We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place & Friendly Staff ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   415 Stockbridge Rd, Great Barrington, MA 01230   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice Place & Friendly Staff ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This Holiday Inn is a great value in every way. It's perfectly situated in Great Barrington. It's right in the middle of town and it's 10 minutes away from Stockbridge and just a little further to Lenox. So you can use this as a base to explore this great area without dropping tons of cash.

The rooms are spotless and the place is well kept overall. Ours had a small microwave and fridge. Even though it's on route 7 the place is quiet.

The pool is a bit small and oddly shaped. It can't accommodate more than a few folks at a time. But there is a nice hot tub.

Breakfast is good but basic. Don't expect it to be cooked to order. It's fine and plentiful.

The best thing about the place is the staff. They couldn't be friendlier or more helpful, especially the breakfast guy Franck.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alison d, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us. We take pride in delivering our guests a great, memorable stay. I will pass along your kind words about Franck our Breakfast Host and to the rest of our staff. Again, thanks for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    50
    20
    8
    8
See reviews for
32
44
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I stayed at this property with two colleagues. Somehow my reservation was not identical to theirs and I was charged excessively for a Friday night stay, although I did not stay at the hotel. I am a platinum member, was NOT awarded points although I asked for my priority number to be included upon check in. Hotel staff was NOT HELPFUL and refused to reverse the charge for a night I did not stay. Claim they have a 48 hour cancellation policy on the weekends ...BUYER BEWARE! HOTEL WILL RIP YOU OFF!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Flyer1999,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. We would like to address this with you further. We have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. We look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed two nights at the Holiday inn Express in Great Barrington, MA. My family had a terrific stay at this hotel... Clean, quiet, and convenient to all the sights in the southern berkhire mountains. The rooms were clean and well appointed. The breakfast spread was included with our stay, and was delicious. The pool and hot tub was a hit with my sons.

Check in was friendly and fast. The staff was helpful with directions to sights and restaurants.

I am a Holiday Inn fan once again!!!!

Room Tip: Not a large building- all rooms close to pool, restaurant, and lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alison d, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
I would like to take this oppturnity to thank you for taking the time to share with us your thoughts on your recent stay with us. When guests like you are willing to take the time to do this it helps us to see what we are doing right and where we need to improve. Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Our family had a very nice stay in the hotel. The 2 rooms in the suite were large and comfortable; nice to have a refrigerator and microwave. The bathroom was comfortably roomy. All the staff in the hotel were helpful and friendly. I'd definitely stay here again (just be aware that there is some traffic noise for rooms facing Route 7).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is the second time staying at the Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington. For the price point of this hotel it is fine. Rooms are large, clean and reasonably comfortable and the service is good. Holiday Inn Express occupies its niche in the lodging marketplace and this particularly property meets all expectations.

Room Tip: Choose a larger room if your budget allows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Brothers and I were exhausted after hiking and traveling through the Berkshires-we were allowed to check in very early and given nothing but outstanding service throughout our stay. Complimentary breakfast was great, and the beds were extremely comfortable. My first stay in a Holiday Inn, will definitely be back for more. Right across the street from the Barrington Brewery!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alison d, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
I just want to say Thank You for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad we were able to make your stay an enjoyable one. Please stop by for breakfast with Franck again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunapee, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We were signed in at the reservation desk in a NY minute by a very pleasant clerk. The room was clean and comfortable and the mattresses were at a comfort level found in first line hotels.
The complimentary hot breakfast buffet was good with a nice variety including my favorite, Philadelphia style sticky buns and good coffee. The breakfast room manager was extremely helpful and friendly.
The hotel is a step above the usual mid range travel motel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington

Address: 415 Stockbridge Rd, Great Barrington, MA 01230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Great Barrington is situated in the heart of the beautiful Southern Berkshire Mountains. We are in close proximity to many boutique shops, several ski areas, a host of cultural activities, including Tanglewood, Shakespeare and Company, Barrington Stage Company, and The Berkshire Opera Company to name a few. Every room in the hotel includes a microwave oven and a refrigerator, high speed internet access, iron, ironing board, and coffeemaker. Our King Studio Suites offer the guest a significantly larger room complete with sofa-bed, sitting area, wet bar, and activity table. For a unique experience ask for one of our playful Jacuzzi suites. These red heart-shaped tubs are perfect for a couple looking to get away from it all and relax, or to just soak in after a long hard day of work. The property features an indoor swimming pool, hot tub, fitness room, and meeting room. The business center computer is free to use, with totally free internet access, so you can stay in touch without having to lug your own computer with you. The Express Start breakfast if free to all, and is always a big hit with our many repeat guests. Come on out to The Berkshires and see how the other half lives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington Hotel Great Barrington
Holiday Inn Great Barrington
Great Barrington Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.