. We truly hope to see you again soon! Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington

Address: 415 Stockbridge Rd, Great Barrington, MA 01230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Great Barrington is situated in the heart of the beautiful Southern Berkshire Mountains. We are in close proximity to many boutique shops, several ski areas, a host of cultural activities, including Tanglewood, Shakespeare and Company, Barrington Stage Company, and The Berkshire Opera Company to name a few. Every room in the hotel includes a microwave oven and a refrigerator, high speed internet access, iron, ironing board, and coffeemaker. Our King Studio Suites offer the guest a significantly larger room complete with sofa-bed, sitting area, wet bar, and activity table. For a unique experience ask for one of our playful Jacuzzi suites. These red heart-shaped tubs are perfect for a couple looking to get away from it all and relax, or to just soak in after a long hard day of work. The property features an indoor swimming pool, hot tub, fitness room, and meeting room. The business center computer is free to use, with totally free internet access, so you can stay in touch without having to lug your own computer with you. The Express Start breakfast if free to all, and is always a big hit with our many repeat guests. Come on out to The Berkshires and see how the other half lives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington Hotel Great Barrington
Holiday Inn Great Barrington
Great Barrington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.